janet @ the taste space

Garlic-Roasted Chickpeas in a Creamy Lemon-Dill Dressing

In Mains (Vegetarian) on June 20, 2012 at 6:21 AM

I like to think of myself as a self-taught cook. Although, technically, I took the introductory course in George Brown College’s Culinary Arts Program a few years ago. Exploring new vegan meals through cookbooks and blogs has been the real way that I have learned so much about cooking and my kitchen. I continue to share my recipes, hoping to share the little tips and wisdom that I have picked up on the way.

While I am fairly adept in the kitchen, the garden still remains a mystery to me. Sun, shade, companion plants, pests and bugs, oh my! Then there’s the proper way to grow them, how to feed them water and other nutrients… and finally how to properly harvest. It feels like there are so many things to learn about even after picking out the so-called “easy” plants I want in my garden.

Last year we had our first garden and not everything was successful. This year, in a new home, a new garden, we decided to keep things simpler: potted herbs, beans, zucchini and kale in the garden with more kale and collards interspersed amongst the garden. Then there’s the impulse buy of kabocha squash. Four tiny plants have morphed into GIGANTIC plants, seemingly overnight (hey, we were in Colombia). After a month, my plants are at least 5 feet long, with numerous flowers. Upon further reading, I am kind of regretting the purchase. Most people recommend covering the plants to keep away the pests. They suggest opening the covers for only 2 hours so that the blossoms can be pollinated, it must be pretty bad. Furthermore, did you know that squashes need to be dried while on the vine? Kabocha squashes, in particular, need to be stored initially at a high temperature and then again at a cool temperature for long-term storage? Sounds like these crazy vines are staying here all summer, oh my!

Another mystery to me is that I cannot seem to grow dill. Dill weed. It is supposed to be so prolific many consider it a weed. Both this year and last, my seeds did not sprout. This year, I also bought some seedlings. After returning from Colombia, they disappeared. I am guessing they died. I know they don’t like to be transplanted, but I was hopeful. Oh dear.

My other herbs are doing well, so I will have to rely on the grocer (and friends!) for my dill fix.

Have an abundance of dill? Or just a lover of dill? Definitely try these garlic-roasted chickpeas with a creamy lemon-dill dressing. It had been a while since I’ve had pan-roasted chickpeas, which were a favourite of mine 2 years ago, so I decided to break them out with this creamy lemon-dill dressing from Angela. She used it with tofu but the garlicky chickpeas worked well, too. This was glorious fresh from the pan, but due to the creamy nature of the dressing, it was absorbed by the chickpeas as leftovers and became a bit dry. If you think you might be going the leftover route, consider only adding the dressing just prior to serving.

Anyone have tips for growing dill weed? Should I try again?

This is my submission to this week’s Weekend Herb Blogging, hosted by Simona, and to this week’s Weekend Wellness.

Garlic-Roasted Chickpeas with a Creamy Lemon-Dill Dressing
Adapted from Oh She Glows

1 tbsp coconut oil
2 cloves garlic, thinly sliced
2 cups cooked chickpeas, rinsed and drained if canned

1 garlic clove, pressed or minced
3 tbsp fresh lemon juice (1 lemon)
1 tbsp tahini
1 tbsp dill pickle juice (or water)
1.5 tsp nutritional yeast
1 tsp extra virgin olive oil
3/4 cup fresh dill weed, large stems removed & roughly chopped

1 cup quinoa, for serving if desired + 1.75 cups broth

1. If making quinoa, start it first. Bring vegetable broth to a boil over high heat. Once boiling, add quinoa. Reduce the heat to low, cover and simmer until all of the liquid is absorbed, about 15-20 minutes. Keep covered for an additional 5 minutes to steam. Set aside.

2. Meanwhile, in a large non-stick pan over high heat, heat the oil. Once hot, add the garlic and saute for 1 minute until lightly brown. Add the chickpeas and cook until browned, stirring every few minutes. This will take around 8-10 minutes. You may need to decrease the heat if they start to burn.

3. Meanwhile, prepare your sauce. In a food processor, combine the garlic clove, lemon juice, tahini, dill pickle juice, nutritional yeast, olive oil and dill. Pulse until well combined and smooth.

4. Once the chickpeas are browned, remove from heat. Toss with the sauce just prior to serving. Serve warm with quinoa or your favourite grain. This dish is best eaten fresh.

Serves 4-6.

  1. Don’t feel bad – I kill everything. Even mint. THAT is a feat. 🙂

    The salad looks fabulous! I have made a renditions of Angela’s salad before too and it is amazing. I’ll have to try out your version too.

  2. I am obsessed with dill! I love that you used dill pickle juice in this- maximize that dill flavour 😉

    I’m definitely bookmarking this- I can always use more dill recipes to fuel my addiction!

  3. Oh, the garden. I love gardening, but I really do find success to be unpredictable. There are just so many factors that can affect the harvest–and although it’s simple to start, it takes ages to get to any real proficiency. Don’t feel bad–you can do it!

    I heart dill, so I will definitely be keeping this recipe in the back of my brain–thanks!

  4. I grow dill, the Fernleaf variety is compact and tastes really good. I also grow a taller variety, Dukat, because I love the flowers and so do the insects. This year I’m also trying Vierling, which they say is good for cut-flower use. My Fernleaf is ready to eat, so I should try this recipe! I tend to use cilantro and parsley most often.

    • I think I had fernleaf but alas, nothing to harvest. I adore cilantro, but it bolted last year, but I replanted it anyways from seeds. We’ll see how it fares! Sadly, my Vietnamese coriander plant (supposed a perennial) died over the winter.. or maybe I pulled it thinking it was basil. Oops. Anyways, let me know how you enjoy it! 🙂

  5. I love vietnamese coriander, I grew it inside this winter but the bugs(scale) really love it, so I decided to get rid of it. Try planting a row of cilantro every week so you have it throughout the season since it bolts so quickly.

  6. Also, if your cilantro bolts, you could let it flower and go to seed and collect the seed either green or dried. I’ve never let mine go that far before, but this year I hope to get some green coriander seed.

    • That definitely happened to us last year but I can’t remember what we did with the seeds. In Colombia they eat the bolted leaves, so I guess that works, too! I should definitely go plant some more where the other plants have disappeared. Thanks for the tip! 🙂

  7. Gasp! These photos perked me up but quick. Clever, clever idea to add pickle juice to dressing. I don’t normally think of dill with chickpeas, but think again I will.

    (BTW, I haven’t forgotten about you. Crazy busy lately, and now waiting for heatwave to let up before I get out door. Rest assured, nice things coming your way. ; ))

  8. Yum! Sounds like a great way to use that big can of chickpeas I just opened. Especially since one can only consume so much hummus 😉 Thanks for sharing.. and good luck with the gardening!

  9. i did have a lot of luck growing dill on my window…but I have no idea what I did right. i think it was mostly luck. I love that woodsy flavor though and these chickpeas seem so tasty!

  10. I have some dill so I will definitely remember your recipe the next time I cook chickpeas. As for gardening, yes, I do have dill and did not plant it: last year I let a couple of plants go to seed, so I have some that came up where they liked. However, I have had the same experience of being told that such a plant would do well in my garden and it didn’t. Plants have their own reasons for staying or not. If one doesn’t work, I try another. Thank you so much for your contribution to Weekend Herb Blogging.

  11. I love these photos! The lemon-tahini-dill sauce sounds delicious, and I like that you used it for chickpeas and quinoa instead of tofu

  12. […] is this uber delicious tahini balsamic dressing that I spotted at Choosing Raw. I am loving all things tahini lately and balsamic remains one of my favourite vinegars, so I was eager to try out […]

  13. Is there a substitution for dill? I don’t have fresh dill.

  14. […] a Mushroom Gravy and Kale, Warm Lentil, Bulgur and Vegetable Skillet with a Lemon-Tahini Sauce, Garlic-Roasted Chickpeas in a Lemon-Dill Dressing, Blueberry Vanilla Chia Jam, and Peanut Butter Mousse with a Chocolate Magic […]

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.