janet @ the taste space

Carrot Ginger Lime Soup with Sweet Potato Hummus (& What to do with leftover roasted sweet potatoes)

In Favourites, Mains (Vegetarian), Sides, Soups on January 15, 2013 at 5:49 AM

Carrot Ginger Lime Soup

Some people hate leftovers. (hi Mom!)

Personally, I love them. I enjoy freshly cooked food, but I love not cooking after work even more.

This is how to re-purpose leftovers into something new. The best of both worlds?

Pre-roasted sweet potatoes can be integrated into different meals.

They can easily be added to your salad of the week, but for something a bit more different, add them into a curry-flavoured sweet potato hummus for a filling dip or sandwich spread. Even though I added lemon juice to Gena’s recipe, I found it lacking the tang and bite I associate with traditional hummus. In retrospect I probably should have added some garlic, too. Still a nice dip for crackers and veggies and it travelled well while snowshoeing.

Tired of hummus leftovers? Run out of crackers and veggies? Already added it to your sandwich/wrap?  Trust me, there was a time when I couldn’t finish a batch of hummus within a week, so I understand. But now, I make a batch nearly every week. Carrots and hummus were my dessert of choice on my sweetener-free challenge.

In a land of plenty (and deficiency), you become creative. We had run out of roasted sweet potatoes but still wanted to make this carrot ginger lime soup. Of course, the reason we ran out of sweet potatoes is because I put them in the sweet potato hummus. So why not use the sweet potato hummus instead of the sweet potato? My only qualms about Tess’ original recipe for the soup is that it isn’t a meal-in-a-bowl. I prefer filling soups. Hummus, with the additional beans and tahini, adds the much needed protein and fat. A few crumbled Mary’s crackers and I had a delicious meal. One I wanted to remake hummus just to slurp the soup again when I returned home. Because it was that good and I wanted a photo to share, too.

Either way you make it, this is a simple soup. Boil nondairy milk with carrots until they are soft. Bake your sweet potato or go all out and make some sweet potato hummus. Then combine it along with ginger and lime in your blender. The cilantro topping is completely optional. Creamy, flavourful. A new way to enjoy hummus. Boo-yah! 🙂

Here are some other carrot soups that I’ve had my eye on:

Roasted Carrot and Lentil Soup with Harissa and Mint
Carrot and Roasted Red Pepper Soup with Miso and Thyme
Moroccan Carrot Soup
Carrot Soup with Ginger and Lemon
Carrot Soup with Miso and Sesame at Smitten Kitchen
Carrot Soup with Tahini and Crisped Chickpeas at Smitten Kitchen
Carrot and Tahini Soup at Joanne Eats Well With Others
Carrot Ginger Soup with Tahini at Cara’s Cravings
Creamy Orange Sunshine Soup (Carrot/Orange/Ginger/Cashew) at Oh She Glows
Curried Carrot Parsnip Soup at Eating Appalachia

Carrot Ginger Lime Soup

This is my submission to Deb for this week’s Souper Sundays, to this week’s Weekend Wellness, to this month’s Credit Crunch Munch hosted by Helen and Camilla, to this month’s No Croutons Required with soups/salads featuring leftovers and to this month’s Herbs on Saturday.

Carrot Ginger Lime  Soup with Sweet Potato Hummus
Adapted from Radiance 4 Life (recipe also posted here)

1 cup sweet potato hummus (see below) or 1-2 cups sweet potato, chopped (and consider adding 1 tbsp tahini, 1 tbsp lemon juice, 1/2 tsp toasted sesame oil, 1/4 tsp curry powder, 1/2 cup cooked chickpeas for a more filling soup)
2.5 cups carrots, peeled and chopped
2-3 cups nondairy milk (plain and unsweetened – I have used soy and almond milk with good results)
2 tbsp ginger root
1 tbsp fresh lime juice (half a lime)
2 large cloves garlic, minced or pressed
1.25 tsp salt, or to taste
1/4 cup chopped cilantro (optional)

1. Make the sweet potato hummus or bake the sweet potato if you haven’t already done so (400F for 25-30 minutes). Set aside to cool.

2. In a medium pot, place the carrots in 2 cups of the nondairy milk. Cover and bring to a boil over medium-high heat. Reduce heat to low and simmer, uncovered, until the carrots are tender, around 20 minutes.

3. Place the sweet potato hummus (or baked sweet potato) in a blender along with the carrots and milk. Add all of the remaining ingredients (except the cilantro). Blend well, until very smooth. Add additional nondairy milk until you obtain the consistency you desire. If desired, top with cilantro prior to serving.

Serves 4.

Sweet Potato Hummus
Adapted from Choosing Raw

1 cup leftover baked sweet potato
2 cups cooked chickpeas, with reserved cooking liquid
1 1/2 tsp toasted sesame oil
3 tbsp tahini
1 tsp curry powder
1/4 tsp salt, or salt to taste (depends on saltiness of your beans)
1/4 cup fresh lemon juice
garlic cloves, consider adding to taste

1. Warm up your chickpeas. Place all ingredients in a food processor or blender and blend until smooth. Add reserved bean cooking liquid to achieve desired consistency.

Makes 3 cups.

  1. Many thanks for sending this to Crerdit Crunch Munch. What a beautiful soup and perfect for using up all those leftovers and avoiding any waste!

  2. Yum this soup looks fantastic! I love carrot soup and the lime and ginger sound so different!

    I love leftovers too- they make lunches sooo much easier!

  3. What an intriguing recipe. I love this combination of sweet potatoes, a favorite vegetable, with hummus. Thanks for sharing.

  4. Thanks for the link love! Yum, I need a bowl of that hummus in front of me, stat!

  5. I love how vibrant that soup looks! Last year I was swimming in sweet potatoes–really could have used the recipe then. Might have to adapt for butternuts for this year. Mm!

  6. Love your photography and what a fantastic way to use up leftovers. I hate food waste! And a perfect entry for this month’s Herbs on Saturday – thank you so much for entering 🙂

  7. […] Carrot Ginger Lime Soup with Sweet Potato Hummus from The Taste Space […]

  8. Ohhhh… that reminds me I have miso carrot ginger soup in my freezer! love these flavors together. And the ummus! I’m always mushing sweet potato with stuff to make spreads, but I havent’ actually done a true hummus. Must try!

  9. Sweet potato hummus? I definitely need to try that! I too love to have leftovers on hand–especially soups. They’re so easy to just throw in the freezer for the next time you don’t want to cook, but do want to eat dinner. 🙂

    • Absolutely, Eileen. Fully cooked leftovers form the freezer are great. I don’t eat them as much as I should though. I plan to unearth a lot of forgotten meals over these winter months though… this way I can shun the grocery store altogether without missing out on vegetables. 🙂

  10. What a fabulous combination of flavours you have here, a super soup! Thank you for entering it into Credit Crunch Munch:-)

  11. That is just too clever Janet. I adore the idea and hope to try it soon, even if I just make the hummus to start. I can’t say if I would have enough leftovers remaining to create the soup. It ALL sounds so good. Thanks for submitting this to NCR.

  12. I’m blushing a bit because I have some leftover hummus in my fridge right now. What a great idea to turn it into a bowl of soup! I might even add a sweet potato to it. Mmmm. Thanks for the inspiration!

  13. This looks so easy I think even I could do this! I’m going to be getting my veggies from the farm on Thursday so if I get carrots I’m definitely making this!

  14. I am drooling! The soup looks soothing and delicious!

  15. […] tangy curried mustard concoction. I love how salads like this only improve with a longer marinade. Leftovers, for the […]

  16. What a great idea and way to use up your leftovers. 😉 The soup looks creamy and delicious–thanks for sharing it with Souper Sundays. 😉

  17. […] Carrot Ginger Lime Soup with Sweet Potato Hummus from The Taste Space […]

  18. […] leftovers made into soups.  This time Janet added leftover sweet potato hummus to her carrot ginger and lime soup! Zesty and […]

  19. […] with a Maple-Mustard Dressing – 15-Minute White Bean and Kale Soup – Holy Shiitake Lentil Soup – Ginger Lime Carrot Soup (with Sweet Potato Hummus) – Roasted Garlic Tofu Salad with Cilantro Rice, Black Beans and  a […]

  20. […] curries, bean and quinoa skillets, and couscous pilaf, I have also added it to tofu chowders, sweet potato hummus, balsamic roasted veggies, kabocha squash flatbread, curried-mustard dressing,  raw pineapple rice […]

  21. […] freezer fruits. Vegetables are commonly added to sauce to make them smooth (cauliflower, zucchini, sweet potato and roasted tomatoes come to mind), and I have even added carrots to smoothies before (for […]

  22. […] Raw, where she shares gorgeous food that is still down-to-earth, delicious and easy. I have made many of her recipes (there are too many to count, ok plus these, too), and I have bookmarked many […]

  23. […] Carrot Ginger Lime Soup with Sweet Potato Hummus […]

  24. […] vegetables? Try this pumpkin hummus. Lighter than traditional hummus, and no doubt, similar to this Sweet Potato Hummus, I preferred this as a base for a wrap/sandwich then straight-up dipping. Top with some vegetables […]

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.