janet @ the taste space

Roasted Onion Flowers (Easy!)

In Sides on November 28, 2013 at 6:58 AM

Roasted Onion Flowers

Happy Thanksgiving for those celebrating it today.

Part of the reason I have not fallen victim to “what will I make for Thanksgiving?” thinking is that Rob and I are travelling for the weekend. I have been invited to no less than 3 separate Thanksgiving feasts, but instead we’re leaving America.

Roasted Onion Flowers

And yes, I realize today is Thanksgiving, which may be a bit late to share such a fun dish for Thanksgiving… although, I implore you to consider it for your next fancy dinner. It is ridiculously easy. Have some onions? Oil? Balsamic vinegar? Salt? I thought so!

I have been meaning to make these ever since Natalie shared them last year, but really they are roasted onions, cut whole and roasted such that they open like flowers. The pink ones are more pretty but I tried it with Peruvian sweet onions as well.

Roasted Onion Flowers

I packed them into a pan/skillet and roasted away. I actually forgot to remove the tin foil for the last 10 minutes, so they should be a bit more charred should you actually follow the directions. 😉

One onion obviously makes a lot of onion. So feel free to split them in half (or more) when serving. Although, I love onions, especially roasted onions, so I could easily eat the whole onion in one go.

What were your favourite dishes for Thanksgiving this year?

Roasted Onion Flowers

This is my submission to this month’s Bookmarked Recipes.

Roasted Onion Flowers
Adapted from LCBO Food & Drink via Once Upon a Cutting Board

4 onions (you want medium sized ones, any variety)
1 tbsp melted coconut oil
1.5 tbsp balsamic vinegar
salt and pepper, to taste

1. Preheat oven to 425F.

2. Peel onions and trim a small amount from both ends of the onion, so the onions will stand up. Keep the root intact so it holds together well. Slice onion into eighth but leave it connected around 1 cm from the bottom.

3. Place onions in a shallow dish and sprinkle with oil and balsamic vinegar. Season with salt and pepper to taste. Cover with aluminum foil and bake for 25-35 minutes. Remove aluminum foil and bake for an additional 10 minutes, until the onions have opened and are nearly tender.

4. To serve, place on plate and drizzle with any juice that has accumulated in the pan. You might think that eating a whole onion is a lot for one person, but it didn’t bother me! 🙂

Serves 4+.

  1. I love this idea! I’ve had whole roasted, stuffed onions before but these flowers are something else!
    Tasty too I’m sure 🙂

  2. this is brilliant and so beautiful too – definitely bookmarking this – hope you and rob have some fun travels

  3. Roasted onions are so tasty – wow, you’ve made them into a flower, I am impressed! Wishing you a fabulous holiday weekend!

  4. Holy crap that looks so fun to make!!! It kind of reminds me of a dish from Outback Steakhouse (my pre-vegan days – though mind you I still ate vegetarian) called a Bloomin’ Onion. Very cool.
    I think my fav dish this year was roasted brussels sprouts. Can’t get enough of those little green guys.

  5. These make for such a gorgeous onion presentation!!

  6. Such an amazing and beautiful side dish! Since I’m a fan of balsamic roasted onions these really have to happen over here.

  7. […] Roasted Onion Flowers (Easy!) via the taste space […]

  8. I’m not sure I want to eat these, but I could stare at the photos indefinitely, especially the first one (looks like a lotus flower).

    • Thanks Ellen. They are a bit fiddly to eat/cut so I simply resorted to eating them with my hands, eating one petal at a time.. although it was a good thing my Mom wasn’t here. She would not have been too pleased. 😉

  9. […] the taste), but Rob and I both knew something was up after we scoped out green tea for me to drink while in Mexico. Three days with a morning green tea […]

  10. That’s just brilliant! I love the red one. So pretty. Definitely going to try this. Can you just do one or two or do they need to be quite tightly packed. Mind you, if you had leftovers you could add the onion to all sorts of dishes. Thanks for submitting them to Bookmarked Recipes, the roundup is up and the new challenge open. It took me a while to get around to putting it up what with all my giveaways. Back to normal now thankfully.

  11. I must try these – I love roasted onions and the edge4s are my favourite bits. This way you get LOTS of edges. All the recipes I’ve seen before have used absolutely masses of oil, which has put me off, but this version uses a sensible amount. And they look so pretty!

  12. so pretty – I’ll try and remember this one.

  13. I can’t believe I missed this earlier (so behind in my blog reading!) but I’m so glad to see you made and liked these! Especially because your onions and photos of them turned out so much better than mine! 🙂

  14. […] entirely sure how to cook it, but I eventually decided to boil it first, then saute it with some leftover roasted onions. It may not have been authentic at all, but we enjoyed it […]

  15. Love this!

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.