janet @ the taste space

Chickpea Chile Verde

In Mains (Vegetarian) on September 30, 2016 at 8:13 AM

Chickpea Chile Verde

Our tomato consumption is still going strong but I would hate to bore you with so many consecutive tomato recipes. Another garden winner this year were the boisterous tomatillo plants. I have given away more tomatillos than I have eaten myself. Most of my friends have made and canned salsa verde. I don’t have the time or equipment to can this year, so I looked for less traditional ways to use tomatillos. When I spotted Alissa’s chickpea chile verde, I knew we had a winner!

Chickpea Chile Verde

The weather has cooled off considerably within the past week and despite being a moderate 22C in our house, it feels chilly. We became too accustomed to 25-26C which is not sustainable for our predominantly indoor Canadian winters.

Warm stews and chilis are my go-to in the winter months and would be perfect to freeze for a later time. Cooking a double batch helps to squirrel away delicious foods for the future.

Here, the sweet-tart tomatillos and fresh corn provide a luscious base spiced with cumin and coriander. The chickpeas fit right into the colour palate. I blended a portion, a top from my smoky corn chowder, and it was great. Alissa topped hers with avocado, cilantro and tortilla strips. That would have been great, too.

Chickpea Chile Verde

 

PS. I am sharing this with Meat Free Mondays, My Legume Love Affair, Eat Your Greens and Healthy Vegan Fridays.

Chickpea Chile Verde
Adapted from Connoisseurus Veg

1 tbsp oil of choice
1 large onion, diced
1 jalapeno, seeds and white pith removed, finely chopped
4 garlic cloves, pressed or minced
2 cups vegetable broth
2 pounds tomatillos, husks removed and diced small (about the same size as chickpeas)
2 tbsp ground cumin
1 tsp ground coriander
4 cups or 2 x 19 oz cans cooked chickpeas, drained and rinsed
1 cup corn kernels (we used 1 ear of corn but frozen would work too)
1 tablespoon maple syrup or agave (optional, to balance out the tartness)
salt and pepper to taste

1. In a large pot over medium heat, add oil. Add onion and saute until softened, around 5 minutes. Add the jalapeno and garlic and saute one minute more until fragrant but not burned.
2. Deglaze with the vegetable broth and stir in the tomatillos, cumin and coriander. Raise heat to high and bring to a simmer. Lower heat and allow to simmer, uncovered, for 10 minutes. Add chickpeas and corn. Continue simmering until tomatillos are very soft, about 10 minutes more.
3. Using an immersion blender, blender until partially smooth. You could remove a portion and blend it in a standard blender, too. Taste and add maple syrup, if desired, and salt and pepper to taste. Divide into bowls and top with toppings of choice such as avocado, tortilla strips and fresh cilantro.

Serves 6.

  1. Oh those tomatillos 🙂 We also just had chile verde! I actually prefer it to the regular tomato chile and it’s a once a year treat with some home grown beans. Looks delicious with chickpeas and corn! Might have to round up the remaining fruit to try it another time (apparently they last a really long time, left unhusked in the fridge). I have yet to succeed with preserving them….freezing salsa verde didn’t work too well last year but sounds like canning might be the answer.

  2. Yeah. Chickpeas and tomatillos! I’m definitely in! Thank you for sharing the recipe!

  3. Yea, it’s just starting to cool off a bit here. It was so hot last week! I’m looking for it to cool off a bit more before making soup.
    This one sounds good! I wish I had my own homegrown tomatillos to put in it =)

  4. I’ve never cooked with tomatillos before so I’m going to need to try this! It looks delicious!

    I love soups especially when the the weather gets colder but I eat them all year because the air conditioning at my work makes it like 55 degrees. 🙂

    Thanks so much for linking up with us for Healthy Vegan Fridays! I’m Pinning and sharing!

  5. I wish tomatillos were easy to get here as I’d love to experiment with them. This sounds like such a tasty dish!

  6. Thank you so much for joining in and supporting EatYourGreens challenge Janet, I do like chickpea soup but the flavours here are very different to what I am used to and would love to try this. Hope you will join in again in November.

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.