janet @ the taste space

Raw Parsnip Sushi Rolls, Two Ways

In Appetizers, Favourites, Mains (Vegetarian), Sides on November 19, 2013 at 7:01 AM

You saw the writing on the wall. With my love of wraps, it was only a matter of time before I made sushi rolls.

It took me a few tries, but I finally found not one, but two recipes that I really like.

Am I the only one who scopes out a bunch of recipes for a particular dish and then can’t decide what to make? Should I go with option A or option B? Sometimes, I decide to hedge my bets and make multiple options. That’s how I ended up with 2 versions of my chocolate black bean cookies and oodles of combinations for my savoury flax-hemp crackers. Half a recipe for you and half a recipe for you… which means the bonus of 2 recipes for me!

This explains why my recipe says it serves 1. I boiled down each sushi roll to fit one parsnip with its seasonings.  The fillings could easily be doubled, tripled or quadrupled, but please, please, please don’t assemble these babies too far in advance. The nori sheet will become limp and soggy…and no fun.

To be fair, my first venture at a nori wrap was from Color Me Vegan with an orange-cashew cream sauce. I have become spoiled because that cashew sauce was nothing compared to my previous Zesty Cashew Orange Spread. The rolls seemed a tad lacking, especially since there wasn’t anything that reminded me of a standard sushi roll.

Having really enjoyed the parsnip in Raw Thai Pineapple Parsnip Rice, I knew that this was the way to approach raw sushi. Then I had to decide- nut butter-version from Gena or miso-version from Lauren? I have had some really heavy sushi rolls at raw restos because they make the rice from nuts, so I was excited to try the lighter miso version. I was torn, though, because I was still drawn to Gena’s recipe since the butter seemed to accentuate the parsnip rice. So, I made both and glad I did because they were both different yet equally delightful.

The miso version was light and flavorful and worked well with the multitude of veggies. It reminded me of my citrus-spiked sushi rice bowl with the miso twist. I am not sure the oil was completely necessary so I may remove it next time. The tahini version was heavier but incredibly flavourful from the tahini and the touch of toasted sesame oil. They were both filling as a light lunch.

If you haven’t yet made raw sushi, don’t be shy. You certainly don’t need a special sushi rolling mat. Just a great filling. It is what is inside that counts, and I’ve got you covered. Twice. Two hugs, as Rob would put it.

This is my submission to this month’s Pantry Party for quick foods.

Raw Parsnip Sushi Rolls, Two Ways

Tahini-Version

1 parsnip, peeled and roughly chopped
1.5 tsp tahini (or your favourite nut butter)
3/4 tsp Bragg’s, tamari or nama shoyu
1/4 tsp toasted sesame oil
1/2 tsp rice vinegar
Freshly ground pepper, to taste

Miso-Version

1 parsnip, peeled and roughly chopped
3/4 tsp Bragg’s, tamari or nama shoyu
3/4 tsp neutral oil (optional)
1.5 tsp rice vinegar
3/4 tsp miso

1/4 red pepper, sliced longitudinally
1/8 cucumber, sliced longitudinally
1/4 avocado, sliced – best with miso-version
1/2 cup sprouts (I used arugula sprouts)

1 nori sheet

1. Pick one version- place parsnip in a food processor and process until it’s quite broken down, but not quite “rice” sized in texture yet.

2. Add remaining ingredients for that version, and then pulse until the mixture is chopped smaller and resembles rice.

3. Place a sheet of nori on a flat surface like a cutting board. If your nori sheet is too dry, wet it a bit. Cover the bottom 2/3rds with parsnip rice.

4. Line your filler veggies towards the closest 1/3 of the roll. Make sure they reach both ends. Add tahini or miso in a thin strip at the edge of the roll furthest away from you (this is to help it stick).

5. Roll the wrap fairly tightly, sealing the ends together.

6. Use a sharp serrated  knife to slice the rolls into even pieces.

7. To serve, consider serving with wasabi, pickled ginger and more soy sauce.

Serves 1 as a snack. (Can easily be increased)

  1. Your timing is beautiful, I was just shopping and thought maybe I should do some vegetarian sushi and here you are with a gorgeous recipe and beautiful pic. Lovely x

  2. Mmmm lately I have been really into nori wraps but have been far too lazy to make “sushi”. Love this though and the use of parsnips 🙂 I’m glad you couldn’t decide because both sound awesome!

  3. Wow – these sound super delicious. I haven’t had nori rolls in forever and generally make the same ones over and over again. I look forward to trying out a new way of making them.

  4. I would love these if it wasn’t for the nori! I tried making sushi with lettuce, but it doesn’t hold together like seaweed does. Any tips? I would really like to try out your delicious fillings.

    • I have made other wraps with collards, Swiss chard and lettuce leaves and collards are probably the easiest to make sushi since they are more flat (although I haven’t tried). I think the best would be to use a toothpick or something to keep everything in place. The nori is nice because once it is wet, it sticks.

  5. These look so fantastic! I LOVE parsnips, and sushi, so this has me all sorts of excited!!

  6. I have never even thought to put parsnips to this use! Genius idea 🙂 I want both types for sure.

  7. how interesting – I eat so many raw carrots which I often think are quite like parsnips so I would love to try this – though parsnips are out of season here so many are more woody and less likely to work in raw cooking. I also wonder how your seasonings would work with rice in a sushi roll rather than the usual vinegar and sugar and salt

  8. […] was not done! She also shared her Raw Parsnip Sushi Rolls. This vegan rendition of sushi is stuffed with parsnip. It’s amazing how much the parsnip […]

  9. […] Raw. Raw sushi is easy to share at a party, so I tried the new recipe. I have made raw sushi before, and the recipes are quite similar, but I decided to share this version, too, mainly because Rob […]

  10. […] rice substitute for these mock sushi nigiri. I like parsnip’s sweet undertones for sushi (see here and here) so I used a ripe mango to offset the dish with more sweetness. Although the biggest trick […]

  11. Thank you for your lovely culinary creation!

    This is just a little note to let you know that I have featured this delicious looking recipe on my blog.

    http://www.colorfulcanary.com/2014/11/21-pleasing-parsnip-recipes-wordless.html

    Thank you for all that you do 🙂

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.