janet @ the taste space

Vegan Chorizo Sausages

In Mains (Vegetarian) on November 14, 2010 at 6:52 AM


November is special in many ways. Of course, there is Remembrance Day. For some, it is a month to grow a moustache in support of raising funds for prostate cancer research (aka Movember). For others, it is a celebration of vegan food through almost daily blogging (aka Vegan MoFo).

I am neither a vegan, nor a vegetarian, nor do I plan to write 20-30 posts this month about vegan food. In fact, most of my vegan recipes are serendipitous as I search out healthy recipes.  But I figured I’d pay homage to Vegan MoFo by posting vegan-friendly dishes all month. So far, so good (and I bet you may not have noticed they were vegan!).

In fact, I wanted to take things a bit further by going where few non-vegans have gone before: making vegan “meat”.

Yes, I made my own homemade sausages… without any meat!

And it was fun!

Adapted from Viva Vegan, you mix and knead together vital wheat gluten and some chickpea flour with some vegetable broth and olive oil and a ton of flavourings: tomato paste, garlic, cumin, coriander, Mexican oregano, chili flakes, smoked paprika, nutritional yeast, and if you like it hotter throw in some cayenne and peppercorns.

I am not particularly familiar with chorizo, so I can’t say how close these are to the real deal. They were a bit soft right out of the oven but firmed up slightly after sitting in the refrigerator overnight. They were scrumptious, though! Little dumplings bursting with flavour. Nearly entirely filled with protein, at that.

I added them to the Brazilian Potato-Kale Soup and it definitely brought it to the next level. I was fishing out the chorizo for each bite. It was delectable.

Bring on the homemade (vegan) sausages! 😀


This is my submission to this week’s Weekend Herb Blogging hosted by Susan from The Well-Seasoned Cook.

Chorizo Seitan Sausages

1 1/2 cups vegetable broth
4 tbsp tomato paste
3 tbsp olive oil
3 tbsp red wine vinegar
6 cloves garlic, grated
1 2/3 cups vital wheat gluten
1/4 cup chickpea flour
3 tbsp nutritional yeast
4 tsp smoked sweet paprika
2 tsp Aleppo chili flakes
3 tsp Mexican oregano (regular oregano is fine, too)
2 tsp ground cumin
1 tsp ground coriander
1 1/2 tsp salt
1/2 tsp ground black pepper (omitted)

1. Tear off six pieces of foil 8 inches wide each. Preheat the oven to 350F.

2. In a small bowl, whisk together the broth, tomato paste, oil, vinegar and garlic. In a large bowl, combine the wheat gluten, chickpea flour, nutritional yeast, paprika, chili flakes, oregano, cumin, coriander, salt and pepper and form a well in the center. Pour the liquid ingredients into the well and stir with a rubber spatula until the dough leaves the side of the bowl. Knead the dough for 3 minutes to develop the gluten. Let the dough rest for 10 minutes. Knead again for 2 minutes.

3. Divide the dough into 6 equal pieces. Place a piece on each piece of foil and shape it into a log 6 inches long. Wrap the log on its long axis first, then twist the edges the keep everything inside. Wrap firmly but not too tight (apparently these can explode while baking!). Repeat for all pieces.

4.  Place each directly on the middle rack in the oven and bake for 40 minutes. Cool for 40 minutes before using,  or overnight for best results. Can keep refrigerated for 2 weeks or be frozen.

Makes 6 sausages.

  1. Fantastic, Saveur! I missed chorizo when I first gave up pork. This is a great recipe to have your sausage and eat it, too.

    Thank you for your snappy contribution to WHB!

  2. […] But back to this soup: it is a healthy, hearty soup adapted from Viva Vegan.  Caldo verdo literally translates to green soup and kale is a center star in this soup. The potato mashes down into a creamy base and there is a subtlety of flavour from the thyme and oregano. This soup is Portuguese in nature, and Portugese cuisine is very prominent in Brazil as well. It would be a nice, simple soup without the chorizo, but it is downright tasty with the chorizo.  And yes, this soup is still vegan! I used homemade chorizo sausages for a definite flavour boost (recipe here). […]

  3. It looks great. I share your views about eating vegan, and probably eat vegan food about 70% of the time.

    I have made seitan sausages, but it is so difficult to get VWG in the UK. Expensive mail order only.

  4. these are amazing Janet! you got such great flavored infused into them. I’ve actually never dealt much with chorizo either but they sound good to me! I’ve been meaning to work with seitan…perhaps I’ll give these a try!

  5. These sausages are looking absolutely amazing! I have just bought smoked paprika by mistake and was wondering what to do with it…
    Do you think I could replace the wheat gluten by something else? regular wheat flour? Seitan?

  6. Vegan sausages would be something for us to try for Meatless Mondays. They look delish Janet.

  7. That is quite the challenge indeed! I don’t know if I’d be up for it, but I could certainly be up for eating these 🙂

  8. I loooooove homemade seitan fake meat things like this. These look awesome and I will definitely try them! Would you recommend Viva Vegan? I haven’t heard much about it.

    • Hey Ashley, I like Viva Vegan but it isn’t my favourite vegan cookbook. Terry has a lot of components to the meals, which is good because it is different for me (veggie sides, smaller mains, etc) – but my heart lies in one-dish meals, which is why it isn’t my go-to book. However, all the recipes I have made have been great so far. 🙂

  9. […] Last November, I partially participated in Vegan MoFo, in that all my recipes that month were vegan. But I didn’t do any daily posts. I wasn’t nuts. […]

  10. […] sausage using this recipe as a starter cut up after cooling and sauteed with onion, garlic and spinach (thrown in at the end […]

  11. […] have made seitan, or wheat meat, once before as chorizo sausages. This recipe is neat because you make a batch of seitan specifically for this recipe. The results […]

  12. do you think i could substitute a can of mashed beans instead of the wheat gluten?

  13. It’s hard to find experienced people for this topic, however, you sound like you know what you’re talking about! Thanks

  14. […] have made seitan before. I liked these chorizo sausages, especially with cabbage, as well as Chinese Five-Spice Seitan with cabbage. I’ve also trying […]

  15. I’ve never heard of Aleppo pepper. Where can I find that and are there any possible close substitues in case I don’t find it?

    • Aleppo pepper is not necessary for this dish. Pick your favourite spicy chili flake. I find Aleppo has a milder flavour which is why I like it. You can usually find it in middle eastern grocers or specialty spice stores like Penzeys. Hope this helps.

  16. […] meats that made our jaws drop. As you know, I don’t usually eat mock meats (other than the seitan I’ve made myself), but they had an entire freezer aisle dedicated solely to vegan mock meats […]

  17. […] tbsp coconut oil, or oil of choice 1 link of vegan chorizo sausage (homemade or store-bought, pick one that slices nicely aka not from Trader Joe’s) 6 oz can tomato paste […]

  18. […] Of note, a few of the main entrees call for some meat substitutes, which definitely makes the chef’s job a bit easier but one could also make those, too (case in point: vegan chorizo). […]

  19. […] with water) 1 package of soy chorizo crumbles (I used this one, but you could also use homemade; my vegan chorizo is not made as crumbles, […]

  20. Question about the nutritional yeast – did you use powdered or plakes?

  21. Ikes – “FLAKES”

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.