janet @ the taste space

Quick and Easy Black Bean Dip + tip for ultra creamy bean dips

In Appetizers, Favourites, Sides on September 27, 2015 at 8:21 AM

Quick and Easy Black Bean Dip

Sometimes I have no clue which recipe will appear next on my blog.

I didn’t even think I would post anything this weekend, to be honest, but I made this wicked awesome black bean dip for my cousins and it was gobbled up. I knew I had to share it soon.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Dip

Black beans and salsa pair well together and one of my favourite soups I made in university was simply black beans, salsa, vegetable stock and cumin (here is the recipe). Remove the stock, add some fresh garlic and lime juice and the whipped beans make for an extreme delicious dip.

One thing I also did differently this time was blend the beans while they were still hot. I know I have heard of a similar suggestion for making creamy hummus (possibly from Melissa Clark via The Kitchn but most likely one of Gena’s hidden tips (as seen here)) and this serendipitously made for the creamiest black bean dip I have made.  While different, it certainly rivals my favourite Jalapeno Black Bean Dip and definitely a lot cheaper.

Do you have a favourite black bean dip?

Bean dips shared here and elsewhere:

Mexican Black Bean Pepita Dip

Cucumber Hummus Dip (Hummus-Tzatziki Fusion)

Rosemary Pistachio Hummus

Buffalo Chickpea Dip

Vegan 7-Layer Mexican Dip

Quick and Easy Black Bean Dip

I am sharing this with Healthy Vegan Fridays.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Dip
Adapted from Cooking Canuck

3 cups cooked black beans (rinsed and drained if canned, but warm beans preferable)
3/4 cup salsa (I used this one)
2 garlic cloves
1 tbsp fresh lime juice
1 tsp ground cumin
1/8 tsp salt, or to taste
sweet mesquite seasoning, to taste

1. If possible, make your own beans. 1 cup dried black beans will make 3 cups. Heat your beans in the microwave if canned or from the refrigerator.

2. While the beans are still warm, drain and place in the food processor fitted with its S-blade. Add salsa, garlic, lime juice, cumin, salt and sweet mesquite seasoning to the food processor. Process until smooth.

Makes 3.5 cups.

  1. These look so creamy! Wow. And salsa in a black bean dip? I usually just chop up tomato, but love the added flavour the salsa would give. Good tip with making sure the beans are warm!

  2. […] 9. Quick and Easy Black Bean Dip […]

  3. […] Quick Black Bean Dip via The Taste Space […]

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.