janet @ the taste space

Cinnamon Almond Freezer Fudge

In Desserts on November 4, 2014 at 7:44 AM

Almond-Cinnamon Freezer Fudge

You may have noticed my recipes becoming simpler. I am spending less time in the kitchen. Life is busy.

Case in point: A few weeks ago, I was so excited to leave work before it was dark.  (This was before the time change). I routinely leave work pretty late.

I texted Rob the good news: I would beat him home.

I plotted what I would do with my extra time. Plotted what I would cook up for dinner. Perhaps an easy tofu scramble.

However, as I walked onto our street, I slipped my hand into my bag looking for my keys. A second time. After a frantic search, I realized I must have forgotten them inside our home. (Of note, we have a very weird lock on our door – it locks automatically as soon as the door closes). I texted Rob that I was heading to the neighbourhood resto, for a warm supper, and to keep myself warm as I waited for him to return home. Sure enough, once I made it home, a couple hours later, my keys were right next to the front door. And it was now positively dark outside.

Almond-Cinnamon Freezer Fudge

One reason I am not stressing about my meals is that I know I have a stash of treats in the freezer. These are everything you could possibly want in a snack: quick and easy, tasty and healthy. Furthermore, the simplicity of the recipe lets you taste the finished product by the ingredient list alone. Roasted almond butter mixed with a touch of coconut oil (it gives it a nice mouth feel) along with a touch of maple syrup for sweetness and cinnamon. Because, cinnamon is in all good things. Place the mixture into the freezer and take each one out whenever you have a hankering for a snackering.

Of course, the race is to see whether there will be enough snacks left by the weekend to take photos. Although, I would not be sad to make another batch.

Almond-Cinnamon Freezer Fudge

I am sharing this with Random Recipes and Dead Easy Desserts.

Cinnamon Almond Freezer Fudge
Adapted from Practically Raw Desserts

1/2 cup (roasted) almond butter (chunky gave this a nice texture)
1 tbsp melted coconut oil
1 tbsp maple syrup, or to taste
1/4 tsp ground cinnamon
pinch salt

1. In a small bowl, combine all ingredients and stir until throughly combined. Pour batter into small molds, like mini cupcake liners (as seen). Place in freezer and freeze until solid, at least 2 hours. Allow 5 minutes to thaw prior to eating.

Makes 6-7 bites.

  1. love these!… but then I love almond in anything but fudge but oh my god, these look gorgeous! Thanks so much for the lovely and very early entry x

  2. Yumful combination! I like to sprinkle cinnamon on my almond butter sandwiches along with a little curry powder or chili powder…these little snacklets are the perfect quick fix!
    Happy you found your keys…cheers! 🙂

  3. I love these snacks! I am currently nibbling on “marzipan” made with raw almonds and agave- I was going to coat it in cacao, but somehow never got round to it… thanks for sharing 🙂

  4. How annoying that is about the keys – I have had a few occasions where I could not get in the house because our door locks behind us too – these sound like great snacks to have on hand when time is tight

  5. I’m the same on the kitchen front right now and when I get home from work I’m looking for easy meals followed by a little sweet treat. I would have loved to have found a batch of these in the freezer this evening!

  6. “You may have noticed my recipes becoming simpler. I am spending less time in the kitchen. Life is busy.”

    This may be true – but the delicious factor certainly hasn’t decreased any. These sound great!!! I would be so bummed to be locked out of my place with these beauties waiting in the freezer for me.

  7. […] to the gym and more importantly, eat all the desserts. No stranger to freezer fudge (I loved this cinnamon almond freezer fudge), this was a quick snack to stash away until my next chocolate craving. Simple ingredients […]

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.