janet @ the taste space

Chickpea Piccata

In Favourites, Mains (Vegetarian) on January 9, 2012 at 6:36 AM

While I typically bring food when I eat out, when I went home for Christmas, my Mom didn’t want me to cook. She wanted this to be a relaxing visit and thought that if I was cooking in the kitchen, I wouldn’t be on vacation. Trust me, I relish cooking, but it was wonderful to know that my Mom had already prepared some meals for me to enjoy.

Prior to arriving, at her request, I suggested a few possible meals. Some dishes that I had already made myself, but mostly dishes that I had bookmarked for a special occasion. My mom was so awesome that she went out of her way to make I didn’t feel left out: when everyone had her delicious quiche for brunch, she made my Mediterranean Crustless Chickpea Flour Quiche for me. For Christmas Eve, she made beef bourguignon for the gang and beans bourguignon for me.

For Christmas dinner, I had Chickpea Piccata on the menu. My recent meal at Candle 79 in New York City was a definite highlight with their delicious Seitan Piccata and I was itching to try something similar at home. But with much less work!

With a simple mise-en-place, this Chickpea Piccata from Appetite for Reduction, was easy for me to whip together as my Mom tended to the spaetzle to go with the rouladen.

Thankfully, this Chickpea Piccata did not disappoint. It had the perfect blend of flavours, with a not-too-tart lemon-caper-shallot sauce overtop braised chickpeas. I served it over spinach with a side of mashed parsnips. To be honest, for such a healthy meal, there is no need to reserve this solely for a special occasion. This definitely gets filed in the “You Can Make this For Me Anytime” category.

Chickpea Piccata
This is being submitted to this monthโ€™s Bookmarked Recipes, to this month’s citrus love blog hop and to Rickiโ€™s Weekend Wellness.

Chickpea Piccata

1 teaspoon olive oil
1 scant cup thinly sliced shallots
6 cloves garlic, thinly sliced
2 tablespoons whole wheat breadcrumbs (or crushed Mary’s crackers)
2 cups vegetable broth
1/3 cup dry white wine
A few grinds fresh black pepper, to taste
1/8 tsp dried thyme
2 cups cooked chickpeas, drained and rinsed if canned
1/4 cup capers with a little brine
3 tablespoons fresh lemon juice
6 cups baby spinach, or your favourite green

1. Heat oil in a large heavy bottomed pan over medium heat. Saute the shallots and garlic for about 5 minutes, until golden. Add the breadcrumbs and stir constantly for about 2 minutes, until they become toasted (they will darken in colour).

2. Add the vegetable broth and wine, salt, black pepper and thyme. Turn up heat and bring to a rolling boil and let the sauce reduce by 1/2, approximately 7 minutes.

3. Add the chickpeas and capers and cook for 3 minutes, until heated through. Add the lemon and turn off the heat.

4. Serve overtop your favourite green. A mashed side is also nice.

Serves 4.

  1. Aren’t mums great! This looks very yummy and fulfilling and I am loving all that garlic… mmmmm

  2. i’ve made the chickpea piccata from afr and enjoyed it, but i think i’d like this one even more ๐Ÿ˜‰ i just have to add a hefty side of veggies since this dish is lacking in them ๐Ÿ˜‰

    • Hey Caitlin, I think this is the same recipe…. but yeah, one can always use more veggies! ๐Ÿ™‚

      • ohh..ok, i thought the recipe looked a little different for some reason. i guess not! i remember it being a little sweet for my liking(i think it was the mirin), so i think i’d do all vegetable broth if i made it again. when i looked at the recipe earlier i thought that is what you had done, but on second viewing i see you listed the mirin as “dry white wine”. plus, the original called for arugula, which i don’t like at all. i very much prefer spinach ๐Ÿ˜‰

      • Ah, yes, I did sub spinach…. and I will have to check the actual AFR recipe to see if it lists mirin. I know the online version definitely calls for white wine.. but even veg broth could work fine. I think mirin would definitely make this too sweet! I actually was worried it would be too tart from the lemon juice – but it wasn’t at all. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  3. As someone who is attempting to go meat-free, I really love this idea! Those Mary’s Crackers are fantastic, aren’t they?

  4. I love the flavors of piccata and have been trying to figure out a veg-ize them…this is perfect! You’ve made my night, Janet!

  5. I made this for my parents over the holidays too, it was the first thing from my new cookbook that I tried! Everyone loved it (even my mom, who was afraid of trying anything from a vegan cookbook). I served it over spinach too, along with the caulipots. I did find i pretty acidic, but we all liked it that way (I think I accidentally added too much of the caper liquid).

  6. […] When I suggested recipes for my Mom to make over Christmas, she was a bit shocked when she found out a few were new recipes. One of the cardinal rules of cooking for guests is to never try a new recipe on unsuspecting guests. I have long abandoned that rule, though. […]

  7. What a fabulous sounding dish. I’m so glad you got to enjoy something so delicious and special during the holidays!

  8. I can honestly say it has never occurred to me to use chickpeas to make a picatta – I think I’ve been missing out! This looks awesome! Thanks for sharing it with #citruslove!

  9. What a thoughtful mom you have =) The recipe looks simple to make and delicious to eat…okay my stomach is growling now! I have to add this on my Pinterest soon!

  10. […] Chickpea Piccata from The Taste Space. I never did try chicken piccata back in the day, so this chickpea version sounds like a great new dish for me to try! […]

  11. […] my Mom made new recipes for me, with new-to-her ingredients (TVP-what? chickpea flour-oh my!), I also reciprocated […]

  12. […] Chickpea Piccata I love capers! I left the breadcrumbs out. Who needs them? This entry was posted in On My Plate. Bookmark the permalink. Share | […]

  13. I made this one several months ago from AFR and loved it–it hit all of the flavor notes I was looking for. I think I may need to make it again. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  14. I need to try this! Looks so yummy. You know I don’t eat meat but I’m so intrigued by that rouladen you linked to. There are pickles and mustard inside!! Yum.

    • Hehe, I know, Ashley. I have been brainstorming how to make some sort of pickle-mustard stew so I can get my rouladen fix without the rouladen. ๐Ÿ˜‰ I’ve seen seitan roulade recipes but not sure I want to go that route.

  15. […] Raw Raspberry Cashew Dreamcake for dessert. Or maybe Spinach, Orange, Yam Soup, followed by Chickpea Piccata with mashed parsnips and then cool off with Peaches and Blueberries with a Banana Soft-Serve Ice […]

  16. […] Smoky Split Pea Soup (I preferred this soup) – Hottie Black Eyed Peas and Greens (recipe elsewhere) – Chickpea Piccata – Red Lentil and Root Veggie Dal – White Bean, Quinoa and Kale Stew with Fennel – Braised Cabbage […]

  17. […] Chickpea Piccata from The Taste Space. I never did try chicken piccata back in the day, so this chickpea version sounds like a great new dish for me to try! […]

  18. […] Oats with Spinach and Sun-Dried Tomatoes and Crumbled Tempeh Tomato-Basil Zucchini Noodle Salad Chickpea Piccata Brown Sugar Cardamom […]

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.