janet @ the taste space

Jamaican Jerk Tempeh Wraps

In Mains (Vegetarian) on February 7, 2011 at 8:06 AM

Jamaican Jerk Tempeh Wraps

Hi, I’m Rob.

Saveur is busy focusing on other stuff this week, so I’ve stepped into help her out. I’m in the privileged position to be the frequent benefactor of some of her cooking exploits, so it’s only fair that I step in to give her a hand.

Don’t be alarmed! It would be inaccurate to say that I haven’t already had some input here in the past. I’ve helped make some of the dishes on here and done the photos for a couple of them, too.

I’ve written a guest post, too. I introduced tempeh to Saveur a few months ago when we made the CAT food sandwiches together prior to a picnic. I had extra tempeh left over and wondered what I could do with it. Saveur suggested the Jamaican Jerk Tempeh Wraps she saw on fresh365. These looked PERFECT! We would make them together. It would be a team effort.

The Jamaican Jerk Tempeh Wraps required some Worcestershire sauce. Neither of us had any, so I dutifully picked some up at the supermarket. It’s a wonderful sauce that I’d like to try with more recipes. It has tamarind in it, which I’ve decided is always the secret in making pad thai taste better. After making this recipe, though, I lent my Worcestershire sauce to Saveur and eagerly await the day when it can come back.

These wraps really are delicious. They’re not too spicy, but are full of many other bold flavours. Citrus, sour, sweet, and warm; they’re all there. The allspice and nutmeg provides the flavours associated with Jamaican jerk cooking. I would be a jerk if I said any terrible things about these wraps.

I do need to give one warning about these wraps, though. They’re better fresh than they are as leftovers. The tempeh will absorb any extra juices like a sponge and make them a bit dry the next day. Why would you have leftovers, though? They’re so tasty that you want to eat them up right away!

Marinading the tempeh

Frying the tempeh
This is being sent to Deb for this week’s Souper Sundays, to this week’s Healthy Vegan Friday and to E.A.T. World for Jamaica.

Jamaican Jerk Tempeh Wraps

Ingredients for Marinade

1/2 cup fresh orange juice
1/2 cup white vinegar
1/4 cup olive oil
1/8 cup soy sauce
1 tbsp Worcestershire sauce (use vegetarian version if vegetarian)
1 tbsp brown sugar
1 tbsp allspice
1 tsp salt
1 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp nutmeg
1 tbsp fresh minced ginger
3 large cloves garlic, minced
1 tsp Aleppo chili flakes
4 chopped scallions

Other Ingredients

8 oz tempeh, cut in half lengthwise and then into 1/2″ by 2″ strips
4 whole-wheat wraps or tortillas (or as many as you need contain all your wraps)
vegetables to fill wraps (we used chopped spinach and chopped carrots)

Instructions

1. In a baking dish, combine all the marinade ingredients and stir well. Add the tempeh strips in a single layer and ensure all of the tempeh is coated. Place in the refrigerator and marinade for 20 to 30 minutes.

2. Heat a large sauté pan over medium-high heat. Add a tempeh, in a single layer, and most of the scallions. Reserve some of the marinade. Cook for about 10 to 12 minutes, flipping the tempeh and shaking the pan every few minutes until the tempeh is golden brown on all sides.

3. To assemble the wraps, lay a wrap flat, place about 4 to 6 strips of tempeh inside. Spoon some of the reserved marinade on the tempeh strips and fill in with the vegetables. Roll up wrap from one side and cut in half.

Serves 4.

  1. Bravo, friend of Saveur, on a job well done. 🙂 These do sound fabulous–I love the combination of flavors in that marinade. I’m a fan of Jerk flavors so I think I will just have to give these a try.

  2. lovely blend of flavours–good one !

  3. Hi Rob and hi Saveur , am new here but already loving it !
    The intro is cute and the wraps perfect , ur right , i dont think u will ever have leftovers of this one ever!

    Mia(http://brightmorningstarsfoodie.blogspot.com/)

  4. Hey Rob! I have a serious love of tempeh. There’s just something about it that I can’t quite shake. I will definitely be giving these wraps a try. And yes, tamarind is magical stuff. i’m glad we agree.

  5. I had no idea that Worcestershire had tamarind. Thanks for the tidbit!

  6. that jerk tempeh looks insane! what a great combination of flavors and textures. thanks for the recipe!

  7. These sound delish. However, I cannot get tempeh in Spain, what could I use a substitute please?

  8. Many thanks for your prompt reply. I also wondered about using quorn cutlets? Not so keen on tofu texture, but may be worth a try too.

  9. I bet these are so full of flavor and just delicious. I am glad you shared them at Souper Sundays this week. Thanks for joining in! 😉

  10. You do realize these look incredible right?
    The Tempeh looks SO GOOD.

  11. I would just point out that you should make sure to put a note that most Worcestershire sauce is not vegetarian if you’re going to post this in the vegetarian recipe category. There are some vegetarian Worcestershire sauces available.

  12. Great guest post! 🙂 When I get over my fear of tempeh I will have to try these.

  13. […] Next, the tempeh is marinaded in a simple sesame oil and soy sauce marinade, and feel free to marinade it as long as possible. I was only able to marinade it for 5 minutes, but longer is always better. After baking, the marinade was completely absorbed. The steaming helped to keep the tempeh pieces moist, even as leftovers. Because the mango sauce is the main star of the wrap, the loss of sauce around the tempeh is not detrimental to the dish (which had been our problem previously). […]

  14. […] roasted golden beets. Next, steam your tempeh, then get it marinading. Tempeh has a bad leftover track-record, which is why I planned on making this salad fresh during the week. I left the tempeh in the […]

  15. These sound gorgeous. I adore jerk seasoning and I just made some wraps for my freezer today, yum! Thank you for sharing this with Healthy Vegan Fridays. Check back on Friday to see if you were one of the Top 3! We hope to see you again this week. You can submit a post from Friday to end of Tuesday:
    http://www.greenthickies.com/healthy-vegan-fridays

  16. […] Jamaican Jerk Chicken Wraps from Janet @ the taste space […]

  17. […] 3. Jamaican Jerk “Chicken” Wraps from Janet @ the taste space: […]

  18. I have a surplus of tempeh in the freezer that I got on sale, so decided to make these wraps. I put shredded purple cabbage and carrots in the wraps, and served mine on Rudi’s GF tortillas and my husband got whole wheat tortillas. They are FABULOUS. The flavors are so intense and amazing.. my husband loves them very much and wants me to make them all the time now. A+ recipe!

  19. […] However, until you build up extra posts, guest posts definitely help. I still remember when Rob was guest posting back in the day […]

  20. […] stranger to brightly flavoured jerk foods (e.g. Jamaican Jerk Plantain Soup and the ever classic Jamaican Jerk Tempeh Wraps), I have never seen it with the addition of […]

  21. […] Jamaica: Jamaican Jerk Tempeh Wraps, via The Taste Space […]

  22. […] with 22g of protein in 4 oz (half a package). Not everyone loves tempeh. One way to love it is to slather it with a marinade. No marinade, here. In this case, your smother it and hide it within a delicious […]

  23. […] Try My Favourite Tempeh Recipe […]

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.