janet @ the taste space

Creamy Low-Fat Hummus

In Appetizers on October 19, 2011 at 6:25 AM

Hummus, hummus, hummus….

So many different recipes, why even bother following one?

That’s how Rob thinks… and my Mom…

Me, I like to follow recipes.. This way I know I have reproducible results. Not a one-hit wonder.

In fact, my Mom made this first, following the low-fat recipe from Radiant Health, Inner Wealth. My family devoured it. My Dad said he’d gladly eat it any time.

The next time my Mom made hummus, she ad-libbed it. It wasn’t the same.

The hummus looked the same, but it wasn’t as bright and flavourful. It wasn’t as creamy. It just wasn’t as good.

And to be honest, this photo doesn’t match my recipe (it is still hummus, though!). I didn’t even photograph the party hummus, because why would I blog yet another hummus recipe? Well, let’s just say there was no hummus left by the end of the party and I had a few recipe requests. That doesn’t happen very often for traditional hummus. Healthy, lower fat hummus, at that.

Enjoy!


This is my submission to this month’s My Legume Love Affair, hosted by Suma, and to Ricki’s Wellness Weekend.

Creamy Low-Fat Hummus

1.5 cups (one 15 oz. can) cooked chickpeas, rinsed and drained if canned
2-3 medium cloves garlic, peeled
1/4 cup raw tahini (sesame paste)
1/4 cup plus 2 tablespoons fresh lemon juice
1 teaspoon sea salt (or less if you prefer)
1/4 cup vegetable broth
2 tablespoons olive oil

1. If you are anal, skin the chickpeas. It will take a while. You might start to curse, or give up altogether.

2. In a food processor, blend the garbanzo beans and garlic cloves very well. Add the tahini, lemon juice, salt, broth and oil and process until fully emulsified and creamy. Refrigerate in an airtight container for up to ten days. For best results, allow to warm to room temperature before serving.

Makes 2 cups.

  1. Delicious! I’ve never quite got the hang of making really tasty hummus at home, but I am sorely tempted to give this one a go πŸ™‚

  2. I ADORE hummus – you know, when we give dinner parties or cocktail parties at home, we always have hummus as one of the spreads. I actually have a folder in my computer in which I save hummus variations, and yours will go there right away.

    I guess basically you reduced the olive oil quite a bit and added stock instead? Brilliant. I will try this for sure next time I make it. I’ve got a pumpkin variation that will be on our menu soon

    • I agree, hummus is great! I love teh standard plain jane hummus but the variations make it so much more fun. I can’t wait to see your pumpkin version. πŸ™‚

      • Would you believe I cannot find that recipe? I went searching for it right after I left the comment, and….. IT’s NOWHERE to be found!

        (sigh)

        how on Earth do I manage to lose recipes on a daily basis?

        I will google and retrieve it, I know it was posted not too long ago on a blog…. (sigh, sigh, sigh)

      • That is too funny… although there are so many recipes out there I am sure you will retrieve it. One of the things I like about google reader is that I can quickly search my favourite blogs. πŸ™‚

  3. I always follow a recipe when it comes to hummus for this exact same reason! I never tastes quite as good when I just wing it. Need to try this!

  4. Incredible hummus…

  5. Ohh..I just love hummus in all flavours, though roasted red pepper is my favorite. adding stock to hummus is new to me, but it sounds brilliant. will try for sure

  6. […] I made sure the hummus was in tip-top shape so we didn’t have too many naked […]

  7. I am all for a less fatty hummus, it is far far too easy to glug in more and more oil when making it.

  8. This looks perfectly creamy! Though I wonder what makes it low fat? It seems like a pretty standard hummus recipe. I guess the added vegetable broth?

  9. Thanks for this low fat hummus.

  10. […] yourself but made by someone else. Sometimes, it will taste the same. We repeatedly return to our favourite hummus recipe (this one, too) because it is so reliable. But in the flash of a pan, a dish can taste […]

  11. Can I say I love you for not putting cumin in?

  12. […] Chicky Baby Seasoning (this is the best stock substitute and I use it all the time!) – Creamy Low-Fat Hummus – Edamame Miso Dip – Indian-Spiced Superseed Porridge – Lemon Ginger Miso Medicine – Zucchini Chips […]

  13. […] large collard leaves 6 tbsp of your favourite hummus 1 artichoke heart, sliced 2 sun-dried tomatoes, soaked in hot water for 10 minutes or more, then […]

  14. […] a bit more fancy with a collard wrap or a hummus dressing for a raw kale salad. While I prefer the traditional recipe, you can easily mix things up with different flavours – any takers for pomegranate red […]

  15. […] I was itching to recreate Mary’s caraway flavour, which was simple. I also made a version with za’atar that was perfect with my go-to hummus. […]

  16. […] tsp coconut oil 350g soft tofu, crumbled 2 tbsp tahini 1/4 cup hummus (I used my favourite recipe) 1 tbsp low-sodium tamari 2 tbsp lemon juice (half a lemon) 2 cups cooked chickpeas , rinsed and […]

  17. […] to peanut butter in hummus, I bet black eyed peas could also be substituted 1:1 with chickpeas in traditional hummus. I found peanut butter to be a prominent flavour whereas the black eyed peas were merely a vector […]

  18. […] I added lemon juice to Gena’s recipe, I found it lacking the tang and bite I associate with traditional hummus. In retrospect I probably should have added some garlic, too. Still a nice dip for crackers and […]

  19. […] more soup-like than the curry, though. I think they look reasonably different, so trust me I am not recycling photos! No lost photos for this […]

  20. […] adapt many recipes to what I have on hand, but some recipes are best left untouched. Case in point: traditional hummus. I already have a recipe I love (LOVE!) and see no need to experiment. Winging it ends up with a […]

  21. […] in our courtship, Rob decided to surprise me with some hummus. While we diligently follow our favourite recipe now, there was a time when Rob liked to “wing it”. At that time, Rob was a novice with […]

  22. […] cup hummus (I used our favourite traditional hummus) 2 tbsp tahini 1 tbsp tamari (I used Bragg’s) 1/4 cup fresh lemon juice water, to thin to […]

  23. […] A complete list of the recipes I have tried can be found here, but some highlights include:Β Creamy Low-Fat Hummus, Green Velvet Guacamole (aka Edamame Guacamole),Β Baked Lemon Cilantro Pakoras,Β 15-Minute Zippy […]

  24. i don’t see when to add the broth… am i missing something?

  25. Your step 1 cracked me up! I only ever bothered with it once. Personally I didn’t find the results of such a tedious task to be worth it. But peeled chickpeas or not, the hummus sounds great.

    • Hey Tasha, I feel the exact same way as you. I tried it once, cursed a lot, and didn’t think it was worth the effort. Personally, I love hummus with lots of lemon.. which is the trick for this recipe πŸ™‚ If you try it, please let me know how you like it

  26. It really is crazy, for how many hummus recipes there are out there, how much you really do need to follow a recipe! When I don’t, it just never tastes as good!

  27. […] tbsp hummus (I used our favourite classic hummus) 1 tbsp balsamic vinegar 1/4 tsp Dijon mustard (or mustard of […]

  28. […] truth, I served this with a healthy blob of hummus on the side. After which, I reminded myself of Susan’sΒ hummus-crusted cauliflower steak […]

  29. […] small red potatoes (I used a bunch of small white potatoes) 1/4 cup hummus (I used my favourite hummus) 1 tsp Dijon mustard 1/4 tsp garlic powder (I used garlic granules) 1/4 tsp onion powderΒ (I used […]

  30. […] dressing is more puckering than my typical hummusΒ and uses lots of lemon juice instead of balsamic vinegar (which I used in my previous hummus […]

  31. […] hummus this summer even though it only takes 5 minutes to whip up delicious dips like our favourite hummus, this Hummus-Tzatziki Fusion or this Spinach Miso […]

  32. […] topped my burger with hummus, which is nice and creamy. I found this to be mandatory for the premade veggie burgers as it adds a […]

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.