janet @ the taste space

Raw Alfredo Sauce with Basil, Cherry Tomatoes and Zucchini Noodles

In Mains (Vegetarian), Salads on April 17, 2012 at 6:00 AM

So the joke’s on me.

70% chance of rain yesterday. I hate rainy Mondays because I have to go all over the place, with 5 destinations yesterday. If I took the subway, I’d need a day-pass!

I plotted the forecast and took my chances.  No rain! I beat the weather demon!

I lost the meal planning, though. Instead of rain, turns out it was 27C with 70% humidity. It felt down-right tropical. I was cycling around in my shorts and top, it was that awesome. When I got home, I wanted a light and crisp salad! No chili, thank you kindly.

As the summer alternative to my High-Protein Creamy Roasted Cauliflower Alfredo Pasta, I went totally raw with a light and fresh raw alfredo sauce with basil and sun-dried and cherry tomatoes smothering zucchini noodles.

Trust me, this hit the spot.

Utterly delicious. The sauce is bright with the lemon, creamy from the cashews yet still light since it is thinned with water. Miso adds that lovely fifth dimension.

I threw in some vegetables I had hanging around (cherry tomatoes, carrot, cucumber) as well as fresh basil. Gena has also paired this with tempeh, which I might add next time. Because this recipe is definitely worth repeating.

For those of you interested in my commuting challenges, I had a real quandary today. As you know, I enjoy Steve’s downtown spinning classes on Mondays. Except I had to be at work early, so there was no way I could do both.

I was up a bit earlier than usual, so I decided to try the 0630 spinning class at my old gym. With a 9km commute just to get to the gym, that meant I was leaving home around 0545. You see, this gym has an intense and awesome spinning culture. This is where I fell in love with spinning. The regulars are incredibly supportive. Kind of like where everyone knows your name. Indeed, despite not being there since I moved (10 months ago), I was greeted on a first name basis.

I still get the weekly emails (it even has its own member-driven website with instructor AND member profiles!) with interesting news and stories, guests instructors (aka subs but sounds so much nicer, eh?) and the ever elusive sign up trends. Over the winter, it was not unheard of the spinning classes to fill up 30 minutes before the class started throughout the week, INCLUDING the 0630 classes. I used to be a regular in Dave’s classes, so I completely understand, but that’s intense. Now that the weather has been nicer, the 0630 classes finally weren’t filling up at 0600, so I figured I could try my luck at the Monday class if I showed up 15 minutes early.

Suffice it to say, I have a new Monday morning spin class love. So completely different than any of my other classes, with a focus on cardio and core training, I loved the diversity. Furthermore, I loved being back with the gang, with all the hooting and hollering. It is one of the most boisterous spinning groups I have ever been with.

I will admit that one drawback of our new (upcoming) home, is the serious lack of gyms nearby.  I had planned to continue with the gym close to work, but since my old gym is just a minor detour away (still 10km away, though), I may just end up there instead. We’ll see how it goes!  I usually wake up at 0530, but this may require an even earlier start to the day. Obviously I am not thinking clearly at the moment, haha! 😉

As for Monday morning Steve? He may turn into Friday morning Steve if I meander to a different gym. 😉

Anyhow, the moral of the story? Take a risk. You might find a new love.
(Btw, there is no risk with trying out this delicious sauce. You will be smitten, too. Spinning can be a bit hit-or-miss, I understand).

This is my submission to this week’s Presto Pasta Nights, hosted by Ruth, to this week’s Healthy Vegan Fridays, to this week’s Weekend Wellness and to this month‘s Simple and in Season.

Raw Alfredo Sauce with Basil, Cherry Tomatoes and Zucchini Noodles
Adapted from Choosing Raw

1.25 cups cashews, soaked for a few hours, rinsed and drained
1/2 cup water
1 tsp agave
1/3 cup fresh lemon juice (I used 4 small Meyer lemons)
1/2 tsp sea salt
1 tsp white miso

4 zucchinis, spiralized (or your favourite cooked pasta)
1 large carrot, chopped small (1/2 cup)
1/2 cup basil, chiffonaded (packed)
12 sun-dried tomatoes, soaked in hot water and julienned
1 cup cherry tomatoes, halved
1 cup cucumber, diced

1. Place the soaked cashews, water, agave, lemon juice, salt and miso in a blender and blend until smooth.

2. Combine vegetables in a large bowl. Toss with sauce, adding as much as you like. Store remainder of sauce in the fridge.

Serves 4.

  1. This is such perfect timing – I just make a commitment to eat a little more raw AND happened to have bought most of these ingredients yesterday. Can’t wait to try it out! Beautiful pics.

  2. The gym nearby in my nieghborhood is the mountain peak. No gyms here just 1200 acres of hiking trails. The only being I passed on my workout yesterday and a gigantic Elk. He was pretty cool and just walked away slowly. The sauce and pasta dish are lovely.

    • Connie, I am jealous of your amazing maze of backyard trails… and the gentle elk! We missed snowshoeing season here since there was no snow at all… but I love winter and summer hiking. 🙂

  3. This looks so light, fresh, and just so appealing. My husband would love it.

  4. That’s a summer-dinner-ono-the-back-patio dish if I’ve ever seen one! Love unconventional “noodles” as well, so looking forward to trying this one out.

  5. I’m looking forward to making this! Thanks for the recipe.

  6. I’m definitely always reticent to try new gym instructors but I really do think you end up getting a better workout when you mix-and-match a little since each instructor has their own biases and preferences. Whenver we have a sub, I end up INFINITELY more sore than when I take my usual classes, no matter how intense they are. So I totally get it!

    I love taht you’ve offered a creamy sauce for both seasons…now no matter what I can get my fix!

  7. Welllllll….. I’ll leave the spin classes to you, but I will dig into that gorgeous pasta with no pasta. Thanks for sharing with Presto Pasta Nights.

  8. […] Janet @ The Taste Space posted this recipe for her Raw Alfredo Sauce with Basil, Cherry Tomatoes, and Zucchini Noodles, I knew I had to try a […]

  9. Delicious! I made this for lunch today! Looking forward to the leftovers for lunch at work tomorrow. I also made the almost guiltless chocolate mousse pie for dessert tonight, it is chilling in the fridge. I sneaked a few tastes along the way…heaven!

  10. […] Janet from The Taste Space over in Canada sent across this delightful dish of Raw Alfredo Sauce with Basil, Cherry Tomatoes and […]

  11. i’m doing paleo and this is awesome! I didn’t know that you can make “pasta” out of veges LOL but what i dig is the sauce!

  12. love the sound of this sauce!! i love cashew based vegan sauces like this. and i’m happy to see no nutritional yeast in there (not sure if that’s allowed in raw food anyway).

  13. […] daunted by a special diet request, I mustered up a few suggestions (Raw Zucchini Alfredo, Raw Tacos skipping the onion in the salsa, Thai Tempeh Wraps with a Mango Ginger Sauce, Sushi […]

  14. […] going to give up producing!?  Exciting times in the kitchen as I finally got round to trying the Raw Alfredo Sauce with Basil, Cherry Tomatoes and Zucchini Noodles  recipe from Taste Space.  Mostly exciting because I got to play with my new toy, the […]

  15. This meals looks fantastic Janet!!! I’ve been having a craving for alfredo noodles! MMmm

  16. I’m doing a little dance here. I’ve been eating high raw/vegan for the last two weeks and needed a fabulous recipe like this to inspire me this weekend. Thank you! Please come share at Raw Foods Thursdays!

    http://www.glutenfreecat.com/2013/04/raw-foods-thursdays-41813/

    Have a great weekend!

    Heather

  17. […] she shares gorgeous food that is still down-to-earth, delicious and easy. I have made many of her recipes (there are too many to count, ok plus these, too), and I have bookmarked many more to […]

  18. […] and healthy. I highly recommend her Curried Chickpea Salad with Carrots, Mustard-Miso Dressing, Raw Zucchini Alfredo, Raw Carrot Cupcakes, and Greek Lemon and Quinoa Avgolemono Soup and there are many others I have […]

  19. […] 4. Raw Alfredo Sauce with Basil, Cherry Tomatoes and Zucchini Noodles […]

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.