janet @ the taste space

Thai Sweet Potato and Kabocha Squash Stew

In Favourites, Mains (Vegetarian) on November 11, 2013 at 6:48 AM

Thai Sweet Potato and Winter Squash Stew

I have mastered eating leftovers, which is the ultimate way to cook for one. I did not really think I would cook differently while Rob was away, but towards the end of nearly 5 weeks without Rob, I had little interest in making complete meals.

And then, suddenly, when I knew Rob would return (again), all I wanted to do was make something for him to enjoy.
(I just became disinterested in cooking while he was away; Rob had limited use of a kitchen while away)

Thai curry for Rob! With sweet potatoes! And Kabocha squash! AND PEAS! (Rob loves peas!) AND COCONUT! (he likes that, too)

Thai Sweet Potato and Winter Squash Stew

I have already shared with you the main ingredients (plus WHITE BEANS! yay!) so you can imagine the delicious taste of flavours.

The sweet potatoes and Kabocha squash are roasted separately to bring out their sweetness and keep their shape. I don’t like green peas as much as Rob, but I really liked them here, next to the creamy roots. The red curry paste was not overwhelming, and really, I should have added more for Rob’s palate, but I played it safe so I could savour it, too. Instead of using a flour to thicken it up, I simply simmered it longer until it was a nice creamy coconutty consistency.

Thai Sweet Potato and Winter Squash Stew

Joanne’s tantalizing original recipe was actually for a Thai-inspired potpie with a pumpkin biscuit topping, which I am sure would have been lovely… but hey, baby steps, here. This was a glorious curry, even without a topping.

Thai Sweet Potato and Winter Squash Stew
To return the favour of delicious food, I had to ask Rob to photograph the leftovers. If I thought the lack of daylight after work was bad before the daylight savings switch, there is now no way I can make it home before darkness now. So here, is Rob’s signature style photo… because as he puts it, he wants to SEE THE FOOD:

Thai Sweet Potato and Winter Squash Stew

This is my submission to Deb for this week’s Souper Sundays, to this month’s Four Seasons Food Challenge for one-pot wonders, to this month’s Bookmarked Recipes and to this month’s No Croutons Required for blogger inspiration.

Thai Sweet Potato and Winter Squash Stew
Adapted from Joanne Eats Well With Others

2 lb kabocha or other winter squash, washed, (peeled if not kabocha), and sliced into 2-cm slices
1 lb sweet potato (2 small), cut into chunks
1 tbsp olive oil
1 onion, diced
2 cloves garlic, minced
4 tsp red curry paste (or more to taste- Rob’s tastes could have used more)
1.75 cups light coconut milk (1 can)
1 cup water
1.5 cups cooked white beans, rinsed if canned
1.5 cups fresh or frozen peas
1.5 tbsp Bragg’s or soy sauce
brown sugar, to taste

1. Preheat oven to 450F.  Drizzle squash and sweet potato with oil and sprinkle with salt. Place on a baking sheet lined with a silpat and bake for 45-50 minutes or until tender. Once cool, chop the squash into bite-size pieces. This can be done in advance.

2. In a large pot over medium-high heat, heat oil.  Add onion, stir and sprinkle with salt. Saute until softened and translucent, around 5 minutes. Stir in garlic and cook 30 seconds more, until somewhat fragrant.  Add in red curry paste and stir it onto the bottom of the pan. Cook for 30 seconds, until fragrant.

3. Deglaze pot with coconut milk. Add water and stir to combine. Stir in white beans, peas, cooked squash and sweet potatoes. Stir in the  soy sauce and brown sugar.

4.  Bring to a boil, reduce heat and simmer for an additional 15-20 minutes until the sauce has thickened to your liking. Adjust seasoning to your preferences – salt, sweetener and curry paste.

Serves 4.

  1. You are so adorable! What a thoughtful way to welcome Rob home 🙂

    This sounds delicious and I LOVE peas! They are just so creamy. Mix them with squash, sweet potato ad curry and you have yourself a winner!

  2. Of course you need to SEE THE FOOD! This food was really good.

  3. I’ve officially started having to cook exclusively in the morning because of the lack of light. It’s crazy! And a little sad. I love what you did with the potpie!

  4. I just had impure thoughts about this stew.

  5. Gracious! Another one I want to make. Keep on cooking Janet.

  6. Mmmm mmmm. Lots of my favourite ingredients here- beans, sweet potatoes, squash, coconut and most definitely peas!
    I don’t understand peope who don’t like leftovers. If you liked it the first time how can it not be good again?!

  7. I am trying not to buy anything but produce for the next while, in efforts to clean our my pantry. I have almost all these ingredients; can’t wait to try it!!

  8. Lovely looking and sounding curry/stew you have there, Thai red curry flavour always rocks with me!. Great idea to pre-roast the sweet potato and squash first, not only cutting down on cooking time but adds hugely to the flavour no doubt. Thanks for linking up to the Four Seasons Food challenge, another super-tasty offering! This lack of light is really annoying isn’t it, my photos are dreadfully yellow tinted in the evenings. Ahrr.

  9. This look fabulously hearty and good! Loving all the red curry paste lately. 😉 Thanks for sharing it with Souper Sundays.

  10. […] layers. Brrr…really wishing I had managed to find in one store all the ingredients for the stew I’ll be making tonight. Perhaps after another cup of liquid courage (a.k.a. hot hot coffee), […]

  11. Made this today and it was fantastic. I’d also add some more of the curry paste for my tastes. What type of white bean exactly did you use? I used cannellini, and am wondering if I should try the Great Northern type next time.

  12. Hmmm I’m never quite sure what to do with kabocha squash. This is a very creative sounding recipe and I can’t wait to try it out =)

  13. Woah this looks so good! Sweet potatoes and curry are two of my favorite foods so I’ll have to try this!

  14. I wouldn’t mind tucking into that right now Janet! Lucky Rob! You’ll be glad to have him back. Graham was only away for a week and I really missed him. Mind you with a kitten, a toddler and everything breaking down while he was away it wasn’t the best week.

    Thanks for entering it into Bookmarked recipes, the roundup is now up.

  15. This looks so good! Definitely going to have to give this a try.

  16. […] glorious veggie option came from The Taste Space and her fragrantly flavoured Thai Sweet Potato and Winter Squash Stew, a dish I’d happily devour RIGHT NOW […]

  17. this was amazingggggggggggggggggggggg
    thanks!

  18. […] her movie role and kid’s name choices, this woman knows her food. Having already mastered a roasted yam and kabocha squash coconut curry stew, I was immediately interested in this slightly different version from a recent goop newsletter, as […]

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.