janet @ the taste space

Dillicious Yellow Tofu Scramble and Mini Arepas

In Breakfasts, Favourites, Mains (Vegetarian), Sides on February 14, 2013 at 7:05 AM

Rob has leaked that tonight’s dinner will not only feature frozen bananas (for dessert, I presume), but also sweet potatoes and beans. I am very intrigued… I’ll have to wait until tonight to see what he has in store. ;0

Rob is the king of fresh, hot lunches. His specialty on the weekend and while on staycations. Helping me focus more on studying, he is cooking up more of my meals these days.

When he makes this dillicious tofu scramble, there is no way I can turn it down. Paired with freshly made arepas, we have a winning combo.

Yes, this tofu scramble has dill, along with zip from onion, garlic and tamari. The cheesiness comes from nutritional yeast and egginess from black salt. But, really, it isn’t trying to imitate scrambled eggs, although that is how we came up with the idea to add in chopped broccoli stems.

We discovered arepas while in Colombia. A corn-based pancake, it was typically made with cheese and stuffed with some sort of meat. While hiking to The Lost City, our chef extraordinare made some arepas sin queso (without cheese) for me one morning. They used a more elaborate, although simplistic method, for making the wider and flatter Colombian arepas with a tortilla press. Here, we have adopted a Venezuelan-style arepa as it is thicker and baked.

Yes, there is a secret ingredient in here. After love, of course (which is why I themed this post with V-Day, HA!). Another Rob’s Repeater Recipe, arepas are super simple to make once you have located masarepa flour. You need pre-cooked finely ground corn meal. We used PAN (found just steps away from Welcome Food Mart but I have seen it elsewhere, too, like No Frills and Walmart), which comes in both yellow and white varieties. Both colours are ok. To make arepas, corn flour is mixed with salt and water. You let it rest, then form into flattened balls. Pan-fry it in a non-stick skillet to create a brown crust (yes, it tasted better if you use a bit of oil) and then bake it to cook it all the way through. No kidding, these were better than what we had in Colombia. Soft like a corny mashed potato inside with a delicious crispy crust on the outside. One problem, though: the leftovers are not as good cold.

Rob made mini arepas as a side to the tofu scramble, but feel free to make them slightly larger and fill them with the scramble (it just isn’t as pretty).

Rob cooks. I photograph and eat. Oh, and study. I could get used to this.

This is my submission to this week’s Weekend Herb Blogging, hosted by Graziana.

Dillicious Yellow Tofu Scramble
Adapted from Radiant Health, Inner Wealth (original recipe here)

1 lb tofu, firm or soft, crumbled
1 tbsp olive oil
1 tsp turmeric
1/4 tsp black salt (or regular salt), add more salt to taste
2 tsp dried granulated onion
2 tsp dried granulated garlic
2 tsp dried dill
1 tbsp low-sodium tamari or soy sauce (I find this a bit salty, but Rob doesn’t, so add to taste)
3 tbsp nutritional yeast powder
1 broccoli stalk/stem, peeled and thinly sliced (also good with sauteed mushrooms)
Freshly ground pepper, to taste

1. Crumble tofu over a bowl in the sink, squeezing out as much water as possible. The bowl is to help catch any pieces of tofu that slip away. Catch them all and place in a medium bowl and set aside until needed.

2. In a large non-stick skillet over medium-high heat, add the oil and turmeric. Stir to combine.

3. Add the black salt, granulated onion, granulated garlic, dill, tamari/soy sauce, nutritional yeast and freshly ground pepper, to taste. Stir well and allow to toast slightly. Add the tofu and chopped broccoli and stir well.

4. Continue to cook, stirring often, until the tofu is browned, slightly crusty and warmed through, around 5-10 minutes. Serve immediately. Add hot sauce, to taste.

Serves 4.

Venezuelan-Style Mini Arepas
Adapted from Viva Vegan

1 cup masa harina (you need the one specifically for arepas (aka masarepa), we use PAN)
1/4 tsp salt
1 1/4 cup boiling hot water

1. Preheat oven to 350F.

2. In a medium bowl, mix together all of the ingredients until smooth. It should feel like thick mashed potatoes. Set aside for 5-10 minutes. Shape into small balls (1″ diameter) and then flatten slightly.

3. In a medium non-stick skillet over medium heat, heat a bit of oil. Toast until brown on the edges, around 8 minutes on each side. Flip and brown other side.

4. Once browned, place on a silpat-lined baking sheet and bake for 5-15 minutes, flipping half-way through (we just leave them in until the tofu is ready!). Arepas are best eaten shortly after they are made.

Serves 4.

  1. Arepas are one of my favorite foods! Add to the list of/when you come to Atlanta: Arepa Mia. The lady that owns this farmers market stand makes the most delicious arepas I’ve had. And she’ll even make them stuffed with kale!

  2. I always love the chance to try another cuisine and those arepas look like they would be delicious. Here in Australia we are knee deep in Asian cuisine but recipes like this are new and interesting. Cheers for the share 🙂

    • Go global, girl! Asian is good, too… and Middle Eastern… and Caribbean… and even European. I don’t make traditional North American food much at all. I imagine it must be similar to standard NZ fare?

      • No idea…I live in Australia ;). N.Z. is like Australia’s cousin and they eat some weird things! 😉

      • Don’t be sorry, Tasmania is about as close to being a kiwi as it is humanly possible here in Australia ;). I love N.Z. as it is so incredibly beautiful and I would love to visit one day. Their money is about the only currency (aside from Indian rupiah) that we can get more for our money when we visit and we channel jump all the time back and forwards so I just think we should unite and become New Australia and be done with it! 😉

  3. That tofu scramble looks great! I think dill sounds like a great variation on the standard seasoning. And arepas at home are a fabulous idea! Do you think it would work to freeze some of the formed dough raw, and then defrost and bake whenever you want arepas? Now my brain is coming up with visions of arepas filled with black beans and sauteed peppers too… 🙂

    • Oooh, a delicious combination with the black beans and peppers. I should recommend that next time. 🙂 Wrt freezing the arepas, I know they sell frozen ones in Colombia, so I imagine they could be frozen, I just haven’t tried yet. We know that the leftovers aren’t as good as freshly baked, but then again, I also don’t reheat them in the oven, so it may be my fault. I have made corn pancakes (with cornmeal and corn flour) which froze well, so I think it is worth a shot.

  4. Tofu scramble is one of my family’s favourite quick meals, and we normally serve it on doorstep size pieces of toast. Your scramble looks gorgeous and I love the idea of serving it with arepas. My Venezuelan friend recently introduced me to arepas. They’re so tasty, especially served straight out the oven. Yum!

  5. Lucky girl! The dinner rob has cooked up already sounds awesome!!

    Arepas are one of my serious weaknesses in life. Definitely need to try these!

  6. Okay, so inquiring minds want to know: what did Rob make for V day dinner?

    I’m glad you posted this. I’ve been yearning for some scrambled tofu, but have been trying to avoid tofu, thinking it wasn’t whole foodish enough, but once in a while is okay, correct? And at least this has a teaspoon of turmeric, which seems to be a nutritional powerhouse.

    A question for you and anyone else reading this: why dried dill instead of fresh? Is it just pragmatic (that’s all you or the original recipe developer had)? Or is there another reason to prefer it?

    • Hey Ellen,
      Tomorrow I am going to share our V-Day eats so stay tuned!! 🙂

      Wrt tofu, I totally think it is ok in moderation. I prefer tempeh but tofu is more versatile, although I prefer beans even more… but even I need to mix things up. 🙂

      For the dill, I can’t seem to grow it (sad, I know), so I froze a bunch that Rob’s mom gave me. I use it for soups and the like. I probably could have used it here but went with some dill that my grandmother dried for me instead. Either would work here, but I am trying to eat through my freezer/pantry before our move. 🙂

  7. […] case my leaks had you wondering as much as me, this is how we celebrated Valentine’s Day through our […]

  8. Those arepas sound nice and simple, I’ll have to try them! I actually got them confused with pupusas, and I’m still not really sure of the difference but if these are similar to pupusas then I’m sure I’d like them!

    • Oh, I looked up pupusas before. I think we’ve made them, too. They are made with the uncooked masa harina. They taste more like a fat tortilla whereas arepas are made with the pre-cooked corn flour. Rob and I both prefer arepas! If you find PAN, definitely give them a try. 😉

  9. I love a good scramble, but I’ve never thought to add dill! I’m totally adding it to my next tofu scramble! And those arepas look wonderful too! 🙂

  10. […] – Fat-Free Red Lentils and Spinach with Tamarind – Zesty Unfried Refried Beans – Tamarind Chutney – Dillicious Yellow Tofu – Saag “Paneer” – Thai Tropical Fruit and Tofu Salad – Moroccan Barley and Pea Shoot […]

  11. […] I’ve shared before, Rob is the king of hot meals on the weekend. His specialties are tofu scramble, arepas and besan chilla. But this weekend, alone with some tofu and veggies, I pulled them all out […]

  12. […] side for any meal Rob wants to healthify. Rob also loves adding broccoli stems to besan chilla and tofu scrambles and creamy broccoli dal continues to be one of our favourite […]

  13. […] Lemon Cilantro Pakoras, 15-Minute Zippy Garlic-Basil Marinara with Zucchini Noodles, Dillicious Yellow Tofu, Black Bean, Cilantro and Apricot Salad, Almost Raw Asian Kale and Edamame Salad, Lime-Spiked […]

  14. […] Flours: Chickpea flour (for Rob to make chilla) Masarepa (for Rob to make arepas) […]

  15. […] seem to fit with most any dish, at least in our fusion household. We like to make it with tofu scramble, but this time Rob went all out with the bean-quinoa chorizo crumbles from The Great Vegan Bean […]

  16. […] Dill Tofu Scramble with Brussels Sprouts and Arepas Adapted from Dillicous Tofu Scramble and Chili Masala Tofu […]

  17. […] Vegg, tofu, and scallions sautéed together. To spice up the dish, I borrowed the seasonings from Janet’s Dillicious Tofu Scramble and added shredded brussels sprouts and shiitake mushrooms to the mix, serving the scramble […]

  18. […] chickpea flour and nutritional yeast. WeRob routinely makes Indian chickpea flour pancakes and tofu scramble, so this kind of married the two. It was a fun mess, too. We served it spinach and topped it with a […]

  19. […] Migas is a dish typically made with eggs, but we swapped it for crumbled tofu and added some spices and topped it with salsa and cilantro. The tortillas are usually scrambled into the mixture but I like to add them at the end to keep them crispy. Rob shared his Colombian delicacy of arepas. […]

  20. […] is unique because it is precooked. We use it all the time for arepas and I love how soft and melt-in-your mouth arepas taste fresh from the oven. Sounds like the […]

  21. […] I made the chili, Rob made the arepas. What a wonderful weekend […]

  22. […] with the second thought reminding yourself how wonderful it tastes, irregardless. Even my favourite dillicious tofu scramble does not remind me off eggs, unless you like lumpy firm eggs? When I first cooked scrambled soft […]

  23. […] scrambles. We’ve made them plenty of times – dillicious, chili masala, curried dill, tahini chickpea, and mighty migas. And then there was the […]

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.