janet @ the taste space

Mediterranean Collard Wrap with Hummus, Artichoke Hearts and Sun-Dried Tomatoes

In Mains (Vegetarian) on March 21, 2012 at 5:55 AM

In my quest to go simple with my meals, I have been turning to wraps for lunch.

I don’t think I have ever had sandwiches for lunch. Even as a child, I remember eating leftover pizza instead. The local pizzeria had a Monday night special: 2 pizzas for $5. As such, my parents bought a couple every. single. week. For years. Pizza for lunch every day. Although I never complained because I loved it.

Leftovers, whether a soup, stew or salad, have always been my go-to lunch.

But with my renewed interest in eating more greens, I have fallen for green wraps.

Just like you probably don’t need recipes for sandwiches, you probably do not think you need recipes for wraps. True, my ingredient list is a bit approximate in its amounts, but I love sharing good combinations of wrap fillings.

Furthermore, for those who travel, this is a perfect wrap to whip up at your destination. You can easily pick up all the ingredients at a well-stocked grocery store (here’s a shout out to Trader Joe’s who knows how to do hummus very well!). If you can’t find pre-sliced artichokes and sun-dried tomatoes, I suppose it could be considered optional if you are knife-less due to travelling only with carry-on luggage. I don’t know why, but canned artichoke hearts have a super simple built-in can opener. Perfect – no need to whip out my (non-existent) Swiss Army knife. 😉

This wrap was inspired by Tess’ Fresh Greek Delight found in Radiant Health, Inner Wealth.  I used a collard leaf to wrap up hummus, sliced artichoke hearts, sun-dried tomatoes, kalamata olives, fresh basil and garlic chive sprouts. The Greek flavours worked well with the creamy hummus, salty olives, bright fresh basil and the zippy garlic sprouts.

Enjoy! What are your favourite combinations for wraps?

This is being submitted to this week’s Weekend Herb Blogging hosted by Haalo.

Mediterranean Collard Wrap with Hummus, Artichoke Hearts and Sun-Dried Tomatoes
Adapted from Tess’ Fresh Greek Delight

2 large collard leaves
6 tbsp of your favourite hummus
1 artichoke heart, sliced
2 sun-dried tomatoes, soaked in hot water for 10 minutes or more, then thinly sliced
2 kalamata olives, sliced
2 tbsp fresh basil, chiffonaded
1/4 cup garlic chive sprouts

1. Remove the stem from the collard leaf.

2. Place 2-3 tbsp of the hummus in the middle of the wrap. Add the artichoke heart slices, sun-dried tomatoes, olives, basil and sprouts overtop, distributing evenly between both wraps.

3. Wrap and roll, baby!

Serves 1-2.

  1. This wrap looks lovely. I never thought of making a wrap in a collard green leaf before – very interesting!

  2. What a lovely way to eat your greens! And perfect for my vegetarian husband as well. Thanks

  3. I had to do a double take at the title of this recipe because it just so happens that this recipe of mine made it up on Clean Eating the other day: http://www.cleaneatingmag.com/Recipes/Recipe/Mediterranean-Tuna-White-Bean-Salad-Collard-Wraps.aspx

    yes, I know you wouldn’t be making a Mediterranean TUNA collard wrap, but it still struck me that we were on the same page for a good chunk 🙂

    • I concocted these wraps while travelling, but I love your idea with the white bean salad. I should definitely give that a whirl next time. One can never have too many recipes for collard wraps, especially of the Mediterranean flavours. 🙂

  4. Too funny – I posed collard “tacos” today.I love these as a bread alternative at lunch. That way I don’t get the post-lunch carb crash.

  5. There are so many amazing recipes out there (mostly yours) that I can’t even decide on a favorite! I should do this. It’s like a salad and sandwich in one.

  6. I almost always take leftovers to work but sometimes I crave a bit more normalcy and take a sandwich or a wrap instead. This filling combination sounds delicious! A mediterranean delight!

  7. Woah! These look gorgeous and so incredibly healthy! You have inspired me to get more creative with wrapping! 🙂

  8. […] using water as the liquid instead of nondairy milk. I picked up a bunch of veggies to make some collard wraps with my hummus (pea shoots, carrots and cucumber), and edamame for my bean […]

  9. That wrap sounds yummy! I need to find some collards. 😉 I love anything in a wrap though my favourite things are probably guacamole, fresh salsa, and noodles (though I wouldn’t put the noodles with the other 2).

  10. The collards aren’t too tough to eat as a wrap? I love this idea if I could grow some collards that were tender enough.

  11. […] I post a recipe for raw collard wraps, I invariably receive a comment from a perplexed reader wondering whether raw collard greens […]

  12. […] of hummus leftovers? Run out of crackers and veggies? Already added it to your sandwich/wrap?  Trust me, there was a time when I couldn’t finish a batch of hummus within a week, so I […]

  13. […] Mediterranean Collard Wrap with Hummus, Artichoke Hearts and Sun-Dried Tomatoes […]

  14. […] Mediterranean Collard Wrap with Hummus, Artichoke Hearts and Sun-Dried Tomatoes […]

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.