janet @ the taste space

Braised Cabbage with Chorizo Seitan Sausage

In Favourites, Mains (Vegetarian) on October 1, 2011 at 6:27 AM


Last year at this time, I was neither a vegan, nor a vegetarian. Now I eat vegan without refined sugars and flours and haven’t looked back!

Last November, I partially participated in Vegan MoFo, in that all my recipes that month were vegan. But I didn’t do any daily posts. I wasn’t nuts.

This year, I AM nuts. OK, I always was nuts, but this time, I decided to take the plunge and join the multitude of blogs celebrating Vegan MoFo. The month of vegan blogging, of daily (weekday) posts, oh my. I hope I can keep up, and signed up hoping to dislodge my backlog of recipes I still really want to share.

Seeing I made vegan sausages last year, I figured it would be fitting to kick-start this month with a quick and easy braised cabbage dish with chorizo sausages from Appetite for Reduction. While my favourite braised cabbage takes at least 2 hours in the oven, this is a great alternative.  Garlic, thyme and pepper flakes flavour the cabbage well, but choose your vegan sausage wisely. The chorizo seitan sausage from Viva Vegan packs a serious punch of flavours. This is what makes this a spectacular dish.

Squirrel the sausages into your freezer, so you can whip this up the next time you are wondering what to do with your cabbage.

Quick, tasty and healthy, what’s not to love?

Wish me luck on a month of vegan cuisine!


This is my submission to this month’s Simple and in Season and to this week’s Wellness Weekends.

Braised Cabbage with Chorizo Seitan Sausage

1 tbsp olive oil
1.5 cups seitan sausage, sliced 1/4-inch thick (I used 2 links of chorizo seitan sausage)
4 cloves of garlic, minced or pressed
2 tsp dried thyme
1/4 tsp Aleppo chili flakes
2 cups vegetable broth
1-lb green cabbage, thinly sliced (~4 cups)
1/4 tsp salt (optional, to taste)

1. Preheat a large skillet over medium heat.  Saute the seitan in the olive oil until lightly browned, around 3 minutes on each side.

2. Add the garlic, thyme, and chili flakes and saute for another minute.

3. Deglaze the pan with a portion of the vegetable broth. Add the cabbage and the remainder of the broth. Add salt to taste. Cover the pan and cook for 15 minutes, stirring occasionally. The cabbage should be tender with a bit of a bite to it. Season with salt and pepper and serve immediately.

Serves 4.

  1. Congrats on MoFo–and your readers are all lucky, since we get to read your blog and recipes for a month! Whoo hoo! This looks fanatastic–makes me miss seitan all over again. And I had no idea you’d been vegan for such a short time. Your recipes are always amazing. Thanks so much for submitting this to WW this week–and for MoFo-ing it! 😀

  2. Here I’ve been following your blog all this time and didn’t realize you were vegan! I think that’s a pretty good recommendation for the tastiness of your food.

  3. You are crazy but…that’s why I adore you! I’m with Kalyn…though I knew you were vegan, I never really notice it because you and I eat so similarly and love so many of the same flavors. I really want to try this vegan chorizo…I need a good sausage substitute in my life!

  4. Wow, this looks great! I always struggle with finding good cabbage recipes. The sausage sounds delicious as well – can’t wait to try

  5. It looks fantastic. Definitely adding it to my list of mofo must makes.

  6. […] This Braised Cabbage and Seitan Sausage recipe from The Taste Space strikes me as the more interesting cousin of Brats and ‘Kraut.  Totally appealing to my Midwestern roots.  I’m positive my Yooper husband would love it. […]

  7. While I love cabbage, I’m always wondering what else I can do with it. I’m going to have to try out your braised cabbage, and also these sausages! Making up a bunch and freezing them is an excellent idea.

  8. […] Braised Cabbage with Chorizo Seitan Sausage (Vegan) […]

  9. […] culminate the end of my month of vegan recipes, and 3 weeks of daily beans, I figured I would share a dish that mixes up a few beans (count all 4 […]

  10. […] Braised Cabbage with Chorizo Seitan Sausage Chinese Sweet and Sour Cabbage with Tofu Cabbage and Kohlrabi Salad Mexican Cabbage Stirfry Braised Cabbage with Onions and Carrots Quinoa and Red Lentil Kitchari with Cabbage […]

  11. […] Meets Baingan Bharta) Sea Weeds and Greens Salad (aka Kelp Noodles with Wakame and Radish Sprouts) Braised Cabbage with Chorizo Seitan Sausage Mango, Black Bean and Quinoa […]

  12. […] – Chickpea Piccata – Red Lentil and Root Veggie Dal – White Bean, Quinoa and Kale Stew with Fennel – Braised Cabbage with Chorizo Seitan Sausage – Forty Clove Chickpeas and Broccoli – Mango BBQ Beans – Smoky Tempeh and Chard Stew – Yam and […]

  13. […] For this month’s Random Recipes, we had to randomly pick a cookbook and cook the middle recipe. My chosen cookbook was Moosewood Restaurant Cooking for Health and at 348 pages, the middle page was 174. No recipe on that page. I rounded down to find the first recipe: Cabbage with Fermented Black Beans (page 171). No stranger to stir-fries with fermented black beans, I thought this looked like a great recipe to try. However, a meal it wasn’t, so I tweaked the recipe to include julienned five-spiced seitan, as a nod to my favourite Braised Cabbage with Chorizo Seitan Sausage. […]

  14. […] with my CSA from KYV farm I asked her what her favorite cabbage recipes are and she said this braised cabbage and this cabbage salad-which this post is based off of.    Coconut and fresh clementines bring a […]

  15. […] have made seitan before. I liked these chorizo sausages, especially with cabbage, as well as Chinese Five-Spice Seitan with cabbage. I’ve also trying the boiling method to […]

  16. […] let you know when I do. Sweet Potato, Butternut and Cabbage Soup 14 1-cup servings Inspired by Taste Space’s Braised Cabbage with Chorizo Setian Sausage Vegan, Gluten Free, Dairy Free Printable Recipe Ingredients 1 large onion, chopped3 cloves […]

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.