the taste space

Peach, Basil and Hemp Salad with a Citrus Vinaigrette

Posted in Salads by janet @ the taste space on August 8, 2013

Peach, Basil and Hemp Salad with a Citrus Vinaigrette

Give me leafy greens and I will make salad.

Give me fruit and I will eat it.

Give me a CSA share and I will become creative. Or lazy, your choice.

Same salad, different fruit and new herb. Still as delicious.

I added fresh basil as a unique flavour hidden amongst the greens.

And those hemp seeds? They are really growing on me. They are my new salad topping, including fruit salads. ;) I picked up a few of my pantry staples online, and decided to splurge on these hemp seeds since they were on sale.

Peach, Basil and Hemp Salad with a Citrus Vinaigrette

I am used to a later peach season from Ontario (and they have finally arrived, too!), but local peaches were out in full force when we arrived in Texas. Sweet, juicy peaches. I have to remind myself that buying too many is often fool-hardy. Their peak ripeness has a short window. But once they are juicy: pounce. Peaches for breakfast, peaches as a snack and peaches for dinner. Peaches for a salad work so well because they make their own dressing, to boot. I still supplemented it with the nice citrus dressing from earlier in the week, though.

Peach, Basil and Hemp Salad with a Citrus Vinaigrette

This is my submission to Deb for this week’s Souper Sundays and this month’s Cooking with Herbs.

Peach, Basil and Hemp Salad with a Citrus Vinaigrette

1 peach, chopped
3-4 leaves basil, chopped
1 tbsp hemp seeds
2 cups leafy greens

citrus vinaigrette

1. In a small bowl, mix together the ingredients for the dressing.

2. On a plate, place the leafy greens and basil. Top with the chopped peach and sprinkle with hemp seeds. Drizzle with dressing.

Serves 1.

37 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Erica said, on August 8, 2013 at 6:50 AM

    Love this combination!

  2. Suzanne @ hello, veggy! said, on August 8, 2013 at 7:02 AM

    Looks mighty tasty! I love peach and basil together; they make a lovely couple :)

    • janet @ the taste space said, on August 8, 2013 at 5:06 PM

      Thanks Suzanne. Basil seems so weird but it works well with many fruit. I like it with strawberries, too. :)

  3. Heather @Gluten-Free Cat said, on August 8, 2013 at 7:27 AM

    A perfect summer salad. And I’ve been crazy for hemp seeds lately. Eating them right now on my oatmeal. :)

  4. Johanna GGG said, on August 8, 2013 at 7:35 AM

    love peaches but think of them less often for salad than strawberries – I think I like peaches as they are but this salad looks lovely. I haven’t been buying hemp seeds – have enjoyed eating them but not the price. It must be interesting being in a different climate and seeing the differences in food there – esp all the wonderful fruit in a warmer climate!

    • janet @ the taste space said, on August 8, 2013 at 5:05 PM

      Yeah, I think the best part is that some of the tropical fruit tastes better here. The citrus (oranges and grapefruit) are so sweet and juicy, I am constantly amazed… it is also nice to get these locally throughout the year, instead of just in the summer, like in Canada. ;)

  5. Leslie said, on August 8, 2013 at 7:43 AM

    Beautiful, refreshing salad! I just got some peaches too (I’m in Toronto) and they are awesome — juicy and sweet — so now I know how to use them up. And just discovered hemp seeds too! They’re wonderful and have a lovely, nutty taste, perfect as a salad topper (we also made vegan twice baked potatoes with hemp and miso in the mixture ..totally awesome).

  6. Genevieve said, on August 8, 2013 at 12:45 PM

    I love salads with fruit in them, especially in the summer. Both the strawberry and peach versions you’ve posted are calling out to me right now! I bet the avocado would work well in this one too. I’ve been adding hemp seeds to my smoothies lately, but I haven’t tried sprinkling them on salads – I’ll have to remember to do that next time!

    • janet @ the taste space said, on August 8, 2013 at 5:04 PM

      Thanks, Genevieve. I love all your fruity combinations as well. I was *so close* to making your jicama nachos recently but my pineapple wasn’t ripe.. next time! :)

  7. sprint2thetable said, on August 8, 2013 at 12:49 PM

    You know I love peaches – I’m in the Peach State! This made me laugh… when you see my #strangebutgood recipe for tomorrow. I think you could make it vegan with tofu… ;)

  8. Eileen said, on August 8, 2013 at 1:23 PM

    The Texas peach is famous–you’re so lucky to get to live right in the middle of peach territory! This salad sounds wonderful–sweet & crispy & pungent. :)

    • janet @ the taste space said, on August 8, 2013 at 5:02 PM

      Thanks, Eileen. I still think California is definitely the place to live if you want delicious food all year round, but Texas definitely has its perks, too. :)

  9. Crista said, on August 8, 2013 at 2:17 PM

    mmmmmmm!

  10. Veronica Sheppard said, on August 8, 2013 at 6:44 PM

    Sounds like a unique mix of flavours and I’ve been trying to expand my salads lately, I might just give this a try :)

  11. Joanne said, on August 8, 2013 at 9:16 PM

    Fruity salads in the summer make me so happy! Especially peaches. They are my fave right now.

  12. dawnhutchins said, on August 9, 2013 at 6:07 AM

    I think this is one of your best creations yet!!!!!!!!!!!

  13. Karen said, on August 9, 2013 at 9:37 AM

    BEAUTIFUL salad with amazing ingredients Janet! Thanks for entering this into Cooking with Herbs, Karen

  14. Tami said, on August 9, 2013 at 10:38 AM

    I have peaches on hand to make this!

  15. sarojinididi said, on August 9, 2013 at 4:33 PM

    Nice salad- loving those hemp seeds. We bought some a while back and we’re managing to slip them into so many different dishes! We are posting hemp and peanut butter on 15th this month at http://www.theyogivegetarian.blogspot.co.uk if you are interested.

  16. kimmythevegan said, on August 9, 2013 at 5:46 PM

    Mmm this sounds great! I love peach season!!!!! =)

  17. misscruciferous said, on August 10, 2013 at 7:27 AM

    I love the pairing of peach and basil. I made a peach basil smoothie earlier this week. So good. I’m making this salad next.

    • janet @ the taste space said, on August 13, 2013 at 1:10 PM

      Nice! A smoothie sounds like a great idea, too. I must admit I have never thought of putting basil in a drink!

  18. Deb in Hawaii said, on August 11, 2013 at 7:01 PM

    You hit the peach bonanza there! I wish we could get good ones here. That peach & basil combination makes my mouth water. Thanks for sending it along to Souper Sundays this week! ;-)

  19. Gabby @ the veggie nook said, on August 15, 2013 at 6:42 PM

    Gorgeous salad Janet! I agree- a peach and basil smoothie sounds fantastic as well!

    Sorry I’ve been absent from your blog recently, having a hard time keeping up recently! Still here though and loving your recipes :)

  20. […]  1: Peach, Basil and Hemp Salad with a Citrus Vinaigrette […]

  21. […] Peach, Basil and Hemp Salad from Janet @ the taste space […]

  22. The Best Healthy Vegan Recipes said, on August 16, 2013 at 9:27 AM

    […] 1. Peach, Basil & Hemp Salad with Citrus Vinaigrette from The Taste Space: […]

  23. […] and as usual, she had made something stunning fr us all! Janet comes to the table with a beautiful Peach, Basil and Hemp Salad with a Citrus Vinaigrette – just so […]

  24. […] Janet from Taste Space and her beautiful Peach, Basil and Hemp Salad with a Citrus Vinaigrette […]

  25. […] (via Peach, Basil and Hemp Salad with a Citrus Vinaigrette | the taste space) […]


What do you think?

