janet @ the taste space

Ancho Lentil Taco Salad Wraps

In Favourites, Mains (Vegetarian) on March 31, 2013 at 7:27 AM

Ancho Lentil Taco Salad Wraps

Spring has sprung? Wishful thinking?

Rob and I took advantage of the glorious weather this weekend to ride our bikes for the first time this year.

Having my bike cleaned and tuned over the winter meant I had a sparkly bike to ride! Except I noticed my fender is broken, so I have to figure out whether I will fix that.

We used this as an opportunity to bike to our new favourite restaurant: Hot Beans. Turns out the shops and restos in Kensington Market are open for the long weekend, YA!

I don’t know why, but it took me a while to finally try out Hot Beans, a fast-food vegan resto with burritos, tacos and nachos… and my favourite: burrito bowls. Sounds possibly terrible, but it is vegan goodness in its glory. Filled with vegan staple goodness: beans, brown rice, salsa, lettuce, chili aoili and vegan cheese sauce with your main topping of choice. Ask about their special menu. Mix-and-match but you can basically pick from Ancho-spiced TVP, seitan, black beans, lentils and Rob’s favourite: BBQ jackfruit. Add hot sauce as you see fit. Rob and I both had similar versions of the The Bill’s Big Dick, aka BBQ jackfruit + Ancho TVP burritos (mine in bowl form, Rob in burrito form).

After being stuffed to the gills, we peddled home. I definitely have to get my legs back into cycling mode as we train for Rideau Lakes again. Hopefully the warmer weather will persist.

Ancho Lentil Taco Salad Wraps

I figured we would be Ancho’ed out but later that afternoon, Rob was whipping up Ancho lentils! Destined to be a Rob’s Repeater Recipe, because it was so easy and SO GOOD. This recipe didn’t make PPK’s Top 100 list for nothing! Spicy, but not too spicy, and a bit sweet, these lentils were so flavourful. We went really low-key after such a lunch-fest, stuffing Romaine leaves with the filling and topping them with thick slabs of avocado. Rob doesn’t like collard wraps as much as me, but he gave the Romaine boats two thumbs up. Romaine is definitely sweeter than the darker leafy greens and the inner part of the leaf makes it easy to scoop up a beany filling.

Am I behind the times? Have you made these lentils already? If only Rob didn’t finish off the last of our green lentils with this batch. 🙂

How do you like green wraps? What’s your favourite? I like collards because they are bigger and easier to make transportable wraps but I was really digging the lettuce this time around.

Ancho Lentil Taco Salad Wraps

This is my submission to this month’s Bookmarked Recipes and to this week’s Weekend Wellness.

Ancho Lentil Taco Salad Wraps
Adapted from Post Punk Kitchen

1 cup dry lentils, sorted and rinsed (green or brown lentils)

1 tbsp coconut oil
1 small onion, minced
2 cloves garlic, minced
1/2 teaspoon dried oregano
2 tsp ground Ancho chile
1 tsp ground cumin
1/2 tsp ground coriander
1/2 tsp salt
3 tbsp tomato paste
1/2 tsp sriracha, or to taste

4-8 Romaine leaves
1 large avocado, sliced

1. In a medium pot, add rinsed lentils and cover with 1-2″ of lightly salted water. Bring to a boil and cook until lentils are soft, approximately 30-45 minutes. Drain but reserve the cooking water.

2. In a large skillet over medium-high heat, heat oil. Once hot, add onion, sprinkle with salt and saute until lightly browned, approximately 5 minutes. Add garlic and saute 1 minute more. Stir in oregano, ancho chile powder, cumin, coriander and salt and toast for 30 seconds, until lightly fragrant.

3. Lower heat to medium and add cooked lentils with a touch of the cooking liquid. Stir in tomato paste and sriracha (or you choice of hot sauce). Mash your lentils if you wish, but we didn’t. Cook for 5 minutes to get the flavours to meld, adding any additional reserved cooking water as necessary.

4. Use as a filling for tacos. This time, we opted to stuff a Romaine lettuce leaf and top with avocado.

Serves 4.

  1. First of all that restaurant sounds awesome!! I wish we had some good veg or vegan Mexican food here in NYC…it’s always so meat-heavy! I mean, there are always good veg options but nothing so inventive as bbq jackfruit!

    Those lentils sound awesome! So super flavorful!

  2. I’ll definitely be giving this a try. Looks wonderful

  3. Yum! My type of tacos. Regular brown lentils, I assume, since you didn’t state otherwise?

    I love “wraps,” but I can’t wrap them in a way where they stay closed! But love collard, rainbow Swiss chard, and Romaine wraps. Like one that is Koreanish, with ground walnut meat and an Asian pear, doused with sweet chili sauce.

    Thanks for posting this—as usual, your writing, photos, and culinary enthusiasm lifted my spirits. I was upset reading the paper—an article talked about a local Easter egg hunt. An 8 year old boy revealed how he got so many Easter eggs that contained candy: “I took some eggs out of babies’ hands.” His mother was standing next to him and didn’t seem at all dismayed by this. She even mentioned she was taking him to another egg hunt! 😦

    • Wow – that’s a crazy Easter hunt. We never did anything like that as children.. good thing!

      yes, we used the regular lentils. I prefer green compared to brown so that’s what I usually have on hand.. except now we have none! Lots of red lentils still, though, and other beans. 😉 I think we’ll be ok to wait until our move to buy some more. 🙂

  4. I love restaurants like that. I have to book mark this recipe for a retreat this summer. Most of the attendees will be vegetarian and I think I want to use this recipe.

  5. Interesting wrap that I haven’t seen before. Am making lentils this week and will definitely try this treatment of them. Thanks! and Happy Easter!

  6. Hot Beans is the best restaurant name I’ve heard in forever! I’d be in there all the time. BEANS! And these lentils look amazing and easy–and I’ll take any excuse to cram more avocado into my mouth. 🙂

  7. OMG, I LOVE Hot Beans too! And I always get the bowl with lentils and brown rice. That cheezy sauce is to die for! Your spicy lentils look like just the thing to settle my Hot Beans craving at home. Thanks!!

  8. Love it! This is great!

  9. Aaaah! Kensington was open today?! Blastitall! Though I guess I avoided spending money at Essence this way 😉

    Scrumptious recipe!

  10. Bike riding sounds like the perfect activity to welcome spring 🙂 And these look like the perfect food for it too!

  11. I miss biking. When I was living in Amsterdam, I was biking all the time 🙂 even during a winter time. Since I live in Berlin U-Bahn sounds so much more interesting, hahaha.

  12. I’m always hearing about great vegan places in and around Toronto – sounds good! The romaine looks like the perfect choice for these lentils…with a heavier filling, a nice light, refreshing wrap would balance it out instead of a burrito or taco!

  13. Looks amaaaaaaaazing! So exciting you got to get the bikes out! It was gorgeous wasn’t it? Now where did this chilly weather come from??

  14. This was wonderful! Just added some chopped up tomatoes to it. I had a jar of salsa at the table since I’m used to putting salsa on tacos—turned out the lentils were so flavorful I didn’t need it!

  15. […] While most of the recipes seemed familiar to me (guacamole, spiralized zucchini with nutrient-dense pasta sauce, avocado and strawberry salad, raw lasagna), I opted to try something with a bit of a twist: Quinoa, avocado and tomato marinara wraps, especially since I was reminded how much I enjoy lettuce wraps. […]

  16. […] know I have gushed over Hot Beans before. I’ve tried a few options from their not-so-secret menu and their secret […]

  17. […] portion sizes are so huge at my beloved Hot Beans that it is equally wise to share a meal there, […]

  18. […] cooking and blogging about healthy, vegan, whole food-based meals by night. My meals range from Ancho Lentil Taco Salad Wraps, to Indian-Spiced Chickpeas and Kale to decadent Better Than Nutella Cheesecakes. I currently […]

  19. […] is a goddess in the kitchen and she graciously shares her recipes on her blog. My recommendations: Ancho Lentil Salad Wraps, Roasted Beet Salad with Warm Maple Mustard Dressing and Tempeh Croutons, White Bean, Quinoa and […]

  20. […] Ancho Lentil Salad Wraps  Black Bean and Kabocha Squash Rancheros Roasted Beet Salad with Warm Maple Mustard Dressing and Tempeh Croutons White Bean, Quinoa and Kale Stew with Fennel Asparagus, Nectarine and Baby Lima Bean Lettuce Wrap Naked Oats with Spinach and Sun-Dried Tomatoes and Crumbled Tempeh Tomato-Basil Zucchini Noodle Salad Chickpea Piccata Brown Sugar Cardamom Snickerdoodles […]

  21. […] and cauliflower, but this was delicious. It is all about the spices. With a nod to my delicious Ancho lentil tacos, I added copious amounts of Ancho chile powder. I topped it with a simple tomato-oregano salsa, a […]

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.