janet @ the taste space

Cajun Beans and Greens

In Mains (Vegetarian) on January 22, 2015 at 7:45 AM

Cajun Beans and Greens

I planned on making this with grits.

Cajun beans and greens with grits. Obviously.

I even smuggled some grits home from Trader Joe’s when we left Houston.

Cajun Beans and Greens

As I prepped the ingredients for this quick and easy bean skillet, I nonchalantly brought out the grits. Another 30 minutes? No way the sun would last for them, so I photographed the beans as the sun quickly faded away and then waited for quinoa. I was worried I would have to tend to the grits continuous, like polenta, so I chickened out in the end.

Next time, there will be grits.

Cajun Beans and Greens

 

Cajun Greens and Beans
Adapted from Joanne Eats Well With Others

1 tbsp coconut oil
4 cloves garlic, minced
1 large bunch of kale, stemmed and coarsely chopped
1 cup vegetable broth
3 tbsp apple cider vinegar
1 tbsp vegan Worcestershire sauce
4 cups cooked white beans
1 tbsp smoked paprika
1 tsp garlic powder
1 tsp oregano
1/2 tsp Old Bay Seasoning
1/2 tsp Aleppo pepper flakes, or to taste
salt and black pepper, to taste

1. In a large skillet, heat oil over medium heat. Once hot, add garlic and saute until browned, around 60 seconds. Stir in the kale and saute until wilted, around 4-5 minutes. Deglaze with the vegetable broth and stir in the apple cider viengar, worchestershire sauce, beans, smoked paprika, garlic powder, oregano, Old Bay seasoning and chile flakes. Season to taste with salt and pepper. Bring to a boil and allow to simmer for 8-10 minutes or until the broth has reduced to your liking, stirring occasionally. Remove from heat.

Serve overtop grits, cooked quinoa or rice.

Serves 6.

  1. I take it you haven’t made grits. Grits are super easy and you don’t have to constantly stir like a risotto. We have found the secret to awesome grits is use 1/2 water and 1/2 milk of choice. If it calls for 1 cup of water use 1/2 cup water and 1/2 cup milk. I’ve used almond milk for the milk and total yum. I’m a Northern girl that has lived in the Deep South for 12 years and picked this tip up from a fabulous restaurant in Charleston, SC. PS, a true Southerner would never use instant grits!

  2. This sounds so delicious — with grits, quinoa or any other grain! I add aleppo pepper to just about everything so I’m delighted to see it in an actual recipe. Just got a big bag from Penzey’s.

  3. Yes! Beans and greens are exactly what I want on a cold winter night. And the grits (an/or polenta) sound like an excellent way to bump up the heartiness factor.

  4. You had me giggling during this post. Curse the early setting sun!! I’ve resorted to taking pictures after it has set for some meals and trying not to care too much.
    I’m actually not a fan of grits, so I like this just the way it is =)

  5. I made this for the family tonight and it was a hit. The taste is much different from the many, many bean dishes I have made. I think what made me want to try it was the Worcestershire sauce and Old Bay. Those are things I haven’t really needed in a couple of decades.I also wanted something new. Throw in the hippest of greens and I had to make it. I loved it but wondered how it would be accepted the wife and daughter. Wife loved it. What amazed me is the picky teen girl had seconds and grudgingly admitted it was pretty good.(she is not a huge fan of beans, which in a vegetarian household is problematic for her.) She thought to use Tabasco on the dish we agreed that is an excellent addition. The recipe is pretty easy to make and wonderfully different.

What do you think?

