janet @ the taste space

Almost Guiltless No-Bake Chocolate Mousse Pie (Vegan)

In Desserts, Favourites on April 20, 2012 at 6:49 AM

You’d figure with all the options for food at Easter, I could skip out on making a dessert, right?

Sometimes I’d rather have more veggies than dessert, but when I asked if I could skip serving dessert, my Mom was adamant: This is EASTER, bring on the dessert!

I obliged. I ruffled through my bookmarks for an easy, healthy dessert… with ingredients from my pantry. I bet you didn’t think it was possible, but this is an incredibly delicious dessert. Almost guiltless, as my Mom called it. No refined flours or sugars, with minimal agave at that. Decadent and delicious. Why is this almost guiltless? Well, it is still 256 calories (skip the crust and it is 156 calories, when serving 10!).

The secret? Tofu! But not just any tofu: the silken tofu you find in aseptic containers (not refrigerated). I used the firm silken tofu from Mori-Nu which had been languishing in my pantry for a while.

I have been meaning to make a tofu cheesecake but haven’t located a recipe worth trying yet (have any suggestions?) but I was positively smitten by this wickedly easy recipe from Chocolate-Covered Katie.  So was my entire family. We ate half the pie for dessert for lunch and then the leftovers were nearly polished off by the end of the day, after dinner. I kept the tofu a secret until I was pinned and explained that the delicious creaminess came from the tofu. The richness from the good quality chocolate. Trust me, you couldn’t taste any tofu.

I am loving these quick-and-easy no-bake desserts. Here, you make a quick almond-date crust (I used the same one from my Raw Raspberry Cashew Dreamcake) – or skip it altogether if you want to serve it in cute little tumblers. Melt your chocolate and throw everything until a food processor. Spread overtop and chill. Easy, peasy!

Decadent and delicious, yet still low calorie for the huge amount of flavour.

This is my submission to this week’s Weekend Herb Blogging, hosted by Graziana, to this month’s Cook-Eat-Delicious- Desserts for dates, to We Should Cocoa for almonds, to this week’s Mother Day Healthy Recipes, and to this week’s Weekend Wellness.

No-Bake Chocolate Mousse Pie
Filling adapted from Chocolate-Covered Katie; crust from Raw Cashew Dreamcake

Crust
1 cup raw almonds (pecan or walnuts will also work)
1 cup dates, pits removed
1/2 tsp sea salt

Filling
8 oz dark chocolate, chopped
12.3 oz firm silken tofu (you want the aseptic kind like Mori-Nu)
1 tsp cocoa powder
1 tsp vanilla extract
2 tablespoons nondairy milk (I used sweetened original almond milk)
scant 1/8 tsp salt
1 tablespoon agave or other sweetener, to taste

1. Place nuts in a food processor with sea salt and pulse to chop until they are to your desired fineness (process a finer crust longer than a chunky one). Add the dates and process until well combined. Test the crust by spooning out a small amount of mixture and rolling it in your hands. If the ingredients hold together, your crust is ready to go. Scoop out crust mixture in a 9” spring-form pan (if you don’t have a spring-form pan, use a pie plate lined with saran wrap), and press firmly (fingers work well), making sure that the edges are well packed and that the base is relatively even throughout. Rinse food processor well.

2. Melt your chocolate on low heat on the stovetop (or in the microwave).

3. Meanwhile, place tofu in a food processor and blend until smooth. Add cocoa powder, vanilla, nondairy milk, salt and melted chocolate and blend until smooth. Taste, add agave and adjust to taste.

4. Spoon chocolate mixture on top of pie crust and smooth the top.

5. Place in refrigerator until chilled. Serve chilled or at room temperature.

Serves 10.

  1. No guilt here! These look amazing.

  2. This cake was a huge winner at our Easter. Thumbs up! Even the Easter Bunny would approve.

  3. mmm, i’ll have a slice of that one janet, thank you very much!

    i made a yummy pumpkin cheesecake last thanksgiving that got rave reviews from my omni dinner guests, i think there should be a recipe for it somewhere on cupcakes and kale… i also made a killer tofu cheesecake last weekend for a friends birthday that was a riff on the blueberry cheesecake in vegan pie in the sky – it’s a winner. {but i totally neglected to capture a single photograph – tsk, tsk, bad blogger!}

  4. I am a huge fan of silken tofu. I use Clearspring, who make an ambient and organic box.

    Whizzed with cashews and miso it makes the most delicious dip too.

  5. I have done the tofu pumpkin pie before but never chocolate. Who knows why… I LOVE chocolate! Pinned to try ASAP. 🙂

  6. I saw this and I have to admit I’ve tried a few of her things before and thought they were ok but since you said it was good I’ll have to try your version! We are having a plant based pot luck coming up at work so I might just have to try this for it….

  7. I actually made a vegan chocolate chip cookie dough cheesecake with tofu earlier this year (didn’t get posted due to me being overwhelmed when I served it + bad pictures…but I’ll be making it again) and now I’m hooked on the idea of using tofu in desserts like this! This mousse is definitelyl on my list of things to try…though I might be tempted just to eat the filling with a spoon!

    • Eating the filling with a spoon definitely happened here, too…. I mean it is add agave to taste, right? I HAD to see how it tasted!! Although everyone agreed that the crust worked really well here.

  8. My Farmer’s Cheesecake is a long-time favorite (though it’s pre-GF days for me, so the crust has spelt). You could always bake the filling in a different crust, though. This pie look AMAZING. I am going to give it a try! Thanks for linking to WellnessWeekend. 🙂

  9. Looks amazing. I’ve never heard of this kind of tofu though!

  10. Your pie looks amazing! Thank you for joining WHB.

  11. […] whittled my pantry down slightly. No more tofu, no more canned green peas, no more hazelnut butter. I polished off the frozen fruit with my […]

  12. I’ve yet to try a raw crust but really, how can you go wrong with dates and nuts? I love chocolate mousse, this looks so decadent.

  13. I am a huge fan of tofu but have never used it in a sweet dish. This looks so unbelievably good, how can’t possibly be so low cal & healthy. Brilliant! I am making this. It is a clever and inspired idea.
    Thanks for entering WeShouldCocoa with this 🙂

  14. This looks delicious! Just the thing for a Mother’s Day dessert!

  15. […] anyone shun the tofu in the chocolate-tofu mousse pie? [NOOO! Mom even said she wanted the […]

  16. […] from The Taste Space made an Almost Guiltless No Bake (Vegan) Chocolate Mousse Pie. Janet has come up with a very low calorie non-dairy type of cheesecake that both looks and sounds […]

  17. wow this looks healthy and delicious! I’ve made a chocolate tofu mousse and really enjoyed it – this is taking it to a whole new level! Will definitely be trying it out.

  18. This looks fabulous. I’ve looked for silken tofu before, but haven’t had any luck yet – must try harder, because although I love my dairy, it’s really good to have some delicious vegan recipes up one’s sleeve.

  19. […] reminded my of my highly-praised Almost Guiltless No-Bake Chocolate Mousse Pie, but instead of a chocolate tofu mousse, it is peanut flavoured. Instead of a bottom crust, I opted […]

  20. I just made this but I’m concerned I did something wrong-it came out really liquidy. What did I do wrong??

    • Hmm.. that’s hard to say. Did you make any modifications to the recipe? I know that the kind of tofu is very important – I like the firm silken tofu (you can’t substitute the traditional packed in water tofu). If you use soft silken it will be more mousse-like but not liquidy. It also firms up in the refrigerator, so maybe it just needs to wait longer? If all else fails, maybe throw it in the freezer to firm it up?

      • All I had was the Mori-nu soft silken tofu so that’s what I used-maybe next time I will try the firm silken. I left it overnight and it thickened up a little near the edges but it’s still loose to where when I make a cut the edges will slowly fill in the hole. The only difference is that I had to use a blender instead of a food processor, would that make a difference? Either way it tasted AMAZING! It was my first time EVER trying tofu and I will definitely try it again! 🙂

        Thanks!

      • Thank goodness it still tastes ok! Another option is to stick it in small cups and serve it as a mousse like I did for the peanut butter one.

        I think using a firmer tofu will help so please let me know how it goes! You could also play it by ear and reduce any other liquids you add like the almond milk, etc.

  21. […] options came easier to me. What kid wouldn’t like a chocolate mousse pie or banana soft-serve ice […]

  22. […] my Chocolate Mousse Pie which is almost guiltless, these cupcakes are completely guilt-free! While they may have you […]

  23. […] apples and berries. I have replenished my morning grapefruit stash. Dark chocolate, too: I made my Almost Guiltless Chocolate Mousse Pie. After this challenge, my tolerance for highly sweetened foods […]

  24. Oh. My. I just found this recipe from your top 12 of 2012, and I can’t wait to try it. We’re on a lower calorie diet at the start of this new year, and this looks perfect.

  25. […] I decided to turn to Katie of the Almost Guiltless No-Bake Chocolate Mousse Pie fame. […]

  26. […] chip chickpea blondies or chocolate mint black bean cookies. I have even gambled with (oh so good) chocolate tofu mousse pie with my family for […]

  27. […] to work with Katie’s recipe for Lemon Squares.  I’ve had a baked tofu cheesecake on my recipe to-do list for a while. However, I usually get distracted by other dessert […]

  28. […] While I initially agreed that simple fruit would an ample dessert, she asked if I would like the Almost Guiltless Chocolate Mousse Pie instead. Obviously, I thought it was a fantastic idea. All of my favourite […]

  29. Hi,

    I am about to try the recipe. But like in most recipe I cannot figure out EXACTLY the calories per ounce. You mention 156 (without crust) calories for 10. Does it mean 15.6 calorie per person? See my dilemna? It makes no sense to my “dense” brain lol . PLEASE tell me how many calories per ounce this chocolate mousse has, thank you. Mention (without crust) please. Thanks

  30. Thanks Janet – it helps but it means I have to do it first lol – thank you so much

  31. Exquisite! Like a dessert you’d get in a French bakery. Confession time: we cut it in 8 pieces, but still felt almost guiltless. The taste and texture are superb. Made it for the neighbor who thinks raw food is ridiculous, but she admitted the crust was perfect and that the mousse was incredible.

    I have told her before about your blog and all the recipes (not to mention the quality of the writing and photos). When I told her what you are doing and studying, her comment was “She must have more hours in the day than the rest of us.” Ummm, no—I am quite sure you have the same 24 hours she and the rest of us do—just that you use your free time in ways that she and other people don’t. It irks me when people feel threatened by excellence and by going outside the norm. I hate the word overachiever (has anyone ever used it about you?). I much prefer “high achiever” to give credit where credit is do and not act like doing/achieving a lot is pathological. No one ever says they don’t have time to watch television, but they definitely say it about exercise, cooking, socializing, reading, meditating, etc. Okay, rant over.

    • Ellen, thank you so much for your comment. Is my deflatedness coming off in my recent posts? 🙂

      Being in medicine means I am constantly surrounded by high achievers (good term, btw) and oftentimes work/life balance is not highly regarded, although it is more of a reality in pathology.

      I definitely make a priority for the important things in my life – exercise, food, family/friends, creative outlet on blog. I don’t have children of my own (yet) and no longer want to be chained to academia, so I have spare places where others don’t but also choose to use my time wisely, ie, not to watch any television, etc. In fact, I always want to do more… I have signed up to cycle to/from Ottawa-Kingston (356km over 2 days) 2 weeks after my oral exam. I am completely foregoing that as a realistic goal and focusing on my studying, which is more important. I constantly have to remind myself I cannot do it all. Well, it isn’t in my best interest to do it all all the time. I am much more go-go-go than Rob. He is a good balance for my craziness and takes it all in stride. 🙂

  32. oops—meant where credit is due, not do.

    • Oh, and I should clarify in case I don’t make it obvious enough: I am far from perfect! My Mom left us half a cake after my brother’s birthday and I had 3 pieces in one day… one with lunch, one with dinner and one as a late snack. It was the late snack that was the bad idea since it kept me awake at night. 😦

  33. […] time, I wasn’t planning on making ice cream. I was making a version of my Almost Guiltless Chocolate Mousse Pie: an almost guiltless chocolate mint mousse, sans crust. Which I did, and it is very, very good. […]

  34. Looks amazing! Just wondering what percentage cocoa you used for the dark chocolate?

  35. […] Check out this recipe: Almost Guiltless no bake Chocolate Mousse Pie […]

  36. […] Check out this recipe: Almost Guiltless no bake Chocolate Mousse Pie […]

  37. […] Covered Katie: Another blogger with mostly healthy desserts is Katie, which brought to me my Almost Guiltless Chocolate Mousse Pie, which was then turned into a Chocolate Mint Ice Cream. I also recommend her […]

  38. […] This is one great dessert that only took me few minutes to put together. It has a very rich taste, but if you are a dark chocolate fan then this is so perfect. There is no sugar, oils, eggs, flour,etc. It is a healthy pie to satisfy the sweet tooth. It is thick and creamy; it definitely fooled my family that it was made with firm tofu. The firm tofu gives it the thick, fluffy texture. So i will recommend to use this recipe: https://tastespace.wordpress.com/2012/04/20/almost-guiltless-no-bake-chocolate-mousse-pie/ […]

  39. […] we rallied for some dessert: chocolate mousse made using the pie filling from this recipe on the taste space blog. Rich and […]

  40. […] frosting. I ran with the bean-theme and used tofu as my base! It is similar but more firm than my chocolate mousse pie filling. I thought it was too sweet when I first tasted it but it mellowed out and firmed up considerably […]

  41. […] Light, airy and filling, it was a great end to a meal. It reminded me of a crustless version of my No-Bake Chocolate Mousse Pie. For both of them, silken tofu is used as the fluffy base but you’d never know there was a […]

  42. […] got this recipe from tastespace, and modified it to make do with whatever ingredients I could find lying around. Mainly, I made […]

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.