janet @ the taste space

Chickpea Curry with Fresh Dill Leaves

In Favourites, Mains (Vegetarian) on October 3, 2013 at 6:34 AM

Chickpea Curry with Fresh Dill Leaves

Experimental curry…

A few of my friends have become new mamas (or very soon mamas-to-be), and Rob and I have been cooking up meals to share. One less thing for them to worry about. Rob offered one of our delicious dals. I wanted to experiment with a new curry, but Rob was adamant: Let me make dal bhat! We know it is awesome.

I won’t argue with that, nor with Rob offering to do the cooking.

I still experimented with a new curry but kept it for myself. Curry with dill? I was intrigued. Especially since it doesn’t call for a smattering of dill. It uses a whole 2 cups of dill, leaves and stems, akin to a leafy green instead of a finishing aromatic. Sauteed with my favourite flavours, garlic, ginger and coriander with a bit of tomato for some sauciness, this was a delicious chickpea curry. There was enough zip from the chile flakes to keep it well balanced. The flavour of dill was surprisingly not overwhelming and I really enjoyed it. Next time, we’ll know. This curry is definitely good enough to share.

Do you have any favourite meals to share with others? Have you ever cooked with this much dill at once? 🙂

PS. I am all over the cookbook giveaways these days, if you hadn’t noticed. My giveaway for The Ayurvedic Vegan Kitchen is still going, so check it out. I also highly recommend The Great Vegan Bean Book (see my review here). Head over to Miss Muffcake for her giveaway of the book here.

Chickpea Curry with Fresh Dill Leaves

This is my submission to this month’s My Legume Love Affair hosted by Princy, and to this month’s Cooking with Herbs.

Chickpea Curry with Fresh Dill Leaves (Rasa Walla Kabuli Chana)
Adapted from 5 Ingredients, 50 Dishes via Doctor’s Review

1 tbsp coconut oil
1.5 cups chopped onions
1/2 tsp Aleppo chili flakes
1 tsp coriander seeds, finely ground
2 cloves garlic, finely chopped
2 tsp finely chopped fresh ginger
1 tsp ground turmeric
1 cup canned tomatoes, chopped
2 cups dill, finely chopped (stems and leaves)
1.5 cups cooked chickpeas
1/4 cup water
salt, to taste

1. In a medium saucepan over medium heat, heat oil. Once hot, add onion and saute until it has softened, around 5 minutes. Stir in the chile flakes, coriander, garlic, ginger and turmeric and saute for 3-4 minutes, stirring often. Add the tomato and cook until it has softened, around 5 minutes more. Add the dill, chickpeas, water and salt and bring to a simmer. Simmer, partially covered, for 5-8 minutes, until the dill is soft and tender.

Serves 4.

 

  1. Wow, it looks really good!

  2. wow is that green in the photo all dill – I can’t quite imagine the aroma of curry and dill together – I think lasagne is a class dish to give to someone – I say this because I remember well a friend bringing some over after sylvia was born rather than because I make it for others – I tend to bake for others or make something like tofu nut balls

  3. all of my curries/indian-ish creations are experimental. i love them… though i wonder what a real indian chef would do if they saw me go… probably run screaming. 😉

  4. That is a LOT of dill. I always try to grow it in my garden, but I probably get a tablespoon of it if I’m lucky. Anyway! This looks delicious. Chickpea curries are my favorite curries. 🙂

  5. I have never heard of using dill in curry before! Definitely an intriguing idea. I think this makes a good argument for planting dill in the garden next year too. 🙂

    • Gosh, I wish I had a garden here, but alas… Dill is supposed to be easy to grow, too, although I think the bugs like its tender baby leaves more than me since I wasn’t able to grow it in Toronto for 2 years… with seedlings, at that. Hopefully you have better luck than me

  6. You have some lucky friends if you contribute dishes like these (or even better for them, the fail safe ones!) 🙂

  7. I LOVE chickpeas in spicy cooking and this curry looks amazing thanks Janet! BTW – our book will be on its way soon, it was out of stock for a few weeks, but Amazon have told me it is back in stock next week! Karen

  8. I want some right now, this minute. No, nothing else will do!!!

  9. I don’t think I’ve ever seen dill in curry before, and especially not two cups of it! Dill is definitely a comfort flavor for me and I love the idea of it mixing with some of my other favorite spices.

  10. Ok I HAVE TO TRY THIS! I would have never thought of combining dill & chickpea, but I think it sounds incredibly intriguing and delicious. Pure awesome =)

  11. This looks so good.And so sweet of you to please some moms to be!I had a baby last year and was yearning for someone else’s food!Thanks for the entry to MLLA..

  12. Gorgeous colors – I love fresh dill and they are so good in cold salads & dishes. Great shot 😉

  13. […] 9. Chickpea Curry with Fresh Dill Leaves by Janet of  The Taste Space: Dill adds a fabulous herbal flavour to this recipe by Janet, and is a really tasty looking veggie curry too……. […]

  14. […] decided to merge our two favourite tofu scramble recipes… Especially since we learned that dill + curry = awesome! But how about, dill + curry + tomato + Brussels sprouts! With some noochy and kala namak […]

  15. […] might seem like an unusual ingredient for curry, I know it works really well (see this fabulous chickpea dill curry). The tomato is familiar to both Indian and European foods although this is purely Indian with the […]

  16. […] soups and stews. It can be used as a garnish, or as a vegetable, as in this delicious looking chickpea curry. It adds tons of herby flavour to these crab cakes and orzo salad. Dill is commonly used in […]

  17. […] I was vegan, the only Indian food I liked was butter chicken. Then I met Rob and we explored lots of great, naturally vegan curries. While we have veganized some of Rob’s favourite curries (see […]

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.