janet @ the taste space

Roasted Maple Rosemary Almonds

In Appetizers, Desserts, Favourites on December 29, 2015 at 7:00 AM

Roasted Maple Rosemary Almonds

Looking for an easy snack? Perhaps for your next holiday party?

Allow me to suggest these Roasted Maple Rosemary Almonds and Cashews. 

Roasted Maple Rosemary Almonds

A riff on the popular Union Square Cafe’s Bar Nutsthese have improved sticking power! While the original recipe earns high praise, most people have troubles with the mixture sticking to the nuts. I liked the suggestion to use maple syrup to enhance stickiness and after checking with Angela’s double-roast variation, I also decreased the salt slightly. After dropping my newly acquired flaked salt into the melted vegan butter, I was worried it had completely dissolved, but that was not a problem. I can even spot the large salt pieces in the pictures!

DSC_0723-001

I found the mix of sweet-salty with the rosemary and nuts were perfect. Feel free to use whatever nuts you have on hand.

DSC_0700

Maple Rosemary Almonds
Adapted from Union Square Cafe’s Bar Nuts

2.5 cups unsalted nuts (I used half almonds, half cashews)
2 tbsp chopped fresh rosemary leaves
2 tbsp maple syrup
1 tbsp melted Earth Balance butter (I suspect coconut oil would work, I was just out)
1.5 tsp flaked sea salt, or to taste
pinch chipotle pepper powder, or to taste (I might add more next time, this was not spicy)

1. Preheat oven to 350F.

2. Line a baking tray with parchment paper or a silicone mat. Spread nuts in a single layer on the baking tray and bake for 10-12 minutes, or until nicely toasted.

3. Meanwhile, while the nuts are toasting, in a large bowl, mix together the rosemary, maple syrup, butter, salt and chipotle pepper.

4. Once the nuts are finished, add immediately into the rosemary mixture. Mix continuously until evenly coated. Allow to cool 20 minutes prior to serving.

5. Store in an air-tight container at room temperature for a week.

  1. I love seasoned nuts – these sound great for entertaining – hope you have a good new year’s eve

  2. […] 8. Roasted Maple Rosemary Almonds […]

  3. These nuts sound so good! I definitely need a batch or two in my life. 🙂 Happy new year to you!

  4. Sounds so good!! I’m definitely making this the next time I have friends over… or just for myself to snack on haha ;p

  5. […] Rosemary Maple Roasted Almonds and Cashews from The Taste […]

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.