janet @ the taste space

Smoky One Pot Beans and Bulgur with Kale

In Mains (Vegetarian) on February 3, 2013 at 11:59 AM

This year, I have traded my cookbooks for textbooks.

One of the textbooks I need to know like the back of my hand can be a tad dry. All 1464 pages. I can only read about molecular pathways or the causes of cardiomyopathy for so long before I need a break.

But then, as I was reading the nutrition chapter, I swear, this is what it said (I quote):

Even lowly garlic has been touted to protect against heart disease (and also against, devils, werewolves, vampires, and, alas, kisses), although research has yet to prove this effect unequivocally. Of these, the effect on kisses is the best established!

I wonder whether I can bring up devils, werewolves and vampires on my oral exam for full marks? Or just kisses since they have more evidence against them? They didn’t cite their source, though…

Thank goodness, my love of garlic hasn’t kept away kisses from Rob.

My love of garlic has a long history. My love of raw garlic began with Tess. My love of Rob fits in between these two.. In length, but surpasses them all by quantity and quality, of course. 😉

Raw garlic isn’t as scary as it seems. Chili lime noodles, 15-minute zippy garlic-basil marinara, lemon asparagus quinoa toss, and many other dishes that add garlic at the end of cooking instead of at the beginning. It adds a brightness to any dish.

This is another garlicky dish from Tess. A quickie dish that I can make after work. Easily modifiable to your pantry surpluses.  Tess uses rice and beans, but bulgur and cooked beans make this an even simpler dish. It has been a while since I’ve gushed over bulgur, but sometimes I forget until I unearth it again from my pantry.  Smokey from liquid smoke, creamy from a touch of oil, snappy with some nearly raw garlic and wholesome with some shredded greens. Beans + grains + greens, a force to be reckoned with.

Smoky One Pot Beans and Bulgur with Kale
This is my submission to Deb for this week’s Souper Sundays and to this month’s My Legume Love Affair, now hosted by Lisa.

Smoky One Pot Beans and Bulgur with Kale
Adapted from Radiance 4 Life

1 cup coarse bulgur
2 cups stock (or 2 cups water with 2-3 tbsp vegan bouillon powder like Chicky Baby Seasoning)

1.5 cups cooked beans (I used Yellow Indian Woman beans here but red kidney beans and chickpeas are good, too)
1 cup thinly sliced, destemmed kale (Swiss chard is good, too)
4 cloves garlic, pressed
1 tbsp extra virgin olive oil
3/4 tsp liquid smoke

1. In a medium pot, bring 2 cups of water+seasoning/stock to a boil. Add bulgur, cover and reduce to a simmer for 15-20 minutes, until nearly all liquid has been absorbed. Stir in beans and kale and cook 5 minutes more, until kale has wilted. Stir in the garlic, oil and liquid smoke. Turn off heat, plump with a fork, cover and allow to steam.

Serves 6.

  1. This is fast slow food. Delicious, one pot heaven that promises nutrition AND comfort food factors all rolled up in one recipe. Love it…taking it…making it 🙂

  2. This looks very hearty and very good. Beans, greens and bulgur are a great combo. 😉 Thanks for sharing with Souper Sundays.

  3. My aunt swears that she lowered her blood pressure solely by eating raw garlic every day..not sure that I TRULY believe that but I suppose it couldn’t hurt. I certainly can’t get enough of it! Or of bulgur! Great dish.

  4. It’s true. Eating garlic hasn’t scared me away from Janet or Janet kisses 🙂

  5. Great idea for Kale!

  6. Haha I love when textbook writers remember to have a sense of humour, because texts are always so dry! Little jokes are always such a nice surprise 🙂

    Oh I love garlic too! Luckily I seem to date people who love it too, so they don’t mind a little garlic breath!

  7. Well my love of garlic has yet scare away kisses from my husband, although sometimes he might be a little more apprehensive, lol. This has four of my favorite things, bulgur, kale, beans and liquid smoke, I love adding a little smokiness to my meals.

  8. This is such a simple yet delicious nourishing dish. Thanks for sharing with MLLA this month.

  9. Hi Janet! Thanks so much for stopping by my blog and for your lovely comments 🙂 As soon as I read the title of this post I couldn’t resist taking a peak. I’m loving one-pot meals at the moment and this one sounds so good! I’ll definitely be giving it a try. Thanks for sharing the recipe! xx

  10. This is a great bowl of food and helps feed my mild obsession with all things bulgur!

  11. […] Potato Hummus) – Roasted Garlic Tofu Salad with Cilantro Rice, Black Beans and  a Mango Salsa – Smoky One Pot Beans and Bulgur with Kale – Fast and Forbidden Fried Rice – Immune Boon Noodles – Almost Raw Quinoa Toss – Rustic Rebel […]

  12. […] king of fresh, hot lunches. His specialty on the weekend and while on staycations. Helping me focus more on studying, he is cooking up more of my meals these […]

  13. […] a warmer climate. Thinking any excuse to head to Texas seems like a good idea. Except I should be studying instead of travelling. There is no excuse to stop cooking, though. What better way to merry my […]

  14. […] made multiple skillets before, and each time I gush over its simplicity.  I swear, I wasn’t planning on sharing this recipe. It just seemed too simple, too boring […]

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.