janet @ the taste space

Raw Carrot Falafels and Cauliflower Couscous Wrap with a Hummus Dressing

In Favourites, Mains (Vegetarian), Salads on May 26, 2013 at 7:58 AM

The dehydrator and juicer are now out in full force.

Carrots for juice and then the pulp was made into these lovely raw falafels.

I know, I said I don’t like raw Mediterranean eats. While I like Middle Eastern foods, I don’t like falafels.

However, I loved these raw carrot falafels.

Probably because they don’t taste like real falafels. And they don’t use raw chickpeas, either.

In any case, they taste great.

Carrots (or carrot pulp) is combined with sesame seeds along with lemon juice, garlic, cilantro and green onions for a flavour punch. Dehydrate them for 4 hours and you’ve got some soft and moist falafels without the heaviness from typical deep-dried falafel balls.

I combined the falafels with my favourite Middle Eastern-tahini dressing to date. Hummus-style with additional lemon juice, tamari and tahini. I originally used it in my Chickpea and Tofu Tahini Scramble but found the flavours mellowed after cooking on the stovetop. However, I stuck my finger in first to see how it tasted. I knew it would be a great dressing/dip and it did not disappoint.

I originally served the falafels and dressing as a salad overtop greens, but they also went really well in a green wrap with a bed of raw cauliflower couscous.

Don’t have a dehydrator? These could also be baked, according to Gena. Want to try your hand at another lovely baked quinoa falafel? Try these!

This is my submission to Deb for this week’s Souper Sundays and to this week’s Raw Food Thursday.

Raw Carrot Falafels and Cauliflower Couscous Wrap with a Hummus Dressing

raw carrot falafels (see below)
hummus dressing (see below)
cauliflower couscous (see below)
4 collard leaves

1. Dividing between each a collard leaf, place cauliflower couscous, place falafel overtop and drizzle with dressing.

Serves 3-4.

Raw Carrot Falafels
Adapted from Choosing Raw

2 cups carrot pulp (or grated carrots)
1 cup sesame seeds, ground
2 tbsp ground flax seed
1 tsp salt
1 tbsp lemon juice
2 tbsp olive oil
1/4 cup cilantro, chopped
2 cloves garlic, finely minced (or 1 tsp granulated garlic)
2 tbsp green onion, finely chopped

1. Combine all ingredients together in a large bowl and mix until thoroughly combined.

2. Scoop out batter in 1.5″ balls and flatten slightly.

3. Place falafels on a Teflex lined dehydrator sheet.

4. Dehydrate at 115F for 2 hours, remove from Teflex sheet, turn upside down and place on mesh sheets. Dehydrate for another 2 hours until crisp on the outside but still soft on the inside.

Makes 18 falafels.

Hummus Dressing (or Dipping Sauce)
Adapted from Choosing Raw (I originally used it in this Chickpea and Tofu Tahini Scramble)

1/3 cup hummus (I used our favourite traditional hummus)
2 tbsp tahini
1 tbsp tamari (I used Bragg’s)
1/4 cup fresh lemon juice
water, to thin to your desired consistency

1. Place all ingredients  in a small cup and mix really well until well combined. Thin with additional water if desired, but I liked that this was pretty thick and more akin to a dipping sauce.

Makes a bit more than 3/4 cup.

Raw Cauliflower Couscous

2 cups chopped cauliflower
1 tbsp lemon  juice
zest of half a lemon
1 tsp olive oil
a pinch of salt

1. In a food processor fitted with its S-blade, process cauliflower until it resembles small grains of rice or couscous. Stir in remainder of ingredients.

  1. Oh I am so into these! Raw and grain-free, YES please! Heheh I rhymed 😉

  2. This looks intense! I don’t have a dehydrator (yet) … so I’ll have to improvise a bit. Yumalicious.

    • I just had a sedona here but I have to return it today! To bad that I just came across this recipe now! But… well, I’m way to impatient for a dehydrator, so I’ll improvise a bit, too! 😉

  3. That dressing looks really creamy and amazing – do you think it would be too heavy to use on a salad? Perhaps thinned out a bit?

  4. Ooooh yum, those falafel look so good. I love how you served them too, exactly my sort of thing. I’ll have to try them baked as I sadly don’t have a dehydrator. I have a few different falafel recipes waiting to be made now 🙂 I do like them made with chickpeas but the baked, not deep-fried type.

  5. Oooh I love falafels! But I can’t always find very healthy ones, I love this raw spin on them =D

  6. I had no idea that you didn’t like falafels! They are one of my favorites. I just know I’d love this raw carrot version as much as the “original”!

  7. I definitely have to try these falafels! Mine will definitely be baked, due to having no dehydrator. 🙂

  8. Sounds excellent—good use for carrot pulp after juicing. While I like the taste of traditional falafel, good to avoid the deep frying.

    Wonder how many of these you’d have to eat to get that beta-carotene glow…..

    • Haha, I have been on a total carrot kick. I hope to share another recipe tomorrow, too. 🙂

      No beta-carotene glow yet, but if I do maybe it will make up for my lack of a tan. 😉

  9. Is it okay that I love falafel and also would love these? 😉

    • Falafel lovers can love these, too. Rob loves falafel but not told me I couldn’t call them falafel on my blog since it may mislead people… But hey, when is raw food ever that similar to the inspiration food? 🙂

  10. Question: What are the alternatives when dehydrator is not an option.

    Thank you!

    • Your welcome. I haven’t tried it myself but Gena suggests baking them at 175F with the oven door ajar for an hour and then repeating on the other side and someone said 300F for 50 minutes worked, too. Hope this helps. Please let me know how it goes. 🙂

  11. Great photos! I love the combination of the falafels with the hummus dressing and that cauliflower couscous–delicious! Thanks for sharing it with Souper Sundays this week. 😉

  12. Alright now, these look seriously amazing. I ALMOST deleted this from last week’s Raw Foods Thursdays while doing a little catch up surfing. I thought that someone linked up cooked couscous with a dairy sauce without realizing it was a raw event! WOW! Of course if I had seen that YOU linked this up I would have known to trust you. But the picture looks so much like the real thing. I will definitely be making these soon!

    Heather

  13. […] a minimalist lifestyle. I was going to leave my dehydrator behind. But then, I kept making more and more things in my dehydrator. I had forgotten how lovely it was to make things in the […]

  14. […] that is finally getting its time in the limelight. Is cauliflower the new kale? Roasted, riced, pureed, mashed, curried, I have done it all. The last one on my hit-list was to make cauliflower […]

  15. […] (via Raw Carrot Falafels and Cauliflower Couscous Wrap with a Hummus Dressing | the taste space) […]

  16. how long would the falafels last? new to the dehydration.. could they be frozen in an air tight bag?

    • Hmm… that is a good question. I suspect they would last around a week in the fridge because they are dehydrated to crisp up the edges rather than remove all moisture. I don’t know how freezing would change the texture but in my mind, I don’t think it would work with all the fresh vegetables. If you try these though, please let me know what you think. 🙂

  17. I am so happy you shared this with the Healthful Pursuit community, Janet! I have never thought of making falafels out of juice pulp. Brilliant. Would you be interested in sharing a recipe like this one as a guest post on Healthful Pursuit? Would love to have you as a guest one of these days 🙂

  18. This looks amazing Janet! Love the flavours!

  19. […] could I not include these raw carrot […]

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.