janet @ the taste space

Coconut Chana Saag

In Favourites, Mains (Vegetarian) on December 23, 2014 at 7:39 AM

Coconut Chana Saag

I had all the best intentions of sharing a chocolate-based recipe this week. Sadly, not one but two recipes were a flop. How could that possibly be? One we had to throw out it was that bad but the other will still be happily eaten.

This will be a quick post to share another of my favourite repeater recipes from this year: Isa’s Coconut Chana Saag. I am still not sure why it looks like most of the curries I share, but this one is flippin fantastic. Perhaps the touch of fennel brought it to the next level? In any case, it is delicious and highly recommended.

While most people might be on holidays already (Rob is!!), I get 2 out of 3 statutory holidays off and otherwise working through the remainder of the days. Rob thinks I am working too much but I try to reassure him that this way I save my vacation for our honeymoon.

I may pop back in with a few quickie posts but if not, best wishes for the new year and happy holidays. 🙂

Coconut Chana Saag

I am sharing this with Souper Sundays.

Coconut Chana Saag
Adapted, minimally, from Isa Does It (original recipe shared here)

2 tbsp refined coconut oil
1 yellow onion, diced
3 cloves garlic, minced
2 tbsp minced fresh ginger
2 tbsp mild curry powder
1/2 tsp salt, or to taste
1/2 tsp anise seeds (or crushed fennel seeds)
1/4 tsp garam masala
1/2 tsp ground cumin
1/2 tsp Aleppo chili flakes, or to taste
1x 28 oz can whole tomatoes
3 cups cooked chickpeas, rinsed and drained
1 bunch kale, chopped (225 g)
14 oz can coconut milk (lite or regular)
2 tbsp fresh lime juice (half a lime)

For serving: cooked basmati rice

1. In a large pot over medium heat, heat oil. Add onion, sprinkle with salt and saute for 5 minutes, until lightly browned.

2. Add the garlic and ginger and saute until fragrant, about 30 seconds. Add the curry powder, salt, pepper, anise seeds (or fennel seeds), garam masala, cumin and cayenne, stirring to coat the onions and let the spices toast for a minute or so.

3. Deglaze the pan with the tomato juice from the can (not the tomatoes), scraping the bottom of the pan. Simply hold the tomatoes and let the juice strain through your fingers. Now add the tomatoes from the can, squishing them with your fingers as you put them in the pot, to mash them up. Stir in the chickpeas and mix well.

4. Cover the pan and bring the heat up a bit. Let it simmer for about 10 minutes, stirring occasionally. Add the kale, stirring to incorporate, then let it simmer, uncovered, for 5 minutes more to cook it down even further.

5. Pour in the coconut milk. Add the lime juice, then taste for seasoning. Allow to sit for 10 minutes prior to serving, for best flavour. Serve over rice with a little mango chutney and coriander on top.

Serves 4-6.

  1. I have PLENTY of chocolate to share! Trade you for this… I think I need something without a cup of sugar. LOL!

  2. Yum! This sounds awesome. I of course like chocolate recipes, but savoury is pretty awesome too ;p
    Hope you get a bit of downtime over the holidays. Enjoy!

  3. Nice recipe, Thanks for sharing, I will try as i like both kale and chana.

  4. I think I have made this one and if I remember rightly it is great – I think Isa Does It is my cookbook of last year because I have cooked so many meals from it. Sorry to hear about your chocolate disasters. And sorry you don’t get more holidays but I have always enjoyed working at this time of year when it is quiet and there is time to get work done without distractions. Hope that works for you!

  5. OK, you have convinced me to finally try this since I have the book. Loving the fennel. 😉 Thanks for sharing it with Souper Sundays this week. Happy New Year!

  6. I made this one tonight and it was great. The whole family loved it. I was out of curry so I did not put that in. However, it was still very well received and even my son loved it. He doesn’t like curry so the lack if it increased the popularity of the dish. My wife did mention as she ate it that curry would taste good in it, but it was still a great dish. It is also pretty easy and reasonably quick.

  7. […] I was vegan, the only Indian food I liked was butter chicken. Then I met Rob and we explored lots of great, naturally vegan curries. While we have veganized some of Rob’s favourite curries […]

  8. […] started with a bit and it was delicious. Because my mom had chickpeas, I based the recipe on this Coconut Chana Saag, simmering the vegetables until fully cooked and then added the chickpeas at the end until warm. We […]

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.