janet @ the taste space

Tomato-Basil Zucchini Noodle Salad

In Salads on August 7, 2013 at 6:41 AM

Tomato-Basil Zucchini Noodle Salad

You don’t know how good you had it until you leave.

Except I already knew how great Toronto was… Sure, it had its quirks but it has been my favourite city to live in.

This weekend, Rob and I watched a movie that epitomized why I adore Toronto, and then some. Take This Waltz unashamedly showcases the beauty of Toronto. The colourful palate of Parkdale, the quirkiness of Kensington Market (although, to be fair, I have never seen a picnic bench outside Essence of Life) and the touristy rickety rickshaws. Despite living in Toronto for 5 years, both of us discovered more fun things about Toronto. There is an indoor scrambler at Centreville, complete with dance music and lights.  Even I think that sounds awesome!

Despite Hannah’s latest ode to Toronto, complete with Kensington jenga and mung bean ice cream, my heart tugs only gently.

In the meantime, while I am accumulating more ideas for things to see and do when I return, I am focusing on where I am now. Because, you know what – Houston is pretty awesome, too! My time here will be short, so I better capitalize on these evenings which are a balmy 25C. Perfect when relaxing/napping on a hilltop while next to an outdoor Shakespeare performance.

And that mung bean ice cream? I bet it can’t compare to Ripe’s (vegan, homemade) coconut-almond peanut butter ice cream with chocolate chips and date caramel. (SOOO good!)

Anyways, it is salad week. Here is a simple zucchini noodle salad with a bruschetta-like topping with tomatoes, basil and garlic. Late summer in a bowl. A salad in another form, without leafy greens, but with long zucchini noodles. The next time I made this, I added chopped almonds for a bit more crunch. Delicious!

Tomato-Basil Zucchini Noodle Salad

This is my submission to this month’s Bookmarked Recipes.

Tomato-Basil Zucchini Noodle Salad
Adapted from Post Punk Kitchen

1 tbsp olive oil
1 tbsp apple cider vinegar
1 clove garlic, pressed or minced
2 tbsp fresh basil, slivered
1 small tomato, chopped
1 medium zucchini, spiralized
chopped almonds, optional
salt and pepper, to taste

1. In a small bowl, combine olive oil, apple cider vinegar, garlic, basil and tomato.

2. Stir in zucchini noodles. Season to taste and top with chopped almonds.

Serves 1.

  1. I have to try making zucchini noodles. What a great idea. And I know what you mean about leaving – I always say the best reason for taking vacations is to realize how much you love where you are.

  2. Ohhh Toronto how I love thee. It took living in Montreal and NYC to really get a sense of how much a loved it! Toronto isn’t going anywhere though and I’m sure you’re making fabulous memories where you are now!

  3. This raw meal has my name written all over it! I wasn’t sure what to make for dinner tonight so I’m hopping through my favorite blogs. Thank you!!

  4. I feel like you can’t really appreciate a place until it’s gone. But all you can do right now is make the most of your current surroundings! This zucchini pasta dish sounds awesome!

  5. Oh this sounds good!! I think I just might make this for dinner later this week =) I have everything already. I even have yellow zucchini to make it look more past-y ;p

    • Thanks, Kimmy. It is funny because the Italian zucchinis here are cheaper than the green zucchinis, which is the opposite of Canada… but the little flecks of yellow definitely make a prettier mock pasta. 🙂

  6. Oh heck, I’m with you. That ice cream sounds/looks EPIC. 😀

  7. I’m so glad you’re enjoying the South! I love this dish, but I have to say… the ice cream stopped my in a tracks. 🙂

  8. This salad sounds wonderful! And I’m glad you’re enjoying your new home even as the old one tugs a little at times 🙂

  9. Where is this giant Jenga, Gaby?? 🙂

  10. It’s hard moving all the time isn’t it! I moved every year since I was 18 and now we’ve been in our current location for 2 years we thought we would settle here but we’re so used to moving now that we’re not sure if we’ll ever be able to settle anywhere. I really hope you settle in soon there for the time you are there.

  11. I am loving living in Toronto but still feel I have so much to experience and see. It’s just never ending! I am definitely going to have what to try and watch that movie so I can learn more about it.

    It’s funny how moving away makes you appreciate what you had in your old home. I got so homesick living in Ireland I came back early. Which is funny because I desperately wanted to leave Kingston when I moved initially. Funny time away does 🙂

    This salad looks so fresh and seasonal! I was just gifted some fresh from the garden tomatoes and this sounds perfect!

  12. […] Tomato-Basil Zucchini Noodle Salad from Janet @ the taste space […]

  13. Looks delicioso! 🙂

    I found your sweet recipe from Healthy Vegan Friday. Have a great week!

  14. […] 2. Tomato-Basil Zucchini Noodle Salad from The Taste Space: […]

  15. […] Zucchini noodles have been my go-to lunch this summer. Gabby warned me that Houston’s heat would lead me to more raw foods and she was right. My meals have become simpler. Zucchini noodles are simple enough and of course, are just a vector for the sauce. The end of summer is a prime time for juicy tomatoes, at least in Ontario. I have yet to find tasty tomatoes here in Houston, so I have resorted to cherry tomatoes, which, in general, have more flavour. A portion of the fresh tomatoes are pulsed with a red bell pepper and sun-dried tomatoes along with a bunch of fresh herbs (basil and oregano) and garlic. A dash of chile flakes give a bit of kick and a date balances it out with a bit of sweetness. I topped it with some hemp seeds, too. I actually used a lot more than what I photographed since I knew it wouldn’t be as photogenic. I usually add the sauce and hemp seeds just before I eat the salad but I took photos of my partially packed lunch. Of course, this sauce will work equally well with your favourite spaghetti-type noodle. […]

  16. […] and Baby Lima Bean Lettuce Wrap Naked Oats with Spinach and Sun-Dried Tomatoes and Crumbled Tempeh Tomato-Basil Zucchini Noodle Salad Chickpea Piccata Brown Sugar Cardamom […]

  17. […] in Houston but also has a recipe blog. I have gushed about her homemade coconut-almond ice cream before and since I knew her recipe for brownies was good, I was excited to see how her other recipes […]

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.