janet @ the taste space

15-Minute Zippy Garlic-Basil Marinara with Zucchini Noodles

In Favourites, Mains (Vegetarian) on July 22, 2011 at 5:47 AM


Please pardon my oven use during the heat wave. The Greek Baked Beans were worth it, though. Delicious lunch-friendly leftovers.

I should be absolved of my wrong doings with this meal. No oven. No stove top. Not even a blender.

Instead, I christened my new spiralizer (thanks Rob!) by making zucchini noodles. I have done julienning by hand, and this is infinitely easier, consistent and pretty! Just look at these long strands of zucchini! In 30 seconds tops, you have your noodles!


Of course, whenever you have a pasta dish, the meal is all about the sauce.

I went for a quick, super easy raw tomato sauce. 15 minutes, tops. I told you, no cooking or blender required.

A love of garlic, a must, though.

Zippy Garlic-Basil Marinara with Zucchini Noodles
Adapted from Radiant Health, Inner Wealth (the original recipe was posted here by Tess), this is a zippy, rich tomato sauce. The raw ingredients really make this sauce pop. All you do is mix together crushed tomatoes, raw garlic, fresh basil, fresh oregano, a bit of olive oil and a dash of balsamic vinegar. Season with salt and pepper, and you’re done!

You’ll be laughing at how simple and healthy this recipe is… but then afraid to bring the leftovers to eat at work, with all that raw garlic. 😛

Now, if you don’t have a spiralizer, this sauce would be equally delicious over linguine or spaghetti, but then you’d have to boil some water for that!

What’s your favourite sauce for zucchini noodles? Or your favourite pasta dish?


This is my submission to this week’s Presto Past Nights, hosted by Anu of Truth Personified, to this month’s Simple and in Season, and to Ricki’s new Summer Wellness Weekends.

15-Minute Zippy Garlic-Basil Marinara with Zucchini Noodles

4 small zucchinis, spiralized, or cut into threads
15 oz can crushed tomatoes
4 cloves of garlic, pressed or minced
2 tbsp fresh oregano, finely chopped
1/4 cup packed fresh basil, cut into thin ribbons
1 tbsp olive oil
1 tbsp balsamic vinegar
1 tsp salt, or to taste
freshly ground pepper, to taste

1. Spiralize your zucchinis and set aside.

2. Combine the remaining ingredients in a large bowl and mix well.

3. Toss the sauce with the noodles. Enjoy!

Serves 4.

  1. Looks awesome and just the thing to “cook” during a heat wave!

  2. Wow, Saveur!! What a beautiful dish! Would you recommend your spiralizer?

  3. Absolutely love this idea, I would love to try it out 🙂

  4. Are you just loving your new spiralizer?? I think I went a little spiralizer-crazy when I first got mine (and now it’s languishing. . . ). Must make this and use it again soon! Thanks so much for submitting this to Wellness Weekend this week! 🙂

  5. Wow, wow, wow! Naturally now there’s a new toy to buy! Since it’s a bazillion degrees here… I definitely want to recreate your awesome dish. Thanks so much for sharing with Presto Pasta Nights

  6. I think I’m going to have to visit your place for some spiralizer fun! I also don’t blame you for turning on the oven. Sometimes, it’s just totally necessary.

  7. […] I am really enjoying my spiralizer. But in my life BTS (before the spiralizer), I was still able to make interesting textures from my […]

  8. This is so cool! I’m totally intrigued.

  9. I was stunned when I saw this. It is so clever and obviously so tasty, never mind how good it is for you. I wonder if my food processor has an attatchment I could use.

  10. […] to prepare it a second time! Ack! (But for some reason, I made Roasted Cauliflower with Dukkah and 15-Minute Zippy Garlic-Basil Marinara with Zucchini Noodles for everyone this weekend without problems.. AND to positive […]

  11. I loooove this tomato sauce. Every time Eric or I bring it to work people always comment on how good it smells. And I’m so excited for you and your zucchini spiralizer, together at last!! 🙂

  12. […] I did leave heavy hints for Rob that I wanted a spiralizer – which is awesome, by the way. And that Vitamix is heavenly. Dude, I am […]

  13. […] says that almost any seasonal fruit could be used, such as peaches. Another two entries from The Taste Space followed (see  part one for six more seasonal recipes from The Taste Space team). This time we […]

  14. […] actually made this dish with Rob in the summer, life before the spiralizer. It was a raw weekend, because we also made the raw Tropical Mango Pie. After spending the morning […]

  15. […] After julienning a bunch of veggies, it was enough to convince Rob to invest in a spiralizer. […]

  16. […] ($35-50). The best way to get zucchini noodles is through a spiralizer. A less spendy option is a julienne peeler ($15). Have I mentioned enough […]

  17. […] 15-Minute Zippy Garlic-Basil Marinara with Zucchini Noodles […]

  18. […] Superseed Porridge – Lemon Ginger Miso Medicine – Zucchini Chips to Dry For (recipe elsewhere) – 15-Minute Zippy Garlic-Basil Marinara with Zucchini Noodles – Shiitake, Walnut, and Cranberry Salad with Adzuki Beans – Moroccan Quinoa – Fresh Greek Delight […]

  19. I got a spiral slicer for Christmas and was kind of intimidated by it and had yet to use it, telling myself I was waiting for summer produce. When I came across this recipe you inspired me to face the spiral slicer and I’m so glad I did! My zucchini noodles were so much like angelhair pasta and the balsamic and garlic tang of your super fast sauce was delicious.
    Every recipe of yours I have tried has been a new favorite. Thank you 🙂

  20. […] zucchinis, spiralized (or your favourite cooked pasta) 1 large carrot, chopped small (1/2 cup) 1/2 cup basil, chiffonaded […]

  21. […] stranger to zucchini used as pasta, I finally decided to make a raw lasagna when I found one nearly entirely made from veggies. No […]

  22. […] 2 tbsp balsamic vinegar 2 cups cooked chickpeas 2 tbsp chopped fresh tarragon 4 small zucchini, spiralized (or your favourite cooked […]

  23. […] garlic isn’t as scary as it seems. Chili lime noodles, 15-minute zippy garlic-basil marinara, lemon asparagus quinoa toss, and many other dishes that add garlic at the end of cooking instead […]

  24. […] Low-Fat Hummus, Green Velvet Guacamole (aka Edamame Guacamole), Baked Lemon Cilantro Pakoras, 15-Minute Zippy Garlic-Basil Marinara with Zucchini Noodles, Dillicious Yellow Tofu, Black Bean, Cilantro and Apricot Salad, Almost Raw Asian Kale and […]

  25. […] my pasta cravings are more a craving for the sauce (and cheese too!) than the actual pasta itself. Zucchini noodles are a great option and even my Italian pasta-raised boyfriend loved my zucchini noodles with a […]

  26. […] When ready to serve, spiralize your zucchini. Chop any remaining zucchini into cubes. Top zucchini noodles with sauce, chopped zucchini and […]

  27. […] plus extra for garnish 4 ounces angel hair pasta (note: I substituted one zucchini that I had spiralized, being sure to then cut them into manageable […]

  28. […] I treat them how I treat rice sticks or ramen – not how I treat other pastas. They work very well in Asian style dishes and noodle bowls. For a pasta sub, I like to use zucchini noodles (zucchini peeled into noodles). They are more noodle-y to me and I'm getting in some vitamin C, vitamin A, and one zucchini is only around 30-35 calories Link […]

  29. […] for a fun twist on spaghetti, this is a delicious marinara sauce. A heartier, cooked version of my 15-minute garlic basil marinara sauce, I fortified the sauce with red lentils. The finishing raw garlic and basil made the sauce truly […]

  30. Just out of curiousity could this recipe be cooked? pLease send details. I like it raw too. Just want to see if my toddlers will eat it cooked.

  31. […] 1. Spiralize your zucchini or julienne by hand. Combine the remainder of the vegetables in a bowl. Drizzle with your dressing and sprinkle with the sesame seeds. […]

  32. […] Image Source: Taste Space […]

  33. […] Zippy Garlic-Basil Marinara with Zucchini Noodles […]

  34. […] 15-Minute Zippy Garlic-Basil Marinara with Zucchini Noodles […]

  35. […] won’t miss regular spaghetti noodles at all when you try this Zucchini Spaghetti!  To turn the zucchini into spaghetti you can use a spiralizer or julienne peeler.  You can top […]

  36. […] 15-minute Zippy Garlic-Basil Marinara with Zucchini Noodles by The Taste Space […]

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.