janet @ the taste space

Asparagus and Edamame Salad with Lime-Miso Dressing

In Mains (Vegetarian), Salads on April 1, 2014 at 7:09 AM

Asparagus and Edamame Salad with Lime-Miso Dressing With my meals revolving around plant-based whole foods, my mom has referred to my choice as being a vegan on steroids. While I have relaxed slightly, I still try my hardest to cater to others who may have dietary restrictions, for whatever reason. I have a friend with a sulphite allergy, family members with celiac disease and a coconut-hating mom. I was honoured when Ricki approached me to guest post on her blog. I have been reading it for years and enjoyed many of her creations (hemp brownies, the best vegan cheesecake, warm chickpea and artichoke salad and cocoa mint nibbles). All the while knowing she follows an anti-candida diet but never really knowing what it entailed. Imagine my surprise when Ricki told me how simple it really was: vegan, gluten-free meals without mushrooms, peanuts, pistachios, yeast and only low glycemic sweeteners. Without fail, I only then notice how all my recent recipes I wanted to share weren’t suitable: a mushroom-walnut pate,  veggie spring rolls with a peanut sauce, vegetable noodle salad with peanuts, the banana in my acai bowl or the maple syrup in my salad dressing. Then I started to second guess myself, is miso ok? What about almonds? Ricki’s upcoming cookbook will help delineate this, along with new mouth-watering recipes and I cannot wait to read it. Asparagus and Edamame Salad with Lime-Miso Dressing Until then, I decided to share what I know best: a hearty salad. ACD-friendly. I crafted a fun twist with spring’s new bounty of asparagus. I paired it with edamame for some additional protein and toasted almonds for crunch and drizzled it with a miso-lime vinaigrette. Jump over to her blog to check out the recipe here. Asparagus and Edamame Salad with Lime-Miso Dressing

  1. Great salad, love this combination and the miso-lime vinaigrette sounds mouthwatering.

  2. I am loving asparagus right now – and this looks so delicious!

  3. Yum! Heading over to check it out now. You know I’m a fellow Ricki fan and had so much fun testing for the next cookbook.

  4. Looks very fresh and gentle Janet x

  5. I love the combination of asparagus and edamame with the lime dressing. A perfect spring salad–thanks for sharing it with Souper Sundays. 😉

  6. I haven’t edamame in ages! And I just saw asparagus at the market yesterday – I knew I should have bought it. Next week!!!

  7. I’m loving asparagus at the moment. Nice salad Janet. Thanks for entering it into No Croutons Required. The roundup is live.

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.