janet @ the taste space

Creamy Lemon-Dill Roasted Potato Salad

In Favourites, Salads on July 18, 2015 at 7:26 AM

Creamy Lemon-Dill Roasted Potato Salad

This may very well turn out to be the summer of potatoes and mushrooms. While not everyone likes the mayo-heavy potato salads, everyone seems to like the non-mayo salads from this summer so far.

Rob said this was his favourite potato salad yet.

Creamy Lemon-Dill Roasted Potato Salad

His Polish roots may be particularly partial to fresh dill.

Creamy Lemon-Dill Roasted Potato Salad

The dressing is a creamy, but not heavy, lemon-tahini sauce with a touch of mustard which I tossed with salt-and-pepper roasted potatoes and fresh dill. The recipe makes a lot of dressing, which was great throughout the week to dress up some of the leftover grilled vegetables. The dressing was also great when I added in some extra chickpeas.

What is your favourite recipe for potato salad?

Creamy Lemon-Dill Roasted Potato Salad

I am sharing this with Bookmarked Recipes and Tea Time Treats.

Creamy Lemon-Dill Roasted Potato Salad
Adapted from Joyous Health via Steven and Chris

2 lbs small potatoes, halved, soaked in water, drained and patted dry
1-2 tbsp melted coconut oil
salt and pepper, to taste (I used lemon pepper seasoning)

1/4 cup chopped fresh dill

1/4 cup lemon juice (from 1 large lemon)
1/4 cup extra virgin olive oil
3 tbsp water
2 tbsp tahini
1 tbsp Dijon mustard
1 clove garlic, pressed or minced
1/4 tsp salt

1. To make the potatoes: Preheat the oven to 375F. Line 1-2 rimmed baking sheet with parchment or a reusable silicone baking mat. Add oil to a large bowl and dried potato chunks. Stir to combine. Add salt and pepper to taste. Stirring to evenly coat. Place potatoes over 1-2 large baking sheet, taking care not to overcrowd and keep in a single layer. Bake for 35 minutes, or until golden and cooked through. Remove from oven and allow to cool.

2. Meanwhile chop your dill and place in a large container.

3. Make your dressing by combining the lemon juice, oil, water, tahini, mustard, garlic and salt in a small bowl/mug. Whisk/shake until smooth.

4. To make your salad, combine the dill with the cooked potatoes and douse with about half of the dressing. Add more later if you wish.

I served this warm but leftovers were delicious cold as well.

Serves 6, with dressing to spare.

  1. This looks delicious, Janet! I love the dill, dijon, garlic combo. Going to add this to the menu for our next bbq 🙂

  2. Oh man, this potato salad looks so good. SO good. I heart all kinds of potato salad, but I think the most frequent one I make is potato and green bean in a homemade dijon vinaigrette. Fresh oregano is great too. Hooray for potato salad!

  3. I see tahini…it must be good!!

  4. sound delicious – am sure the potato salad is brilliant – I have been enjoying tahini in meals lately so I think this would appeal

  5. Dill, tahini, and potatoes are the greatest things!

  6. This looks amazing! Love dill. 🙂

  7. I love the addition of tahini and I am also partial to dill (russian roots 🙂 )

  8. Lovely it looks 🙂

  9. Oh how delicious!!! We toss boiled potatoes in butter, garlic, and dill …it’s such a nostalgic meal from our childhoods. Yours look even better! Love the lemon juice and tahini 🙂

  10. Potato salad is a salad that I love to make and eat. I have a recipe that I’ve been making for over 26 years but might try yours. Looks so good.

  11. Did you use a grainy Dijon mustard? Trying to determine what the little bits are in the pictures.

  12. I love potato salad – there are so many different ways I’ve made it, but never with a tahini dressing like this one! Love it – I’m pinning to try later 🙂

  13. Oh my that looks wonderful! Thanks so much for sharing with Tea Time Treats, I’m off to pin it to my dairy free board too 🙂
    Janie x

  14. Oh man. I don’t even know how to handle how tasty this recipe looks! I love dill in anything and everything (such a Greek), and I can’t wait to make it. Thanks for the recipe, Janet.

  15. “This may very well turn out to be the summer of potatoes and mushrooms.”
    Can I come live at your house please????
    Love the sound of this revamped potato salad. I don’t mind the mayo kind with veganaise, but this sounds even better! The fresh dill really adds to it.
    Thanks for sharing at Healthy Vegan Fridays – I’m pinning these lovely potatoes.

  16. […] winner from Anna Jones, this is for serious mustard fans. Rob preferred the Creamy Lemon-Dill Roasted Potato Salad but I really can’t pick a favourite, especially considering the Smoked Paprika Roasted […]

  17. […] they were perfectly tender-crisp. And while I have been using tiny creamer potatoes all summer long, this time I had new potatoes and chopped them very small so that they would cook quickly. […]

  18. […] was mostly Rob’s domain), I definitely increased my side salad repertoire. Potato salads a plenty, as the produce shifted, I worked with my abundance of tomatoes. Along with an abundance of […]

  19. […] exaggerated hat tip to whomever shared this recipe on Facebook. (I think it was Mylène, but I can’t be […]

  20. […] Creamy Lemon Dill Roasted Potato Salad […]

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.