janet @ the taste space

Sarah’s Raw Brownie Speckled with Almonds

In Desserts on March 28, 2012 at 5:38 AM

Still interested in winning recipe #5?

To recap:

1. Plantain, Cabbage and Coconut Curry with Split Pigeon Peas

2. Carolina BBQ Jackfruit Pulled “Pork” Wraps with Pickled Red Onions

3. Pineapple and Cucumber Guacamole (Guacamole Con Piña y Pepino)

4. Raw Sweet Potato Mushroom Sliders

5. Sarah’s Raw Brownies!

Of course, Rob needed dessert for his party.

Rob specifically requested a new raw dessert. Apparently Raw Mango Paradise Bars weren’t enough! 😉

I had been eyeing Sarah’s recipe for Raw Brownies and figured a rich chocolate dessert would appeal to the masses. While a cashew-based dreamcake would have been nice, too, I wanted to try something different.. and gasp, something even easier to make.

5 ingredients.

1 food processor.

chill.

devour!

As a make-ahead dessert, this couldn’t have been easier. And the results were great. Fudgy raw brownies. Not too sweet due to the raw cacao powder with great texture from the partially chopped almonds. You can’t really compare them to traditional (baked) brownies, but they are delicious in their own right.

I smushed the batter into a 9×9″ tupperware container and while it doesn’t look like a lot of food, these are very rich and filling. When serving, do yourself (and your guests) a favour by making small pieces.

This is my submission to this month’s Bookmarked Recipes, to Ricki’s Weekend Wellness and to this month’s Cook.Eat.Delicious-Desserts for Wholesome Desserts.

Sarah’s Raw Brownie Speckled with Almonds
From My New Roots

2 cups whole walnuts
1 cup raw cacao powder
1/4 tsp salt
2.5 cups Medjool dates, pitted
1 cup raw unsalted almonds, roughly chopped

1. In a food processor, pulse walnuts until they are finely ground.

2. Add the cacao and salt and pulse to combine.

3. Slowly add the dates one at a time through the feed tube of the food processor while it is running. The mixture should resemble coarse crumbs but stick together when pressed. If the mixture does not hold together well, add more dates, or alternatively some water if you think your dates are too dry.

4. In a large bowl, combine the walnut-cacao mix with the chopped almonds. Press into a lined cake pan, mold or container (I lined a square tupperware container with plastic wrap for easy removal). After it is chilled, it is easier to cut. Store in fridge or freezer. Can serve chilled or at room temperature.

Serves 15+.

  1. That looks perfectly fudge-y and decadent. And dangerous to have around the house. 😉

    Must make this weekend…

  2. Oh. My. God. Once I am off this candida diet I cannot WAIT to try these! They look so densely delicious!

  3. I’ve learned when making…alternative…desserts, it’s best to just not compare and to appreciate for what they are. These sound like fudgy delicious larabar-like treats to me…which I love!

  4. These really do look fantastic, and I’m sure they taste it too–and rich. Alas, no Medjool date has lasted long enough in my house to make it into any recipe whatsoever. I’d have to use the dry crusty unappetizing-looking ones which I suspect would lack the stupendousness of that cadillac of dates, Medjool, in a recipe like this.

    • Do you just eat the dates plain, Zoa? Sometimes I like stuffing Medjool dates with cocoa nibs as a snack. Yum!

      • Do I just eat them plain? Why, yes, as a matter of fact I’ve never eaten Medjool dates any other way. I think I’d probably implode or something if I teamed them up with chocolate…deliciousness overdose!

  5. Mmmmmmmm I definitely need to try these!

  6. made some today but mine were a little moist.. still, they tasted well rolled up into balls. The perfect after exercise treat. Oh, and I substituted the cacao powder with coco powder and the medjool dates with soaked dried dates.

    • OOh, thanks for the feedback. My mom wanted to know what it would taste like with regular cocoa powder and regular dates, so I will have to let her know. 🙂 Now that I am back into biking, I agree, this would be great on my rides! 🙂

  7. […] there is this recipe for raw brownies from Taste Space.  Five ingredients no added sweeteners; and I thought, you know that could work as the base for a […]

  8. […] am loving these quick-and-easy no-bake desserts. Here, you make a quick almond-date crust (I used the same one from my Raw Raspberry Cashew […]

  9. These look gorgeous Janet, a great entry for Bookmarked Recipes. I am just typing it up now.

    Jac
    Tinned Tomatoes
    x

  10. […] max!). Rob also has a sweet tooth and is pretty content to munch through the rare dessert that I […]

  11. […] was drawn to this recipe immediately after Cara posted it. It reminded me of a souped up Raw Brownie with a heavenly base of walnuts, dates and cocoa. However, to make this a protein power star, there […]

  12. […] they do that? This goes beyond salads. Silky smooth lasagnas, luscious chocolate hazelnut cakes and brownies. This does not taste remotely like raw foods. Then I immediately want to try to make it myself. New […]

  13. […] with Mexican Mango Dressing, Grilled Balsamic Portobello Mushrooms, The Best Lentil Salad Ever, Raw Brownie, Mexican Chocolate Spiced Black Bean Brownies, Raw Raspberry Cashew […]

  14. […] The brownie was delicious and it was amazingly fudgy and moist for a raw/no-cook dessert. Unlike my walnut-based raw brownie, this was lighter in texture due to the coconut flour (but more fudgy than my raw chocolate […]

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.