janet @ the taste space

Raw Vegan Smoked Salmon and Scallion Cashew Cheese Cucumber Rolls (Aux Vivres Végé-Lox)

In Appetizers on January 6, 2013 at 6:06 AM

I wasn’t going to join in…

But then I saw this article co-authored by one of my former classmates debunking Dr Oz. I may have done a little cheer and a happy dance. I couldn’t keep quiet. Please read it and tell me what you think.

It seems like the new year ushers in the applause for “healthy” fasts and diets. I condone a balanced diet but not starvation. I don’t believe in miracle foods. While I tried a sweetener-free challenge last month, I am back to eating fruits and chocolate. Fruits are filled with vitamins, anti-oxidants and fiber and too good to pass up.

I am certainly not doing a juice cleanse. I was gifted my grandmother’s juicer, but have only made juice a handful of times so far. I juice because I like the taste of fresh juice. Proponents of juice cleanses focus on the increased consumption of vegetables (more than one could eat in their raw form), lack of fibre and a way to detox your body and lose weight. If you are not one to eat vegetables and enjoy juice, then yes, this could be a way to consume more nutrients found in vegetables but it does not replace eating whole vegetables. If you are healthy, there is no evidence that your liver, kidney or stomach needs a rest to assist removal of toxins. The higher glycemic index of juice (without fibre) may actually cause one to gain weight.

There is evidence, though, that vegan diets (moreso than vegetarian diets) protect against cancer. A study in BMJ from earlier this summer suggests that low carb/high protein diets are associated with an increased risk of adverse cardiovascular events, mainly exacerbated by those consuming animal protein. I recently added a link to Vegan Health on my side bar which has a lot of good information about nutrition advice for vegans, including supplementation (gotta get the vitamin B12), especially if consuming a raw food diet.

In any case, for those of you with a leftover juice pulp otherwise destined for the compost, or those with an excess of carrots, or those who rave about Aux Vivres‘ raw smoked salmon, this dish is for you.

My last visit to Montreal had me visiting the vegan restaurant for a second time. I have recreated their delicious Macro Bowl with tempeh, greens and a miso-tahini sauce, but also wanted to recreate their raw smoked salmon, or végé-lox as they call it. Made with carrot pulp and seasoned with red onion, parsley, dulse and liquid smoke, it is a delicious spread combined with their tofu cream cheese and capers. I used shallots and dill and added capers directly into the spread for a different twist. Instead of tofu, I went all raw with a scallion cashew cheese rolled into a light cucumber roll.

If you want something more sweet for your carrot juice pulp, I highly recommend these raw carrot cupcakes. What is your take on juice fasts? On miracle weight-loss products?

Any favourite recipes for juice pulp?

This is my submission to this week’s Raw Foods Thursday.

Raw Vegan Smoked Salmon and Scallion Cashew Cheese Cucumber Rolls (Aux Vivres Végé-Lox)

1 English cucumber
1 recipe Vegan Smoked Salmon (see below)
1 recipe Scallion Cashew Spread (see below)

1. Cut cucumber in half cross-wise and then make long cuts lengthwise as thinly as possible. Place a tablespoon of the cashew spread on the bottom and top with a tablespoon of smoked salmon pate. Take the other end of the cucumber and fold under the end with the pate. Fasten with toothpick if necessary.

Serves 4+ as a starter.

Vegan Smoked Salmon
Adapted from Ascent Magazine

1 cup carrot juice pulp (try grated carrots patted dry, too)
2 tbsp olive oil
1 tbsp lemon juice
1/2 tsp salt
2 tbsp dulse flakes
3-4 dashes liquid smoke
2 tbsp finely diced shallots
2-4 tbsp chopped dill
1 tsp chopped capers, rinsed if salted

1. Mix all ingredients together.

Scallion Cashew Spread

1/3 cup shelled sunflower seeds, soaked at least 1 hour
2/3 cup raw cashews, soaked at least 1 hour
3 tbsp fresh lemon juice, or to taste
2 tbsp garlic chives, chopped
2 tbsp green onions, green parts only, chopped
1 garlic clove, minced
1/2 tsp white miso
1.5 tbsp nutritional yeast
1/4 tsp salt
2-3 tbsp water, or to thin to desired consistency

1. Rinse soaked seeds and nuts until the water runs clear. Pulse nuts and seeds in a food processor fitted with its S-blade along with the lemon juice until smooth. Add remainder of ingredients and pulse to combine. Thin with additional water if desired.

Makes 1 cup.

  1. Loved the article about Dr. Oz. Especially liked where they talked about his joyless diet. That’s why I like your recipes: healthy and joyful/vibrant eating.

    I never actually liked fish, but Andy did and has since given it up, so this may be a nice reward for his going veggie a couple of years ago (best anniversary gift I ever got!).

    Janet, did you get my e-mail with the recipes? If not, I can resend…

    And glad you are back to chocolate and fruit, speaking of joyful eating (and good for us as well who follow your blog).

    • I really like how you put that, Ellen: joyful eating. It is true, I love everything to do with eating! Grocery shopping (I hate all other forms of shopping), decided on a recipe, experimenting, sharing and eating said food. Without the pleasure, I couldn’t imagine spending so much time devoted to healthy eating. 🙂 Btw, I got your recipes, but haven’t had much downtime lately to write a proper email back. but I really appreciated the email. THANK YOU! 🙂

  2. Yeah, I would pretty much ignore anything that told me to cut out fruit and chocolate, ha ha. 🙂 Vegan Health is an awesome resource, it’s pretty solid information. The smoked salmon roll-ups look wonderful, I can’t wait until I visit Montreal later in the year!

    • Oh, definitely put Aux Vivres on your hitlist when visiting Montreal. And the Jean-Talon Market.. there was a raw vegan ice cream shop we wanted to visit but it was closed when we went… if you go, please tell me how it is. 🙂

  3. Is it weird that I now want a juicer just so I can make that smoked salmon? So cool! I love that is doesn’t have a ton of sodium to flavor it. I can’t eat “real” smoked salmon due to that.

    • Hehe, you are too funny. You could probably make a similar sort of concoction by pureeing the carrots in the vitamix and then straining them like nut pulp? But I found t amusing how it was more the texture and seasonings that we associate with smoked salmon (capers, liquid smoke) than the actual real dish. That’s why I find raw food so fascinating! 🙂

  4. Eye-rolling and disgust is my take. On the juice fasting and weight loss pills, not your recipe, that is! I adore capers and dulse so I’m all for your recipe 🙂

  5. Oh my god I HATE Dr OZ! I think he’s the absolutely worst. I can’t believe he pretends to be a real doctor and tells the public these ridiculous think with AUTHORITY. It’s absolutely awful.

  6. I’m not vegan and never want to be but I do like veggies and get a kick out of some of the vegan recipes/dishes out there. This looks wonderful.

  7. I think juice fasts can be beneficial but no necessary! I love the taste of juice too so that would be my main reason for wanting a juicer.

    Love this use of carrot pulp! I would definitely think to go sweet so I love the savoury twist 🙂

  8. Who knew vegan was this sexy?

  9. I looked all over for dulse flakes at our local mega-Korean store…couldn’t find them! And I definitely don’t want to attempt this recipe without them. Have nori and wakame, but they wouldn’t be quite right, correct?
    I will need to buy dulse flakes at the local natural foods warehouse….guess Asians don’t use dulse?

    • Now that I think about it, it is true – I have only seen wakame and nori at the Asian grocers (much cheaper) but dulse, kelp and arame only in the natural food stores. I think dulse or kelp granules could work here but nori would probably be the closest sub but not ideal. I put a bit of wakame in my latest soup and boy a little goes a long in imparting its seaweedy-flavour. Probably best not to use wakame, either, unfortunately. 😦 Save the recipe for a rainy day when you stumble upon dulse flakes. 🙂

  10. Bravo, hip hip hooray, and three cheers, Janet. One of the reasons I love and admire your blog is that you are not an extremist: you’re a whole foods eater, but you don’t shun oils, you don’t eat a 10% fat diet, you can do mild challenges but you don’t commit to life without eliminating sweetness. I think you set a great example for your readers of eating a wholesome and thoughtful diet, but not taking things radically overboard. As someone who has flirted with every kind of extreme and has learned a lot from it, I try to do the same.

    Beautiful recipe, too. As you know, I am always using juice pulp in everything! From crackers to pate.

  11. […] mentioned basic vegan nutrition in my earlier post, but this book is chock-full of advice navigating the murky scientific waters of vegan nutrition. […]

  12. […] I know better. I aim to create meals that are properly nutritionally balanced, aiming for more than 50g/d. Knowing that my major sources of protein are from beans, leafy greens, […]

  13. […] neutral. This way, they can equally be paired with homemade nutella, vanilla blueberry chia jam, vegan smoked salmon, rosemary cashew cheese, or a nacho cheese sauce. Or go even more travel friendly with a simple […]

  14. […] cup scallion cashew spread (omit the nutritional yeast if you don’t want a cheesiness to it) 3-8 tbsp water, to thin to […]

  15. […] resto with cooked foods, and quickly recreated their macro veggie and tempeh bowl and their raw vegan smoked salmon. I also stumbled upon Crudessence, a longstanding raw restaurant and really enjoyed my meal. I […]

  16. […] Raw Vegan Smoked Salmon and Scallion Cashew Cheese Cucumber Rolls (Aux Vivres Végé-Lox) – from the Taste Space […]

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.