janet @ the taste space

Warm Balsamic Rosemary Cabbage Salad

In Favourites, Salads on November 15, 2012 at 5:47 AM

You know you are a food blogger if…

According to this list, I am not a very good blogger. I can only relate to:

3. You’ve made kale chips. And there is a recipe for it on your blog.
I’ve made kale chips but it is not on my blog. Or does my kale chip pizza count?

6. You take the same photos of the produce at the farmer’s market that you did last year, but you can’t help it. The rainbow chard is so pretty!
I don’t recall actually doing this but I could see myself doing and saying this.

7. You really are confused as to why granola is so expensive at the grocery store.
Uh yeah, especially when it is so easy to make at home.

8. You go shopping with your significant other, and at some point, while looking for a specific item on your grocery list, you turn to him/her and say “We need to shop at a white person grocery store.”
Sounds like something I could say but I don’t think I have. In my defense, ethnic grocery stores don’t carry nutritional yeast!

9. When dining out, no one is allowed to eat the food until you have whipped out your camera/iPhone/Android and taken a shot of it first.
Rob and I both do this!

11. You scope out restaurant tables at lunch with proximity to windows to provide natural lighting for your Rob’s photographs.
If the light isn’t right, I don’t even try taking a photo.

19. You have run out of room for your cookbooks. Yet you still buy more.
Guilty, as charged.

21. You think Pinterest is a godsend as well as the devil’s work.
Absolutely.

27. You start to get nervous when you are down to only one pound of butter, one bag of flour, one head of garlic, or one onion.
But is that really because I am a food blogger or just a meticulous cook that likes garlic and onions?

9/40. I fail. 😉

I have others suggestions: You know are a food blogger when you can’t NOT make a new recipe, when you make meals during the day to help take photographs in natural light, or you have a special spot dedicated for food photography.

I never really thought much about blogging and my life, 3 years – has it really been that long?, until I tried to stop blogging.

I recently went to a party and planned to keep things low stress. I would make a repeater recipe: My Crunchy Cabbage Salad with an Orange-Tahini Dressing. However, I knew I could eat half of it, so I decided to double the recipe. After I cut all that cabbage, it seemed like a heck of a lot. Even if there would be 12 people at the party. So I reverted back to my die-hard blogger instincts and made a second salad instead of doubling the original salad.

This is the second salad. Which I photographed before the party and repackaged. Because who would share a cake with a piece missing at a party? (#24) Only if it is my own party! And really, I just claim the first piece. 🙂

While cabbage haters would likely not be pleased with 2 salads, both featuring cabbage, I was glad that I brought both (just like kale salads, cabbage salads keep well as leftovers). The Orange-Tahini Cilantro Cabbage Salad is bright and flavourful but this second salad was warm and earthy. Onions and garlic are pan-fried along with cabbage that is gently cooked to remove some of its bite. Granny Smith apples add tartness and sweetness along with raisins. Tossed with rosemary and balsamic vinegar, you have a simple salad that is more than the sum of its parts. I used green cabbage which became a bit muddled from the balsamic vinegar. My suggestion would be to use white balsamic if you have it or use purple cabbage instead.

The salads had mixed reviews. Personally, I preferred the new salad but the guests seemed to prefer my old stand-by.

How do you know that you are a food blogger?

Warm Balsamic Rosemary Cabbage Salad

This is my submission to this month’s No Croutons Required for special salads for guests, to this week’s Weekend Herb Blogging, hosted by Lynne, to this month‘s Herbs on Saturdays and to Deb for this week’s Souper Sundays

Warm Balsamic Rosemary Cabbage Salad
Adapted from 101 Cookbooks, via My New Roots

1 Tbsp extra-virgin coconut oil
1 red onion, diced
3 medium cloves garlic, thinly sliced
1 pound cabbage quartered and cut into thin ribbons (I used green cabbage, but red would be prettier)
2 tbsp balsamic vinegar
2-3 tsp fresh rosemary, minced
1/4 cup raisins (optional)
1 crisp green apples, chopped into chunks (I used Granny Smith)
1/2 cup nuts or seeds (I forgot and it was still good!)
fine grain sea salt and pepper, to taste

1. In a large skillet, heat oil over medium heat. Add onion and saute for 5 minutes, until beginning to soften. Sprinkle with salt and add garlic. Stir and cook until garlic is lightly brown, around 1 minute. Stir in the cabbage and cook, just for 1-2 more minutes, until the cabbage softens up slightly.

2. Stir in the balsamic vinegar and stir to coat. Remove from heat and stir in rosemary, raisins and apple. Season with salt and pepper. Just prior to serving, stir in nuts/seeds, if using.

Serves 4.

  1. I think I’d really like this salad! When this challenge is over, I’m totally trying it!

    That “you know you’re a food blogger when…” post is so funny! I definitely am guilty of some of them 🙂

    • I think you might, too, Gabby. :)I can’t wait to see how you put your own spin on it. I obviously made it before the challenge and I actually forgot to add the apples.. it was definitely missing something…. then I added the apples and it was so much better.. Can’t skip them here without adding sweetener elsewhere.

  2. That “white person” grocery store comment cracks me up. I do get annoyed when I have to go to the “regular” store.

    Apple and cabbage is such a great combo. I can’t believe I’ve never use balsamic with that combo! I’d have to use red apples though – the green make me squirm!

  3. That is gorgeous. Thanks so much Janet for submitting this.

  4. Yeah, I’ve been foodblogging for almost six years, and only 4 or 5 things on that list actually apply to me. Although a few more are “almosts.” Ex: when I made kale chips, they stabbed me in the roof of the mouth repeatedly–why would I write about them? 🙂 This salad looks great–I love cabbage, underdog of the food world.

    • We are probably just more mellow bloggers… recreational bloggers doing it for fun.. or possibly not as neurotic? 😉

      I agree, I love cabbage and can usually get 4-5 recipes out of one monster head of cabbage. One can never have too many cabbage recipes. 🙂

  5. I got 25 out of 40…soo…yeah. I agree with your add-ins though! I totally cook dinner in the morning or during the day because the light is better. And take photos of it on my windowsill. In my bedroom…because the light is better. 😛

    • Joanne, you and I have the same photographic set-up! Bedroom windowsill, HA!! 🙂 I once tripped bringing the food upstairs to the bedroom… Thankfully after the photo, but that meant we didn’t end up eating that portion after all! 🙂

  6. Guilty on all accounts! I love the combo of flavors in your cabbage salad-the red onion, balsamic vinegar, raisins and apples all work wonderful as a foil for the sauteed cabbage. I have a half cabbage in my fridge now and all the ingredients for your salad, too! Thanks for submitting your recipe and lovely image to WHB #360.

  7. I’ll have to check out the whole quiz–I am the same on most of the ones you mentioned. 😉 This is such a great seasonal salad–love the crunchiness and sweet tang of the apples. Thanks for sharing it with Souper Sundays this week.

  8. Nice to discover your blog, interesting/creative recipes. And great use of cabbage, never had them this way.
    I’m not a blogger according to the list…

  9. You know I am on this huge cabbage kick right now and I am LOVING it in salads. What a delicious recipe!

    • Cabbage power! Cabbage is $1 for a huge head right now so even one cabbage leaves me will tons of cabbage inspiration. Last year I went nuts with cabbage but we’ll see if I can control myself this year. 🙂

  10. This sounds like the sort of salad I would like, I do like my cabbages! Thanks for entering Herbs on Saturday.

  11. […] how with this blogging blooper, I inadvertently turned more blogger, with a recipe for kale chips. […]

  12. […] some of her recipes are simple. I highly recommend her Raw Chocolate Milkshake, Mojito Smoothie, Warm Balsamic Rosemary Cabbage Salad, Crunchy Cabbage Salad with Orange-Tahini Dressing, Raw Tacos, Chickpea Salad with Mexican Mango […]

  13. […]                                                                  Warm Balsamic Rosemary Cabbage Salad from the taste […]

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.