janet @ the taste space

Raw Thai Pineapple Parsnip Rice

In Mains (Vegetarian), Sides on April 4, 2012 at 5:47 AM

When I finally made it to Penzeys in Boston, I caved.

I didn’t want to.

Really.

Say it ain’t true..

Sadly.

But I did it any way,

Yup..

I bought curry powder. (to continue with the rhyme- I bought a powder for my next curr-ay)

For so long, I have been meaning to make my own curry powder but instead I went with a packaged blend.

660 Curries has not 1, not 2, not 3 but 20 different recipes for curry powder and spice blends. Where’s a girl to start? Understandably, I was a bit overwhelmed. I didn’t know which one would be best for me, a lover of non-curry, so instead I opted for the sniff test. I smelled all the different versions at Penzeys and ultimately bought their “Sweet Curry Powder” (I wish cookbooks had the sniff test, *sigh*). It has that quintessential curry note but it isn’t overwhelming. I still haven’t figured out which spice I am averse to, but thankfully, this blend is a keeper. It is super mild, so I even feel the need to supplement it with some Aleppo chili flakes.

Spicy and rich, not hot, as Penzeys puts it. The ingredients? Turmeric, coriander, cumin, ginger, fenugreek, nutmeg, fennel, cinnamon, white pepper, cardamom, cloves, Tellicherry black pepper and cayenne red pepper. Almost sounds like a warm hug, eh? And something I could try to duplicate at home next time…

As you can see, I am on a raw food kick and yes, you can make simple, raw foods sans dehydrator, too. I was intrigued by Susan’s Raw Curried Pineapple Rice. Who needs the fried rice found in the typical Thai recipe? Give me veggies any day! Let your favourite curry powder lightly dust a smattering of sweet vegetables. Here, parsnips and carrots are chopped fine in the food processor until they resemble rice, or small-grain couscous. Diced cucumber and pineapple add juicy sweetness along with the currants. Green onions give this more kick than the curry powder. The lime juice makes this really pop. If you don’t really care about rawness, toast your cashews and add them right before you serve the dish. I can see myself taking this lovely salad to potlucks this summer for something different.

This is my submission to Deb for this week’s Souper Sundays, to this week’s Weekend Wellness, and to this month’s Sweet Heat Challenge, featuring Thai foods.

Raw Thai Pineapple Parsnip Rice
Adapted from Rawmazing

2 large parsnips
1 large carrot
1 cup pineapple, diced
1 cup cucumber, diced
1/2 cup scallions, thinly sliced
1/4 cup dried currants
juice from 1 lime
1 tbsp mild curry powder
1/4 cup cashews, toasted if you don’t care about eating all raw
Salt and pepper, to taste

1. Use a food processor with the S blade to finely chop the parsnips and carrots until they look like small pieces of rice. Place in a bowl. Add all remaining ingredients except for the cashews and stir to combine well. Add cashews just prior to serving.

Serves 2 as a main, 4 as a side.

  1. This looks so delicious and I can see it being a huge hit at pot lucks! The curry powder sounds lovely – a really great blend of spices and as you said you can always just spice it up with some extra chilli! I can definitely see this being a hit in our house as my sons LOVES pineapple and as long as I don’t get carried away with the spice I think he would love it!

    Thanks for taking part in this month’s Sweet Heat Challenge : )

  2. I cannot wait to try this! I love parsnip rice, and I can imagine that curry with pineapple is incredible. Great recipe!

  3. I’m, intrigued! I tried cauliflower rice and wasn’t a fan, but maybe parsnip. Plus you added so many great flavours (hello pineapple and curry!), how could I not like it? Maybe that was the problem with the cauliflower!

    • Raw veggie rice is definitely all about everything else! I’ve done a super simple parsnip rice with just lemon zest, lemon juice, olive oil and salt, too, which was pretty darn tasty. I think parsnip has more innate flavour then cauliflower, though, so it could work better more solo. If you try it, let me know how you like it!

  4. i wouldn’t have thought that you could eat parsnips raw, but I learn something new from you every day!

  5. Janet, Janet, Janet…..there is NO shame in buying a curry powder. Especially from fabulous Penzeys. But don’t worry- its our little secret. 😉
    Yay! So glad to have an awesome parsnip recipe to pin!

  6. Janet, we’re going to have to find you some scratch-and-sniff cookbooks.

  7. I love this idea! I’ve been meaning to try cauliflower rice for a while, but now I might have to try this version first! I ate a lot of fried rice when I was in Singapore and Thailand (even for breakfast), and it got a bit boring after a while…so this recipe would be a nice fresh change!

  8. This dish looks amazing! …Gotta share it! 🙂

  9. Another winner! I swear, I want to make all of your WW submissions this week! Love this and the alfredo. Gotta get that cookbook! 🙂

  10. Beautiful raw dish! I’m totally inspired.

  11. This looks outstanding! So fresh. What a great raw entree!

  12. I love this–so creative1 I need to make more raw dishes. Thanks for sharing this with Souper Sundays.
    😉

  13. Great looking recipe and so creative!

  14. […] Leanne’s recipe called for chaat masala which I didn’t have. Having disappointed myself by buying curry powder, I was adamant to make my own version.  While there are many versions of chaat masala, my newest […]

  15. […] was a huge win!  This unusual (yet easy) recipe can be found here on Janet’s blog.  My only modifications were to add cilantro and a bit […]

  16. I love parsnip rice! I bet it is delicious with the curry flavor!

  17. […] I don’t believe in detoxes, this is a spin off of Whole Food’s Detox Salad. Like my Raw Thai Pineapple Parsnip Rice Salad, broccoli and and cauliflower form the vegetable base that is pulsed into small pieces. Grated […]

  18. […] trip to Woodstock, I decided to make a few dishes. I brought my favourite curry powder to make the Raw Thai Pineapple Rice Salad which received high praise. It was my only repeater recipe but I knew it tasted great and was easy […]

  19. Made this yesterday.. kind of!! I kind of mixed it with another of your recipes, as I had quite a few things missing :O . Soooo, I had no pineapple, no parsnips, no currants or lime.. So I made the “rice” with cauliflower and broccoli, then replaced the lime juice with orange – to add the missing sweetness back in. It was ..good, but I NEED to make it properly!! When I do, would you mind if I blogged about it, please?? I’d link it back here and say that it’s your recipe, of course!!
    I LOVE your recipes!!

    • Spread the love! Sounds like you made a completely different raw rice dish which is great. All those missing ingredients would make it completely different but that is why it is great to have such flexible recipes. Please keep me in the loop. I haven’t posted raw in a while… I should get on that pronto. 🙂

  20. So I made the recipe properly yesterday, WITH all the ingredients 😉 and WOW!! It was delicious 🙂 . Ohh I love all your raw recipes and would love to see some more!! Unfortunately I forgot to take pictures of the dish this time 😦 but next time ((and there WILL be a next time!!)) I shall ensure that I capture it 🙂 .
    Yes, please do!! Your raw recipes always inspire me!!

  21. […] from platters. Cauliflower and broccoli always seem to linger behind. Save the veggies!   Like my Raw Thai Pineapple Parsnip Rice Salad, I use my food processor to chop up cauliflower, broccoli and red pepper into small pieces. […]

  22. […] potato hummus, balsamic roasted veggies, kabocha squash flatbread, curried-mustard dressing,  raw pineapple rice and more recently tofu scramble. The trick is not to make everything taste like “curry […]

  23. […] Rawmazing: Another fabulous raw blog is Rawmazing, which introduced these fabulous recipes to me: Raw Thai Pineapple Parsnip Rice, Blackberry, Walnut and Avocado Salad with A Ginger-Lime Vinaigrette, Raw Sweet Potato and Mushroom […]

  24. […] really enjoyed the parsnip in Raw Thai Pineapple Parsnip Rice, I knew that this was the way to approach raw sushi. Then I had to decide- nut butter-version from […]

  25. I wonder if the curry taste that you don’t like is actually curry leaves. To me, they have almost a soap-y taste. I know that’s it for me. I can’t wait to try this recipe. It sounds yummy!!!

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.