janet @ the taste space

Top Vegan Recipes from 2015

In Events/Round-Ups, Favourites, Mains (Vegetarian) on January 2, 2016 at 7:09 AM

It is hard to believe I am still blogging after 6 years. Lots of changes this year, both high and low, but the best of the best include marrying my best friend and moving into our new home. Here’s to a 2016 filled with lots of love, health and happiness… and a belly filled with good food. Here are both my favourites and your favourites from 2015.

1. The Best Vegan Chocolate Cupcakes

Look no further, these are the Best Chocolate Cupcakes, vegan or not. Light and fluffy but not too sweet. Enjoy!

The Best Vegan Chocolate Cupcake

2. Sweet and Sour Tofu Veggie Bowl

There is a reason there are classic vegan recipes. This sweet and sour tofu can highlight your favourite vegetables for a perfect meal.

Sweet-and-Sour Marinaded Tofu Veggie Bowl

3. Tofu and Kale Bowl with a Curried Peanut Sauce

Another way to enliven vegetables is with a delicious sauce. This tofu and kale bowl was rather simple but the sauce brought it over the top.

Tofu and Kale Bowl with a Curried Peanut Sauce

4. Cozy Red Lentil and Kale Soup

I went on a bit of a love fest with (vegan) Worcestershire sauce and it worked perfectly in this tomato lentil soup with kale.

Cozy Red Lentil and Kale Soup

5. Coconut Cabbage and Lentil Soup with Cilantro

Another wholesome soup, the flavours meld perfectly with cilantro, ginger and coconut.

Coconut Cabbage and Lentil Soup with Cilantro

6. Revolutionary Savoury Egg Mix

Adding Lisa and Nicole’s Savoury (Vegan) Egg Mix to my kitchen was a tremendous boon to making egg-like tofu scrambles.

Savoury Egg Mix + DIY Vegan Cookbook GIVEAWAY

7. Salted Caramel Pear Butter

I learned how to can (properly) this year and this was my favourite recipe: salted caramel pear butter. I also like the pickles I made. They have BITE! That’s a good thing because I made 4 batches over the summer.

Salted Caramel Pear Butter

8. Roasted Maple Rosemary Almonds

A recent addition to my kitchen, and while I still have some still after the New Year’s Eve party, these fabulous sweet-salty-rosemary nuts are perfect for any time.

Roasted Maple Rosemary Almonds

9. Quick and Easy Black Bean Dip

After discovering an easy way for making ultra creamy bean dips, this dip was born. Perfectly flavoured with salsa for some interesting flavours.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Dip

10. Magical Grilled Peaches

And a final shout out to our favourite summer treat: sweet and juicy peaches were grilled on the barbecue and topped with sweet mesquite seasoning. I can’t wait for next year’s grilling season (although we’re going to a barbecue tonight, no ripe peaches here).

Magical Grilled Peaches

 

I also find it interesting to track my most popular posts. Last year, many from my archives were popular for good reason:

1. Crunchy Cabbage Salad with Orange-Tahini Dressing

Pinterest catapulted this hearty winter salad into the forefront this year, and for good reason. The orange-tahini dressing is to-die-for.

Crunchy Cabbage Salad with Orange-Tahini Dressing

2. 11 Ways to Use Blackstrap Molasses

Filled with nutrients like iron and calcium, this is a bitter sweetener that needs the right recipes. Here are 11 unique ways to use blackstrap molasses.

11 Ways to Use Blackstrap Molasses

3. High Protein Creamy Roasted Cauliflower Alfredo Pasta

Cauliflower is perfect for sneaking into creamy sauces and this one is no exception.

High-Protein Creamy Roasted Cauliflower Alfredo Pasta

4. Broccoli and Cauliflower Salad with Lime and Cilantro

Not sure what to do with leftover broccoli and cauliflower florets? Blitz them in your food processor to make this healthy salad, inspired by Whole Foods Detox Salad.

Whole Foods Detox Salad - Broccoli, Cauliflower with Lime and Cilantro

5. How to Make Authentic German Apfelstrudel

The former #1 recipe, this post isn’t any less awesome, but getting less love from google. Step by step pictures to make strudel as my Oma perfected.

Apple Strudel (Apfelstrudel)

 

6. Greek Lemon and Quinoa Soup (Vegan Avgolemono)

A pantry-friendly vegan version of a Greek egg soup, this is delicious in its own right.

Greek Lemon and Quinoa Soup (Vegan Avgolemono)

What were your favourite meals from last year?

Favourite here, previously:

My 10 Favourite Recipes from 2010

My 11 Favourite Recipes from 2011

My 12 Favourite Recipes from 2012

My 13 Favourite Recipes from 2013

Top 13 Reader Favourite Recipes from 2013

My 14 Favourite Recipes from 2014

My Ongoing List of Favourite Recipes

  1. Ooh check out this awesome sauce roundup! I don’t even think I know how to see which of my blog posts are most popular ;p
    I’ve made a few of these, but need to make more!! I’m eyeing up those cupcakes… =)

  2. What a great roundup! I’m always trying to incorporate more vegan meals into my diet – the tofu and and kale bowl with the curried peanut sauce looks delicious! I’ll have to try making it 🙂

  3. Yay for 6 years of blogging! I just reached that milestone myself. And what an exciting year you’ve had, getting married and moving to a new home! All the best to you in the new year.

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.