janet @ the taste space

Pumpkin Caesar Salad with Sourdough Sage Croutons + Purely Pumpkin cookbook GIVEAWAY

In Book Review, Salads on February 26, 2017 at 7:34 AM

Purely Pumpkin - Pumpkin Caesar Salad with Sage Sourdough Croutons

Are you drooling from that first photo? Me, too. I didn’t take it, though. I still have plenty to learn about making drool worthy photographs, but right now my focus is on my family (hello new baby!) and work. Yes, work. I returned to work this week. I barely have time to cook, let alone blog, and as I perused my draft posts, I knew I had to share this recipe pronto.

Purely Pumpkin - Pumpkin Caesar Salad with Sage Sourdough Croutons

I first made this in the fall but this is a fabulous spring recipe, too, or even for the summer when the lettuce is fresh and you still have cans of pumpkin you’d like to use.

The toasted sage croutons were the highlight of the salad. They were seriously yum. The dressing has pumpkin and (vegan) Worcestershire sauce which Allison called this a pumpkin Caesar dressing, although I didn’t think it was that similar to Caesar dressing (I luuuuv this non-standard one, though). Together it was a nice salad infused with fall flavours.

Pumpkin Caesar Salad with Sourdough Sage Croutons

The recipe comes from Allison Day‘s latest cookbook bursting with all things pumpkin and gorgeous photos. I loved her first cookbook, Whole Bowls, which showcases vegetarian bowl foods, and this cookbook highlights vegetarian pumpkin recipes.

Curried pumpkin tofu calzones, heirloom pumpkin gnocchi with oven-roasted tomato sauce,  poppy seed pumpkin and mango salad rolls, silky pumpkin ginger soup with clementine and vanilla, mellow meyer lemon pumpkin curry bowls, delicata squash and arugula salad with pumpkin seed oil vinaigrette… yeah, she has her bases covered by teaching you how to cook with different pumpkins (including heirlooms, although you don’t necessarily need to use them), pumpkin seeds and even pumpkin oil. The recipes are unique and again, her photos are gorgeous.

Oh how I wish her Gingerbread Pumpkin Cheesecake with a Pecan Oat Crust was vegan, but most recipes can easily have the cheese or eggs omitted for vegan friendly recipes. Her chocolate pumpkin seed butter cups and vegan coconut-vanilla-pumpkin panna cotta look great and are vegan, although you would need egg substitutes for the majority of the dessert recipes that require baking.

Pumpkin Caesar Salad with Sourdough Sage Croutons

My baby just woke up, so I’ll end this quickly with a giveaway. More about work/baby/life in a later post.

Thankfully, the publisher allowed me to giveaway the cookbook to a reader living in Canada or the United States. To be entered in the random draw for the book, please leave a comment below telling me whether you are tired of pumpkins and winter squashes yet. The winner will be selected at random on March 12, 2017. Good luck!

 

Recipes from Purely Pumpkin spotted elsewhere:

Classic Pumpkin Spice Latte

Firecracker Stir-Fried Pumpkin, Bok Choy, and Cashews

Gingerbread Pumpkin Cheesecake with a Pecan Oat Crust

Heirloom Pumpkin Guide

Morning Glory Pumpkin Muffins

Roasted Jarrahdale Pumpkin and Onions with Lemony Whipped Feta

 

Pumpkin Caesar Salad with Sage Sourdough Croutons

Author’s note: A remarkably easier take on Caesar salad dressing that walks the line between cream-based and vinaigrette variations, pumpkin purée acts in lieu of raw egg yolks, emulsifying the dressing while keeping things bright—in both texture and color—and light.

For the Sage Sourdough Croutons

4 (1-inch) slices grainy sourdough bread, cut into large cubes
4 teaspoons extra-virgin olive oil
2 teaspoons dried sage
¼ teaspoon salt
ground black pepper, to taste

For the dressing and salad

½ cup pumpkin purée
¼ cup extra-virgin olive oil
¼ cup lemon juice
1 tablespoon Worcestershire sauce (vegan and gluten-free, if required)
¼ teaspoon salt
coarsely ground black pepper, to taste

1 head romaine lettuce, torn into bite-sized pieces or left whole to enjoy with a knife and fork

1. Preheat oven to 375ºF. On a large-rimmed baking sheet, toss all crouton ingredients until evenly coated. Bake for 5 minutes, toss, and bake for 5 to 10 minutes longer, until light brown and crisped. Set aside.

2. In a small bowl, mix all dressing ingredients.

3. If tossing salad, combine romaine, croutons, and dressing. Serve immediately. If enjoying with a knife and fork, mound whole romaine leaves on a plate, drizzle with dressing, and top with croutons. Serve immediately.

Serves 4.

  1. I love pumpkin and eat it year round. I add it to a sweet potato and frozen banana and blend it up. Delicious!!!

  2. I could never tire of pumpkin and winter squashes! I love delicata squash!

  3. I use pumpkins weekly and am venturing out with other squashes. My dog loves pumpkin also!

  4. Winter squash are wonderful! Throwing together a soup for supper last night, I didn’t have time to chop up a butternut squash, so I used sweet potato instead. Found myself wishing for the squash, though, when it was time to eat.

  5. I never get tired of pumpkin and winter squashes. Later today I’m making a Curried Crawfish Soup with butternut squash. The recipe calls for pumpkin, but I dislike dealing with a whole pumpkin. My store sells only cubed (fresh and frozen) butternut squash, so that’s why I use it.

  6. I love pumpkin and winter squash. I never get tired of them and cook with them all year round. Thanks for a chance to win a great giveaway.

  7. I have no idea why, but we’ve only bought a few winter squashes this year, so there’s no way I’m tired of them yet! Actually, that’s a good reminder that I should put it on my grocery shopping list… especially since the idea of curried pumpkin tofu calzones has me totally inspired! Thanks for mentioning that recipe from the book, and for offering us a chance at winning a copy of the book.

  8. I WILL NEVER EVERRRR BE TIRED OF IT! I can’t get enough pumpkin

  9. I am not a pumpkin fan, so I get tired of it really quickly. I substitute butternut or kabocha squash for pumpkin in recipes.

  10. I love pumpkin & winter squashes, but usually only eat them in season. My last butternut disappeared a few weeks ago, but I over-stocked (is that even possible?) on canned pumpkin this year. I’m using some later this week in a pumpkin curry soup. This salad sounds perfect for this time of year, with the salad greens already showing up at the farmer’s market and the temperature fluctuating so much from day to day.

  11. I never get tired of pumpkin or squash, even in summer they make great chilled soups. Which reminds me I think squash soup may be on the menu tonight!

  12. The sour dough/ sage crouton are such a genius idea! Love the simple yet creative salad you did! Looks delish!

  13. I like the sound of a pumpkin dressing – good luck with getting back into work!

  14. Sourdough croutons are an amazing idea!

  15. […] am trying to help you tackle your pantry and freezer. Last week was to help you use your hoarded pumpkin and this week, it is the summer pesto still squirrelled away in your […]

  16. I’m never tired of pumpkins

  17. I love pumpkin and I will never ever get tired of it!

  18. The dressing looks so good, I can totally see myself making that, especially for a buddha bowl! I’m not so sure about caesar, like you, but it looks tasty. Good luck with baby and work!

  19. No I’m never tired of pumpkin or winter squash!!!^_^

What do you think?

