janet @ the taste space

Raw Mango Paradise Bars

In Desserts, Favourites on February 22, 2012 at 6:55 AM

Just when I thought my week in the kitchen couldn’t get much worse, I broke it. Broke the unbreakable.

The indestructible blender stopped working. My Vitamix became silent.

Thank goodness they have a 7-year warranty. We’ll see how the repair process goes.

Pray tell, what the heck was I doing that broke my blender?

A Valentine’s Day dessert for Rob.

Innocent mangoes in paradise.

I was whipping up Mango Paradise Bars from Radiance 4 Life. I originally planned on making Tess’ Raspberry Star Bars, in the shape of hearts, pink for the cheesy day, but I didn’t have enough strawberries. Switching to mango bars was probably more in keeping with Rob’s tastes, so it all worked out ok.

After an overnight soak for the cashews, I decided to mix everything else together in my food processor. Since I wasn’t sure I could fit everything into my food processor, I transferred it to my Vitamix. Everything was going well….. the cashews and juice were a creamy pulp. I added everything else – agave,  melted coconut butter and the frozen mango. My blender was pretty full, so I turned down the speed, and used the plastic stick to help mix in the mango. It was mostly blended, but then it suddenly stopped working. I checked the plug. I checked the socket. The on/off was not working. Gah. Back into the food processor (two batches) for the final whipping.

I layered it into a large tupperware container and set it to freeze while I went to work. While they still needed to be frozen, I already knew the recipe had turned as I did a very thorough cleaning job (aka licking both blenders clean!).

After work, it had hardened into a delightful creamy bar. Basically a rich but still light-tasting cashew cheesecake, sans nut crust. For best results, let it thaw just slightly before devouring.

And you know what, it was better than the vegan Mango Cheesecake with a Raspberry Coulis from Prime.

Maybe my lackluster cooking streak has taken a turn for the better? If anything can turn your cooking into a positive experience, it is a Tess recipe!

(And thank you so much for all the encouragement, guys! It really means a lot to me!)


This is being submitted to this week’s Weekend Herb Blogging, hosted by Fragovila and to this week’s Weekend Wellness.


Raw Mango Paradise Bars

1 1/2 cups raw cashews, soaked overnight
1/4 cup fresh lime juice
1/2 cup fresh lemon juice (I didn’t have enough juice from 2 lemons, so I supplemented with extra lime and orange juice)
3 cups ripe mango flesh (I used frozen)
2/3 cup coconut butter
1/2 cup raw agave nectar
1/2 teaspoon sea salt

1. Drain and rinse cashews. In a food processor or blender, combine cashews with lime and lemon juices and blend until as smooth as possible.

2. Add the remaining ingredients and blend until very smooth.

3. Pour into a large dish around 9×14″ (I used a large tupperware container). Spread out evenly and cover. Place into the freezer for several hours until hardened.

4. Cut into 20 squares (or other fun shapes!) and serve icy cold, right out of the freezer, or allow to thaw for 5-10 minutes first. If you let it thaw too much it will turn back into a creamy mess. 😉

Makes 20 servings.

  1. A cliffhanger ending! What happened to the Vitamix!!? I can’t stand the stess! Thank goodness I have these delicious mango treats to medicate my pain!

  2. Oh no! Not the vitamix! I hope that the repair process goes quickly and smoothly for you. I ‘borrowed’ my mother in law’s neglected vintage vitamix when we started our vegan diet and I don’t know how I would live very long without it! The mango paradise bars look wonderful.

  3. Oh no! I thought the Vitamix was indestructible?

    These bars look amazing though. It’s been too long since I’ve worked with soaked cashews, but I love them.

  4. omigosh, these look amazing! i both have so much love for mangoes ❤ they are just such an amazing fruit!

  5. Sorry to hear about the vitamix.

  6. These sound delicious and they look so creamy! The tropical flavors would make a nice summertime dessert (or any time) and I love anything with mango 🙂

  7. Ooo yum I really want to try these. Sounds like a perfect summer dessert. That sucks about your Vitamix. 😦 Hope you can get it fixed quickly.

  8. Oh no! I’m SO sorry to hear about your vitamix. Thank god for the warranty is right!!

    I love the idea of a fresh-flavored cheesecake like this! And made with all good-for-you ingredients. Rob is one lucky man!

  9. What a nice idea for dessert, I love mango and cashews !

  10. wow, these look like little bites from heaven…the flavors?!! I have pinned this to give it a go!

  11. […] The Taste Space – Raw Mango Paradise Bars […]

  12. […] Phyllo Rolls with Balsamic Maple Sauce and finish it off with a Moroccan Orange Cinnamon Salad and Raw Mango Paradise Bars for a decadent birthday […]

  13. […] has been quite busy in the kitchen lately. In the span of a week, we celebrated Valentine’s Day, Rob’s birthday and our (2 year!) anniversary from our first […]

  14. […] For dessert, I was salivating the vegan Mango Cheesecake with a Raspberry Coulis. When I packed my risotto earlier, I wanted to make room for this dessert. However, it was bad. It was uber sweet but in a dry icing sugar kind of way. Turns out, I can make a better version at home anyhow (remember those Mango Paradise Bars?) […]

  15. […] Chickpeas (recipe elsewhere) – Pineapple Tempeh with Red Rice – Heavenly Raw Chocolate Sauce – Raw Mango Paradise Bars – Maca Chip Raw Energy Balls – Cacao-Cacao Chip Cookies (recipe elsewhere) – Dark Chocolate Mint […]

  16. […] specifically requested a new raw dessert. Apparently Raw Mango Paradise Bars weren’t […]

  17. […] specifically requested a new raw dessert. Apparently Raw Mango Paradise Bars weren’t […]

  18. […] am loving these quick-and-easy no-bake desserts. Here, you make a quick almond-date crust (I used the same one from my Raw Raspberry […]

  19. […] At home, Rob and I eat mostly the same stuff. Mostly vegan, although sometimes Rob eats yogurt and adds butter to his granola. There are some Rob-only ingredients, like the red and green curry pastes in the fridge (they include shrimp, so a definite no-go for me). There are some Janet-only foods, too, because Rob doesn’t really care for them- like my Amazing Grass for breakfast. For breakfast fruit, Rob gets the bananas and mangoes while I relish in berries. Rob loves spicy foods, so if cooking for himself, he usually increases the chilies. If cooking for both of us, they fall more into my own comfort zone (1/2 tsp Aleppo max!). Rob also has a sweet tooth and is pretty content to munch through the rare dessert that I make. […]

  20. […] from The Taste Spaces shares another mango recipe! This Raw Mango Paradise Bar looks easy to make and even easier to […]

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.