janet @ the taste space

Millet Granola

In Breakfasts, Desserts on June 22, 2012 at 6:16 AM

This week, Rob was uber busy at work so I decided to spice up his mornings with some new granola. Like me, Rob typically eats oatmeal for breakfast and it has been ages since he’s made granola. He used to be a granola fiend, but it was put on his back-burner after we moved in together.  Way back when, in his granola-making days, he bought millet for granola.  Instead, the millet made its way into savoury dinners.

I don’t remember which recipe gave us the idea to add millet to granola, but whoever did it first should be applauded. Crunch explosion! In a great way! It gave a crunchy-crispy texture to the toasted oats and nuts. For this version, I went with Rob’s favourite granola flavours: cinnamon, cranberries, coconut and almonds, but feel free to pick your own favourite nuts and dried fruit. Just don’t skip the millet, because that is what makes this granola special.

Even if you didn’t think you liked cooked millet (I will admit that it isn’t my favourite grain), this is probably my favourite way to eat it. Don’t let the birds enjoy all the millet. 😉

Other granolas we’ve made:

Low-Fat Winter Fruit Granola (my Mom’s favourite)
Crunchy Coconut Macadamia Granola with Honey
Olive Oil Granola with Apricots and Pistachios


This is my submission to this month’s Breakfast Club for cooked/baked, this month’s Bookmarked Recipes and to this week’s Weekend Wellness.

Millet Granola
Adapted from Eat Your Greens

2 cups rolled oats
1 cup millet (uncooked)
1.5 cups raw almonds, roughly chopped
1/4 cup sweetener (maple syrup, etc)- I used golden corn syrup (decrease if you don’t want it too sweet)
1/4 cup oil, melted (coconut oil, olive oil, etc)- I used salted butter for Rob
3 tablespoons brown sugar (I didn’t pack it)
1/2 teaspoon salt
2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1 cup dried cranberries
1 cup unsweetened shredded coconut

1. Preheat the oven to 300F.

2. Sort through the millet to make sure there are no pebbles or other debris.

3. In a large bowl, mix together the oats, millet, and almonds. In a smaller bowl, whisk to combine the sweetener, melted oil, brown sugar, salt and cinnamon. Drizzle the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients and stir to evenly combine. Spread evenly onto a rimmed baking sheet lined with a silpat and bake for 45 minutes or until deeply golden, stirring every 15 minutes.  Stir in the coconut and cranberries and continue to bake for another 15 minutes, until deeply golden and the coconut is lightly toasted. Let cool completely before storing in an airtight container.

Makes 5 cups.

  1. I’ve never thought to use millet in granola before, what a great idea!

  2. I ate this for breakfast today (with banana and almond milk). Crunchy tasty fun times!

  3. That’s what I call a fabulously mouthwatering granola photo!

  4. I love to learn something new. I have never made granola with millet, a grain that I love. This looks both tasty and healthy–and is something a little different for me! Thanks.

  5. I really love millet, it’s usually cooked down into a porridge for me, or sometimes I cook it fluffy sort of like couscous and use it for salads. This is a great idea as I’ve recently bought a HUGE pack of millet from the health food store. Is it safe to consume millet uncooked like that though? I don’t know, I liken it to using uncooked rice grains, which feels wrong, but when i liken it to nuts and toasting it it feels alright… hmm.

    • It is definitely safe, just make sure you pick out any non-millet from it first. I look at it akin to toasted grains, liked puffed rice or amaranth except it is more toasted than puffed. 🙂 Although, I agree that I wouldn’t want to put rice in my granola, either. 😉

  6. I have a bunch of leftover millet and it’s not that I don’t like it, it’s just that I hardly ever make a grain as a side dish. This sounds like a great way to use it up!

  7. I add millet in muffins, granola bars, etc!

  8. Aww how sweet is it that you made this for Rob! I’ve never been much of a granola gal but in Seattle I had it on Greek yogurt for breakfast every day and fell kind of in love. So maybe that was my gateway drug…

  9. I made some granola bars with millet recently that looked a lot like this recipe! I loved the crunch that it gave them, although they didn’t hold together all that well. Maybe they would have been better as just a granola like this instead of the bars!

  10. […] Millet Granola from The Taste Space. I recently tried a granola recipe with millet in it and just loved it–adds such a great crunch! […]

  11. […] Millet Granola from The Taste Space. I recently tried a granola recipe with millet in it and just loved it–adds such a great crunch! […]

  12. […] used millet again for a nice crunch along with toasted almonds. In this parfait, I tried to separate the granola from […]

  13. […] So, I have a confession to make: I didn’t know how cool Millet was until today. I didn’t even know what it looked like!  See below if you don’t either. I have had a bag of Organic Hulled Millet in my panty going on about 6-9 months or so.  I’m not a person to just throw money around and buy things I don’t need, especially organic whole grains! But, I really did have every intention of learning how to prepare this gluten free grain.   I just didn’t run into a whole lot of recipes for it, I tried reaching out, so then I gave up on it for a little while. But, that was pre-Pinterest!  And it was before I found THIS recipe for Millet Granola. […]

  14. […] Millet Granola from The Taste Space. I recently tried a granola recipe with millet in it and just loved it–adds such a great crunch! […]

  15. […] decided to try my hand at making homemade millet granola. I used this recipe (mostly) but my dried fruits included cherries and apricots (because I am an apricot nut) instead […]

  16. […] is always a popular choice for breakfast and this Millet Granola comes to us from The Taste […]

  17. […] I have shared a few recipes with it, I loved it most of all popped and found in granola. This time, I was intrigued by Meghan Telpner’s millet crust. Soak and cook millet, then […]

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.