janet @ the taste space

Sweet Chickpea Flour Pancakes with Quickie Raspberry Chia Jam

In Breakfasts, Desserts, Mains (Vegetarian) on July 22, 2014 at 7:02 AM

Sweet Chickpea Flour Pancakes with Quickie Raspberry Chia Jam

I almost thought about making my blog vacation all about chickpea flour.  I have been experimenting with it a lot more and this was a fun venture into sweet pancakes.

I was drawn to Gena’s recipe because they were protein pancakes without protein powder. While I am no stranger to savoury chickpea flour pancakes (aka besan chilla), I liked how these were more traditional. Here, chickpea flour is combined with cashew flour and soy milk for a heartier base.

They did not fluff up like regular pancakes, but were good for a lazy weekend breakfast. I topped them with a quickie raspberry chia jam for a summer twist. Forget boiling the fruit as in my blueberry vanilla chia jam. I simply defrosted some frozen raspberries in the microwave, added some chia seeds and waited a few minutes. The jam was a nice sweet contrast when rolled inside the pancakes.

Sweet Chickpea Flour Pancakes with Quickie Raspberry Chia Jam

I am sharing this with Dead Easy Desserts.

Sweet Chickpea Flour Pancakes
Adapted from Choosing Raw

1.5 tsp flax meal
2 tbsp warm water
1/3 cup chickpea flour
1/4 cup cashew flour/ground cashews
1 tbsp hemp protein powder
1/2 tsp baking powder
pinch of salt
1/2 cup + 2 tbsp soy milk
sweetener to taste, I added a few drops of vanilla stevia (completely necessary to counteract the hemp taste; you may need more sweetener if you substitute almond meal)

Quickie Raspberry Chia Jam, to serve (see below)

1. Begin by making your chia jam (see below).

2. In a small bowl, combine the flax meal with the water. Whisk together and set aside for 5 minutes.

3. In a medium bowl, combine the chickpea flour, cashews, hemp protein powder, baking powder and salt. Mix until combined. Make a well in the middle and add the soy milk and soaked flax seeds. Stir until combined, add sweetener to taste.

4. Place a non-stick skillet over medium heat. Once hot, add 2 tbsp worth of batter and spread it to make a 4″ pancake. Once it starts to bubble and the edges firm up, flip and cook until lightly browned. Remove from pan and place on a plate. Continue with the remainder of the batter.

5. Serve jam overtop pancakes.

Makes 8-10 pancakes, serves 1-2.

Quickie Raspberry Chia Jam

1/3 cup frozen raspberries
1 tbsp chia seeds
sweetener, to taste (I used a few drops of vanilla stevia)
1-2 tbsp water, if needed

1. Heat your frozen raspberries. I microwaved mine for a minute but feel free to use the stove top. Add chia seeds, mix and allow to swell for 5 minutes. Add sweetener to taste and thin with additional water if needed.

Serves 1-2.

  1. your pancakes look fantastic and I would like to try a chia jam some time – especially with raspberries which are seedy anyway. I would have welcomed a blog break full of chickpea flour recipes – am a bit fan – hope you are enjoying your break

  2. I love the look of the pancake recipe 🙂

  3. I’ve never used / made cashew flour! I will have to try it out – preferably in the form of these pancakes, which sound great 🙂

  4. I’m all about chickpea flour lately, but I never thought of using it in something sweet. These look fantastic! I’ll have to give them a try 🙂

  5. Yay another use for chickpea flour! They look great 🙂

  6. I have a sweet chickpea pancake recipe of my own and I have to say it’s one of my favourites. I love getting all that protein in in the morning 🙂

  7. Oh, pancakes with jam are the best! I usually use chickpea flour to make more savory fritters (with lots of cabbage and plenty of curry-oriented spices) but I’m excited to try out a sweet pancake too.

  8. […] The Taste Space shared Sweet Chickpea Flour Pancakes with Raspberry Chia Jam […]

  9. I’ve tried making the chickpea pancake… epic fail :/
    I’ll try your recipe though, yours never fail me!

  10. […] Chickpea Flour Pancakes with Quickie Raspberry Chia Jam by TasteSpace […]

  11. I’ve been meaning to do some gram flour pancakes, they remind me of Nice where they’re local speciality. Thanks for sending to Dead Easy Deserts. The round up has been published today at Manjiri’s Slice of Me

  12. I am loving that chia seed jam Just look at it! WOW!!! I seriously have to start experimenting with chia seeds.Thanks for entering them into Bookmarked Recipes. The roundup is now live 🙂

  13. I made this combo of fine ingredients & loved every bite! That chia jam is easy, fast & superb! The max!

  14. […] a quick and easy blueberry chia compote. I combined ideas from my blueberry vanilla chia jam and raspberry chia jam to make a saucier blueberry compote. Rob had the ingenious idea of adding a splash of blueberry […]

  15. […] While we enjoyed the ice cream, as is, if you would like to top it with a raspberry sauce, this quickie raspberry jam could do the trick. […]

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.