janet @ the taste space

Pumpkin Chili

In Favourites, Mains (Vegetarian) on January 11, 2012 at 6:53 AM

When I suggested recipes for my Mom to make over Christmas, she was a bit shocked when she found out a few were new recipes. One of the cardinal rules of cooking for guests is to never try a new recipe on unsuspecting guests. I have long abandoned that rule, though.

Truth be told, sometimes it can be difficult to munch on a dish you’ve already made yourself but made by someone else. Sometimes, it will taste the same. We repeatedly return to our favourite hummus recipe (this one, too) because it is so reliable. But in the flash of a pan, a dish can taste different.

Therefore, I figured I would give my Mom all of the glory from a few fabulous new dishes.

The Chickpea Piccata, was a definite hit. I didn’t want to share any of the leftovers!

The second hit was this Pumpkin Chili. I originally spotted it on Isobelle’s site, but the recipe came from Ashlae. While I have made other chilis before, this is definitely my favourite so far. A savoury saucy chili, filled with beans and vegetables. Flavourful, not spicy despite using jalapeno peppers. The pumpkin puree adds a touch of sweetness but doesn’t leave you with a pumpkin flavour. The TVP plumps up to look just like ground meat, it is almost confusing. What isn’t confusing is how great it tastes: delicious.

When we trying to decide what to do with the leftover chili, I suggested my Mom freeze it and save it for the next time I visit. This way, there would be a surefire Janet-friendly meal already waiting for me.

However, after I went home, I called to make sure I had the right recipe for the tantalizing chili.  Only minor changes using canned tomatoes and beans. She even used jalapeno peppers! However, my Mom had bad news. There was no more chili left: my Dad had polished it all off!  Vegan chili so good it could fool the unsuspecting omnivore: I consider that a success. My Mom makes a tasty chili and I can’t wait to have it again. 🙂

Vegan Pumpkin Chili

This is my submission to Deb for this week’s Souper Sundays, to Ricki’s Wellness Weekend, to this month’s Bookmarked Recipes and to this week’s Healthy Vegan Friday.

Pumpkin Chili

3 tbsp olive oil
3 cloves garlic, minced
1 onion, diced
2 small jalapenos, finely chopped
28 oz canned whole tomatoes, undrained
1/4 cup tomato paste
3 cups vegetable broth
2 tbsp lemon juice
4.5 cups cooked beans (my Mom used 1 19-oz can of mixed beans and one 19-oz can of red kidney beans)
1/4 tsp cinnamon
1 1/2 tsp smoked paprika
2-3 tbsp chili powder, to taste
1 3/4 cup pumpkin puree
1/2 cup TVP
2 tsp fine sea salt, to taste

1. In a large saucepan over medium heat, heat oil and sauté the garlic and onions, until the onions become translucent.

2. Add the jalapenos and tomatoes, stirring occasionally for 1-2 minutes.

3. In a medium bowl, mix together the tomato paste, broth, and lemon juice. Add to pan, deglaze the bottom and increase the heat to bring to a boil. Once boiling, add the beans, cinnamon, paprika, and chili powder, then cover, reduce heat to the lowest setting and let simmer for at least two hours, stirring occasionally.

4. After two hours, mix in the pumpkin puree, TVP and sea salt. Let simmer, uncovered, for an additional 15 minutes, or until the chili thickens.

Serves 6-8.

  1. Great-looking soup! I posted a similar pumpkin chili a few weeks ago, but use tempeh. I’d love to try making a chili with TVP next – I’ve never worked with it.

  2. I can dig pumpkin in any shape or form as far as we talk about delicious dishes. Never tried soup so I’m gonna put this one on my weekend’s checklist. Thanx for posting

  3. Our favorite chili recipe has pumpkin in it too. Seriously amazing how good it makes it!

  4. Wow, Janet! The chili looks great 🙂 I am so happy you liked it. I’ve also made it with lentils and it is equally as delicious 🙂

  5. Wow, I never would’ve thought to add pumpkin to chili – definitely trying this recipe!! It looks DELICIOUS.

  6. Are we on the same page or what? This looks fantastic. All I want to eat these days is winter squash, though I usually add mine to stews in chunks rather than as a puree. The puree is really interesting though, and I’ll have to try it. Plus cinnamon and smoked paprika, yum!

  7. Haha MAJOR score on the dad front! I got mine to take a bite of curry the other day…and he liked it! Well, he liked the one bite. I’m not sure he could handle a whole plate though.

    This chili sounds awesome. I love the spices in it.

  8. I love trying new recipes for chilis and have been meaning to make a vegetarian version for a while now. This looks great!

  9. […] my Mom made new recipes for me, with new-to-her ingredients (TVP-what? chickpea flour-oh my!), I also reciprocated by […]

  10. This looks great. I’m going to try it, but using bulgur instead of TVP… it’s a little /too/ much like ground beef for my tastes.

  11. Well, well, what do I recommend? I have to say the Sweet potato and pumpkin stew, blogged (with link to recipe) at http://airyway.blogspot.com/2011/12/two-great-stews.html. This is by far the best sweet potato/squash dish I have ever had, and I have served it to others who have been similarly smitten. My *dad* asked for the recipe. You don’t know my dad, but this is a big deal. Otherwise, kabocha is so darned delicious that you can do what I first did and just cut it in half, scoop out the seeds, and bake it for 40 minutes or so at 350 until it is tender and awesome. Or my mom (who is now almost as into it as I am) cuts it into thick wedges, paints it with olive oil, and bakes it until caramelized and wonderful. This is a miracle food, and I’m sure once you’ve tried it you’ll come up with all sorts of inventive, original ideas for it!

  12. Your chili looks awesome! I’m so glad that you liked it, too 🙂 Ashlae made a tasty chili recipe, that’s for sure!

  13. This looks like a chili that would please anyone–so hearty and satisfying. Thanks for sharing it with Souper Sundays. 😉

  14. Love the sound of this! And that’s awesome that it was so delicious your dad finished it off. 🙂 I made a pumpkin soup recently (the portabello feijoada I think it’s called) from Viva Vegan, but omitted the TVP. I never liked ground meat and don’t think I’m a big fan of the TVP but I should give it another try.

  15. […] am also excited to make this pumpkin chili with the leftover pumpkin puree! It was so good last […]

  16. […] BBQ Beans Pumpkin Chili Red Lentil and Root Veggie Dal Red Lentil and Lemon […]

  17. […] Pumpkin Chili Brazilian Black Bean Stew with Portobello Mushrooms (Portobello Feijoada) Beefy Portobello Mushroom and Cranberry Stew […]

  18. […] am no stranger to pumpkin chili (previous version here). I don’t know why but pumpkin puree works seamlessly in chili to create a silky broth. Both […]

  19. […] tomatoes, kidney beans, chili powder – with some butternut squash. Since I have not one, but two recipes for pumpkin chili, I knew this would be good. The extra twist to make this a fabulous fusion meal […]

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.