janet @ the taste space

Mango and Snap Pea Noodle Salad with a Tangy Peanut Dressing

In Favourites, Mains (Vegetarian), Salads on August 17, 2012 at 6:32 AM

This week I have been addicted to peanut butter.

I made this peanut butter banana smoothie until we ran out of ingredients. First I ran out of frozen bananas, and found out that ice + fresh bananas are truly sub-par substitutes. Next, I ran out of peanut butter, too.  I considered making my own homemade peanut butter, but gosh, I am out of peanuts, too. That’s when my addiction stopped. I had to stop cold turkey. It was probably for the better of us both.

Mango and Snap Pea Noodle Salad with a Tangy Peanut Dressing

Thankfully, I made this salad earlier in the week and have been enjoying it ever since.

Sweet mangoes and sugar snap peas are paired with a tangy, acidic (in a good way) peanut dressing, spiced with green onions and tossed overtop peppery Asian baby greens (bring on the mizuna!). I also added kelp noodles, to add a bit more bulk. They are great additions to salads since they don’t slurp up the extra dressing. I liked that the vinegar in the dressing made this quite a light peanut dressing. I normally pair coconut milk with my peanut dressings, so this was a nice change. Light and refreshing, yet still substantial. Perfect to eat during this hot summer.

This is my submission to Presto Pasta Nights hosted by Ruth, to this week’s Healthy Vegan Fridays, and and to Deb for this week’s Souper Sundays.

Mango and Snap Pea Noodle Salad with a Tangy Peanut Dressing
Adapted from 1000 Vegan Recipes (original recipe here)

2 cloves garlic, pressed or minced
3/4 tsp freshly grated ginger
1/4 cup creamy peanut butter
1/4 tsp Aleppo chile flakes
3 tbsp rice vinegar
1 tbsp soy sauce (I used Bragg’s)
4-5 tbsp water, to reach your desired consistency
2 cups sugar snap peas, stemmed and thinly sliced on a diagonal
1 carrot, grated (1 cup)
2 cups cucumber, halved and sliced in 1/4-inch slices
10 oz kelp noodles, rinsed
2 medium Ataulfo mangoes (1 cup), peeled and chopped
6 cups mixed baby greens
1/4 cup peanuts, toasted and coarsely chopped

1. First, prepare your dressing. In a small cup, whisk together the garlic, ginger, peanut butter, chile flakes, rice vinegar and soy sauce. Add 3 tbsp of water and whisk until it is smooth. Add more water until it has reached your desired consistency (I added 2 tbsp more water).

2. In a large bowl, mix together the snap peas, carrot, cucumber and kelp noodles. Fold in the mango (it can be delicate).

3. To serve, plate mixed baby greens, top with the salad, drizzle with the dressing and sprinkle toasted peanuts overtop.

Serves 4.

  1. I wonder where I could get kelp noodles. I’ll have to check with Native Sun. I love peanut dressings.

  2. Kelp noodles sound rather wonderful. Must check them out. I’ve been addicted to peanut butter of late as well–and other nut butters. I try not to think about the calories of fat…This recipe looks great–I love peanut dressing and welcome new interpretations of it.

  3. I go through huge phases with food too. One week all I want is apples and PB and the next I won’t even touch it! Ah well, at least I’ll never overdo it right?

    This salad sounds lovely! Chilled noodle salads are amazing in the summer 🙂

  4. I made a different salad, lettuce, cabbage, celery, carrots, quinoa, and chopped pan fried tofu and used this dressing and loved it. I’ve tried a lof of peanut dressings, but haven’t found I like for salads, they are always too creamy and not spicy enough. This dressing was perfect, although I did add some lime. Thank you.

  5. I am addicted to peanut butter every week! I love that this has mango in it also! Another favorite 🙂

  6. What a heavenly summer supper. I wonder how long this obsession of yours will last. Thanks for sharing with Presto Pasta Nights.

  7. This is a gorgeous salad–I love all of the flavors and ingredients in it. Still need to try those kelp noodles though. 😉 Thanks for sending it to Souper Sundays.

  8. Oh this looks great! Beautiful photography, too.

  9. The salad sounds wonderful! But what dressing would you suggest for those who either don’t like, or are allergic to, peanuts? I have mangoes and greens just waiting for a dressing! Thanks, Marie

  10. […] recently replenished our peanut butter stash, buying the uber cute (and practical!) smaller 125-mL Mason jars last week and armed with half a […]

  11. […] Ultimate Peanut Sauce Creamy Thai Cilantro Sauce Tangy Peanut Dressing (with a Mango and Snap Pea Salad) Coconut-Peanut Mmm Sauce (with Kelp noodles, baby bok choy and edamame) Spicy Peanut Udon Noodles […]

  12. This salad was SO much better than a ‘regular’ chopped salad I could have made for lunch! For greens I used chard and instead of kelp noodles, zucchini ribbons. The dressing (as it came out from me) was more acidic and light than a peanut dressing used for noodles. Was perfect for the salad. Mango gave it a flavor punch; glad I didn’t forfeit that ingredient.

  13. […] Mango and Snap Pea Noodle Salad with a Tangy Peanut Dressing […]

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.