janet @ the taste space

Red Thai Curry with Asparagus, Zucchini and Tofu (Heidi’s Weeknight Curry)

In Mains (Vegetarian) on October 27, 2013 at 7:55 AM

Red Thai Curry with Asparagus, Zucchini and Tofu (Heidi's Weeknight Curry)

I have written before about our Mixed Diet Relationship. Granted, while Rob is mostly vegan at home, there are still some other ingredients that have been earmarked for Rob. Slowly, they have been coming my way, though.

There was a time, I did not like curry. Until we started experimenting at home and fell in love with dal bhat.

Then there was kimchi, normally too spicy for me until I found a brand and recipe I really liked.

Now, I can add Thai red curry paste to that list. In Toronto, Rob bought a (non-vegan) Thai curry paste and would constantly tell me how spicy it was. When we moved to Houston, we scoped out a vegan brand (Thai Kitchen). And let me tell you: it is not spicy at all. At all. Some may even consider it bland. However, for me, a world of opportunities has been re-awakened for my kitchen!

Red Thai Curry with Asparagus, Zucchini and Tofu (Heidi's Weeknight Curry)

This was actually my gateway curry.

A quick Thai curry.

So easy, it is Heidi’s weeknight curry.

Red thai curry paste infuses a coconut milk-based broth which is simmered with vegetables and tofu. Sadly, the vegetables look a tad plain; a tad monochromatic in the white/green shades; but they worked really well together. The cauliflower was firm, the asparagus tender crisp, the zucchini meltingly tender and soft cubes of tofu.

I can’t wait to try it in other dishes. Do you have any favourite red curry recipes?

Red Thai Curry with Asparagus, Zucchini and Tofu (Heidi's Weeknight Curry)

This is my submission to Deb for this week’s Souper Sundays.

Red Thai Curry with Asparagus, Zucchini and Tofu (Heidi’s Weeknight Curry)
Adapted from Super Natural Every Day (original recipe here)

1 tbsp olive oil
1 onion, diced
2 medium zucchinis, sliced and quartered
1 cup (low-fat) coconut milk
1 tbsp Thai red curry paste, or to taste (it will depend on your brand)
12 asparagus spears (1 bunch, or 1 lb), cut into one inch pieces
2 cups chopped cauliflower
10 ounces firm tofu, diced small
1/2 cup vegetable broth ( I substitute water with a dash of nutritional yeast)
salt, to taste

1. In a large soup pot over medium heat, heat oil. Once hot add the onions, sprinkle with salt and saute until softened, around 5 minutes. Stir in the zucchini and cook 2-3 minutes.

2. Meanwhile, stir the curry paste into a portion of the coconut milk and stir until dissolved. Deglaze the pan by adding this mixture to the pot. Stir to coat the zucchini. Add remaining coconut milk.

3. Stir in the asparagus, cauliflower and tofu. Stir to combine. Cover and bring to a boil. Allow to cook 3-5 minutes until the vegetables are crisp.

4. Uncover, stir in the vegetable broth and allow to simmer until the vegetables are cooked to your liking, 3-5 minutes more. Season to taste. Serve with brown rice.

Serves 4.

  1. That’s the curry paste that I use for the most part! And you’re right, it’s not super spicy. But that’s perfect when you’re eating with people who have varying spice tolerances. 😛

  2. I made a Thai Tempeh Red Curry last week and loved it (recipe on the blog) and funnily enough today posted my adaptation of another recipe from Super Natural Every Day, also using red curry paste! Mine is Miso-Curry Roasted Squash with Crispy Chickpeas & Kale http://coconutandberries.com/2013/10/27/miso-curry-roasted-squash-with-crispy-chickpeas-kale/
    It must be great having Rob eat everything! None of that- I’m too manly for vegan food- stuff!

  3. Looks great. As we don’t eat onions or garlic, we have to make all our sauces and curry pastes ourselves. I’ve dome a Thai green one, but have yet to try the red. Yours looks very wholesome and delicious 🙂

  4. I only had red Thai curry for the first time this year – I too had always thought of it as seriously spicy, and the one I had actually was seriously spicy. However, it was at rather than above my spice threshold and I really liked the flavours 🙂 I’m glad you’ve discovered it too and are having it at home no less!

  5. Finding a good veg thai curry paste is great because the rest of dinner becomes quite easy – I have bookmarked this recipe that you might like http://allotment2kitchen.blogspot.com.au/2010/01/thai-butternut-squash-soup.html

  6. Mmmmmmm yummy comfort food! You know much I love my Thai foods!

  7. I always add a little extra when using Thai Kitchen curry pastes while I buy a brand at the Asian market here that blows me out of the water with heat–such a difference. 😉 This looks fabulous–so packed with good things and I love red curry. Thanks for sharing with Souper Sundays this week.

  8. […] liked them here, next to the creamy roots. The red curry paste was not overwhelming, and really, I should have added more for Rob’s palate, but I played it safe so I could savour it, too. Instead of using […]

  9. […] a disappointing Indian curry for lunch, I was determined to redeem myself. I decided to whip up Janet’s Red Thai Curry, figuring that the red curry paste would produce a more flavorful dish. I used onion, carrots, […]

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.