janet @ the taste space

Almond Butter Fudge + Delicious Ella Cookbook Giveaway

In Book Review, Desserts on May 29, 2015 at 6:27 AM

Almond Butter Fudge + Deliciously Ella Cookbook Giveaway

Rob thought it was a (not so) silent cry for help when I said I hadn’t been to the gym for over 2 months. I was hoping I would have good news to share. We ended up going to a spinning class together last weekend but sadly, it was another week without mid-week gym action. I am going to try to go to the gym before work next week, so we’ll see how that goes.

While I feel 90-95% back to my regular self, I know I am getting better when I want to return to the gym and more importantly, eat all the desserts. No stranger to freezer fudge (I loved this cinnamon almond freezer fudge), this was a quick snack to stash away until my next chocolate craving. Simple ingredients including dates, almond butter, coconut oil and cacao powder, this was basically like eating a raw vegan chocolate cheesecake from the freezer. However, it was already the perfect consistency the minute you removed it from the freezer. No thawing required. I mistakenly forgot to line my container with parchment paper, so it was a bit more difficult to remove my fudge from the container while still maintaining a semblance of prettiness. Afterwards, I returned the pieces back to the freezer and I had easily accessible nibbles.

Almond Butter Fudge + Deliciously Ella Cookbook Giveaway

The recipe stems from Ella Woodward’s first cookbook, Deliciously Ella. You are probably already familiar with her wildly popular blog of the same name, Deliciously Ella. Not to be confused with Naturally Ella who’s name is actually Erin and who also writes cookbooks (confusing, I know). In any case, Ella has shared over 100 plant-based recipes (nearly all gluten-free and all with whole foods ingredients) brimming with photos from nearly every recipe. With her simple approach to coaxing natural flavours out of the foods, this is a very approachable cookbook and her writing style is equally non-threatening. The cookbook is divided into the major pillars of plant-based ingredients: grains, nuts and seeds, beans and legumes, vegetables, fruit, smoothies and juices. While it is a good way to think about approaching a balanced meal as a vegan, I wish the index were more thorough. Imagine not having the Key Lime Pie listed under Lime in the index. Yet it was included under avocados, probably because it was filed in the Fruit chapter. I look forward to eating my way through this cookbook and this freezer fudge was an excellent place to start.

Almond Butter Fudge + Deliciously Ella Cookbook Giveaway

Thankfully, the publisher allowed me to giveaway the cookbook to a reader living in Canada. To be entered in the random draw for the book, please leave a comment below telling me what you like most: grains, nuts and seeds, beans and legumes, vegetables, fruit, smoothies or juices. The winner will be selected at random on June 10, 2015. Good luck!

Recipes from Deliciously Ella spotted elsewhere:

Baked apples with coconut cream
Banana ice cream
Black bean and kidney bean chilli
Carrot, orange and cashew salad
Classic carrot cake
Coconut Thai curry with chickpeas
Easy avocado chocolate mousse
Key lime pie
Lentil, zucchini and mint salad
Mexican quinoa bowl
Oaty smoothie
Stuffed Cremini mushrooms
Sweet potato brownies
Sweet potato pancakes
Warm winter salad
Zucchini noodles with Avocado pesto

PS. There is still time to enter giveaways for Richa’s Vegan Indian KitchenPlant-Powered Families and Crave. Eat. Heal.

Almond Butter Fudge
Reprinted, with permission, from Deliciously Ella

Ella’s note: The first time I made this fudge my roommates and I ate the whole batch within about three hours and then had to remake it the next day because we were craving it so much; it’s that good—dangerously good, even! Each bite is so gooey and chocolaty, it’s crazy to think it’s made from just four ingredients. The fudge is stored in the freezer, so you can make big batches of it to store for later, which means you always have something deliciously healthy to enjoy any time of the day.

7 ounces Medjool dates (about 20), pitted (I used regular dates, no problem, same weight)
10 tablespoons almond butter
4 tablespoons coconut oil
3 tablespoons raw cacao powder

1. Place the dates in a saucepan with a little boiling water. Allow them to cook for 5 minutes, until they’re really soft and all sticking together. If there is any water left in the pan, then drain it and set the dates to one side to cool for a couple of minutes.

2. Place the almond butter, coconut oil and cacao powder in a food processor and add the dates in before blending for a minute or 2, until a sticky paste forms.

3. Line a 10-inch baking dish with parchment paper and pour the mix in before putting it into the freezer to set for at least 3 hours before serving.

4. Store in the freezer. When you want to enjoy a piece, take it out of the freezer and allow it to warm up for a few minutes before eating. (Janet’s tip: Remove from freezer and cut into your desired pieces. Return to freezer to have quicker access to bite-size freezer fudge)

Top tip

Try adding chunks of nuts and raisins to this to change the texture and add more of a crunch.

Makes about 20 pieces

Excerpted from Deliciously Ella by Ella Woodward. Copyright © 2015 by Ella Woodward.  Excerpted with permission by Scribner, a Division of Simon & Schuster, Inc.

  1. This fudge looks and sounds so good (and simple). It’s hard to decide which if those plants foods I love best but I’d probably say vegetables are the most versatile in terms of preparing them. Thanks for hosting the giveaway!🙂

  2. I love this fudge! Pinned it just now and will definitely try it soon!

    I love vegetables, unfortunately I can’t eat many of them recently. So, my choice goes to nuts and seeds!

  3. This fudge looks amazing!

    I go through stages, but I have to say that right now my favourite is beans and legumes. I’m on a bit soup kick right now and I love how much protein and fiber there is in one cup!

  4. This fudge looks amazing!

    I go through stages, but I have to say that right now my favourite is beans and legumes. I’m on a bit soup kick right now and I love how much protein and fiber there is in one cup!

  5. That fudge looks amazing! Definitely going to be trying it. My favourite thing right now is fruits, can’t get enough now that everything is so good again with summer here!

  6. smoothies and Juices definitely, I never get tired of a good juice or smoothie and there are so many different combinations to choose from🙂

  7. You should read The Plantpower Way—Not just another cookbook. I found it fascinating .Rich and Julie aren’t posers, they are living the natural lifestyle. Read my review on Momzinga.com:http://momzinga.com/?p=5164

  8. Definitely fruit is my favourite. (And this fudge looks amazing too!) Thanks for the chance to win! -Julia

  9. We’re going to the gym tomorrow morning, too, Janet! xxx

  10. When the growing season gets into gear, I’m all over the fruits and vegetables as they come into season. So much cooking and preserving to do!

  11. Fruits, fruits, fruits and fruits. I’d eat just that if I could…😉

  12. I’m going to go with NUTS!

  13. Legumes ,especially chick peas and lentils!

  14. Fresh vegetables from our garden are my favourite right now. Smoothies too, as I love the creamy texture.

  15. Yay! a giveaway for Canadians🙂 Not sure I can choose a category, but I’ll go with veg for the sake of entering the contest. Good luck with next week’s workout!

  16. Veggies are for sure my favorite! Raw, roasted, juiced, shredded into everything…. I just love them in any form. I’ve especially been digging jicama lately. Yum! I can’t want to try this sweet treat!!

  17. oh nice and healthy – and delicious – glad to hear you are feeling better

  18. Ohhh yum! I just made a huge jar of almond butter today, I will definitely be making this fudge❤ I wished I lived in Canada so I could enter the giveaway😦

  19. Thanks for hosting the recipe, and for posting such a wonderful-sounding recipe. Favorites? I’d have to say combinations. Most of my entrees combine various veggies with beans & whole grains. I love the symphony of flavors, textures, colors, and nutrients.

  20. That fudge looks delicious! I love nuts and seeds (and chocolate).

  21. I like french fries best!
    So…vegetables?

  22. This recipe has my mouth watering! Personally, I cannot go a day without a delicious smoothie made with some fermented berries!

  23. This fudge looks great! I have to make it ASAP! My favourite is nuts and seeds because of the variety of things you can make with them.

  24. I like smoothies best

  25. I want that fudge now! Can’t wait to make it. I have to say that beans and legumes are my favorite, because soy is a bean and cacao is a bean and I do love them so!

  26. Having freezer fudge ready for those times when a chocolate craving appears is brilliant! And this sounds like the perfect recipe for that.
    I love all plant-based food, but vegetables are my current favorite. I just can’t get enough!

  27. Glad you’re feeling better! This fudge would make me feel all better. YUM! I love keeping sweets slight hidden but on hand in the freezer.

  28. Thanks Janet for this wonderful giveaway. Nice ! My favorite is definitely vegetables. All kind of veggies, especially now with the summer coming and all good veggies from my garden.

  29. Thanks for the contest Janet! That fudge looks amazing, and glad to hear you’re feeling better. I’m definitely all about veggies lately – have been on a big salad kick now that the weather’s warmer.

  30. Oh yum! I’m so glad you were able to share this choco-awesomeness. Sounds dee-licious! Thanks so much for sharing this at Healthy Vegan Fridays. It’s going to be featured this coming Friday. I’m pinning and sharing.
    I’m glad you are almost back to yourself again – it takes time to get back to a gym routine when recovering.

  31. Yum! I could eat nuts all day long! I have more nut and seed butters in my pantry than I cant count.. But, a big bowl of colourful vegetables is a worthy adversary.

  32. […] Almond Butter Fudge from The Taste Space: […]

  33. the fudge looks amazing!! i am a seed-addicted🙂

  34. I really enjoy beans and legumes. They are tasty and filling.

What do you think?

