janet @ the taste space

Dark Chocolate Banana Coconut Almond Cookies (aka Nikki’s Healthy Cookies)

In Desserts on May 20, 2010 at 12:03 PM


Undoubtedly, when you buy bananas regularly you can’t eat them fast enough and sometimes they turn brown a bit too fast. The question is what to do with those overripe bananas when you don’t really like banana bread? (Other than my delicious apple banana bread, of course!)

While I haven’t decided what to do with my current 2 bananas, I knew I had to share one of my favourite overripe banana recipes.  I spotted them on 101cookbooks where they were dubbed “Nikki’s Healthy Cookies”. Let’s ignore the term healthy cookie, because I don’t really think they exist.. I mean, these are filled with many wholesome ingredients with no butter, no eggs, no flour and no added sugar.  But let’s be honest, taste is what matters most. And these cookies deliver.

They have a slightly crunchy exterior with a soft and chewy centre. They don’t taste like your typical cookies, as they are lighter than most cookies but not exactly cake-like either. Straight from the oven, the melted chocolate dances on your tongue with the strong whiff of banana, which provides the soft texture. The ground almonds replace flour, making this a perfect treat for vegans and celiacs alike. I am not sure how long the cookies will last at room temperature because they never seem to last more than 2-3 days.

This is my submission to this week’s Weekend Herb Blogging hosted by Astrid from Paulchen’s Foodblog.

Dark Chocolate Banana Coconut Almond Cookies (aka Nikki’s Healthy Cookies)

3 large, ripe bananas, well mashed (about 1 1/2 cups)
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/4 cup coconut oil, barely warm – so it isn’t solid (or alternately, olive oil)
2 cups rolled oats
2/3 cup almond meal (or ground almonds)
1/3 cup coconut, finely shredded & unsweetened
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon fine grain sea salt
1 teaspoon baking powder
6 – 7 ounces chocolate chips or dark chocolate bar chopped

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees, racks in the top third.

2. In a large bowl combine the bananas, vanilla extract, and coconut oil. Set aside. In another bowl whisk together the oats, almond meal, shredded coconut, cinnamon, salt, and baking powder. Add the dry ingredients to the wet ingredients and stir until combined. Fold in the chocolate chunks/chips.The dough is a bit looser than a standard cookie dough, don’t worry about it. Drop dollops of the dough, each about 2 teaspoons in size, an inch apart, onto a parchment (or Silpat) lined baking sheet. Bake for 12 – 16 minutes, trying to bake them as long as possible without burning the bottoms.

Makes about 3 dozen bite-sized cookies (74 calories each).

  1. They sound delicious…I will be making them soon!!

  2. […] but not least we conclude this Weekend Herb Blogging with some cookies to take away: Dark Chocolate Banana Coconut Almond Cookies (aka Nikki’s Healthy Cookies) – oh and they are healthy too, what could we ask […]

  3. […] the gorgeous apple banana cake (the bananas entirely replace the butter and oil) or the delicious banana oatmeal chocolate cookies (no butter, no eggs, no flour and no added sugar). I have also used ripe bananas to make a super […]

  4. I made these and I liked them so much I decided to make them again today! Instead of almond meal I’m using gluten free flour, and almond milk. it’s really yummy.

  5. […] rolled oats and chia seeds add bulkiness and texture. It reminds me of a stovetop version of the Dark Chocolate Banana Coconut Almond Cookies I have made before, which are soft from the bananas, but here, you eat it right from the stove, […]

  6. […] However, these are not your fudgy, wudgy, dense cookies, either.  They reminded me a lot of the Dark Chocolate Banana Coconut Almond Cookies I’ve made before. Both are a light and fluffy cookie, more cake-like than […]

  7. […] cookies, beans or no beans. These are not fudgy cookies, but more dense than the airy banana-based cookies. A moist, fluffy cookie filled with chocolate. The chocolate mint version marries the […]

  8. I am so happy I found this recipe. These are the most AMAZING cookies I have ever made!!!

  9. […] 15. 101 Cookbooks: I wasn’t going to include my recommendation for Heidi’s blog because I am probably not telling you anything you do not already know. But I love her recipes, too, so this is where you should start eating: Warm Carrot and White Bean Salad with Dill, Sushi Bowl with Asparagus and Avocado, Green Soup with Ginger, Cranberry Bean Mole with Roasted Butternut Squash, and Nikki’s Healthy Cookies. […]

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.