janet @ the taste space

What I Ate on V-Day (& Cucumber Beet Ginger Juice) (WIAW)

In Drinks, Favourites on February 16, 2013 at 7:47 AM

My first WIAW (What I Ate Wednesday). Which was actually a Thursday, and posted on a Saturday.

I have never been one to want to document everything I eat in a day, but by the end of Valentine’s Day, Rob had managed to do most of it on my behalf. HA!Β  Not the best photos (thank you to fluorescent lights), but that’s all in the spirit of WIAW. (I have supplemented with some other photos). πŸ™‚

In case my leaks had you wondering as much as me, this is how we celebrated Valentine’s Day through our eats. We are very low-key: not into flowers (not me, at least) and store-bought holiday stuff.

Since I knew Rob had plans for dinner, I started off by baking breakfast for Rob: Peanut butter cookie baked oatmeal. Rob gasped at how much it tasted like a peanut butter cookie (without any flour!). Pictured with Rob’s card. πŸ™‚

Peanut butter cookie baked oatmeal

I usually wake up and immediately eat half a grapefruit. Lately I have been drinking some green juice (I make enough to last 3 days or so). This cucumber-beet-ginger juice was delicious. (See recipe below)

Cucumber Beet Ginger Juice

A few hours later, when I arrive at work, I eat my steel-cut oats with protein powder. Lately, I have been adding spirulina to it and it makes it an electric green.

spirulina protein oatmeal

For lunch, I had the last of my curry-miso squash and chickpea soup.

Late afternoon, I snacked on an apple.

For dinner, Rob made my African Sweet Potato and Peanut Stew. I like how he scoured my blog for a recipe he knew I would like (I am very predictable that way!). It was one of my favourite dishes in 2010 (such high praise!) and it had obviously been a long time since I’ve had it. He substituted white beans for the kidney beans and served it with red quinoa. He planned for a red-themed meal and solidified it with a sprinkle of smoked paprika. Still as delicious as I remember. Even better (I could taste the love).

African Sweet Potato and Peanut Stew

For dessert, he surprised me with heart-shaped chocolate hazelnut truffles. Rob thought my recent post was a hint for Valentine’s Day (hahaha, I swear it wasn’t). He spiced things up by using hazelnut butter and made 3 versions: au naturel, some with a whole macadamia nut inside and some with shredded coconut. We obviously had to sample all three (each, of course). I think my favourite was the one with the whole nut. (PS. Yes, this recipe is so easy, Rob made them in under 20 minutes!)

chocolate hazelnut truffles

Capping the delicious truffles, we helped ourselves to some tea. Coco Chai Rooibos for me and Sweetie Pie Rooibos for Rob.

Coco Chai Rooibos
Because I forgot to stop the kettle, I had to add an ice cube.

Coco Chai Rooibos

What a keeper, eh? πŸ™‚

Do you “celebrate” Valentine’s Day? If so, what did you do?

This is my submission to this week’s Weekend Wellness and to this month’sΒ Bookmarked Recipes.

Cucumber Beet Ginger Juice
Adapted form Lindsay Loves Veggies

1 English cucumber
1 large beet, peeled
1/2 head Romaine lettuce
1 small apple, cored (I used Fuji)
1-inch knob of ginger
juice from 1/2 lime

1. Use a juicer to juice the cucumber, beet, lettuce, apple and ginger. Stir in the lime juice.

Makes 3 cups.

  1. Wow you guys had such an amazing food day! I’m sorry, but you and Rob are just the sweetest looking back through your archives to find a favourite and I love that he made it red themed and you making him breakfast πŸ™‚

    Those truffles look amazing! Recipe please? πŸ˜‰

    • Thanks, Gabby! Rob is definitely awesome. I wish my Mom would look through my archives for suitable recipes, but alas… at least Rob can’t complain he doesn’t have x, y or z since our kitchen is well-stocked. πŸ™‚

      The truffles were based from this recipe:
      2 Tbsp coconut butter
      2 Tbsp hazelnut butter
      2 Tbsp cocoa powder
      a very-ripe banana (Rob used a whole banana so they had some banana-flavour too but my original recipe used half a banana)
      1/16 tsp salt

  2. Oh lucky you πŸ™‚ Rob is such a sweetie prepping you a special dinner like that and including truffles πŸ™‚ I think a home cooked meal is much better than a gift of flowers any day! That juice looks gorgeous too..and I love your tea strainer.

  3. I loved seeing what you ate for the day! It looked like a wonderful day-long celebration of good food. I’m impressed that Rob made truffles for dessert. He’s a keeper! =) We made the baked oatmeal for breakfast this morning and it is quite good.

  4. I got a concussion!

  5. Aww how sweet of him to do all this for you!! And what a great reminder for all of us to make that stew!

  6. Cute post! I love the idea of beet juice for Valentine’s (or any day for that matter), and that’s so sweet that Rob actually made heart shaped truffles! I’m also glad to hear you liked that peanut butter cookie oatmeal because I just bookmarked it to try a couple of days ago!

  7. […] away as a surprise for Rob. I initially planned to share them on Valentine’s Day but Rob surprised me with homemade chocolate hazelnut truffles […]

  8. […] Valentine’s Day, followed by Rob’s birthday and also our anniversary. We tend to go all out for Rob’s birthday, but this year, we kept it simple by meeting with friends at Rob’s favourite resto in our neighbourhood. No jackfruit “pulled pork” wraps or pineapple and cucumber guacamole this year. While The Beet has possibly my favourite desserts in the city (the best raw cheesecakes), I couldn’t pass up the opportunity to make Rob a birthday treat. […]

  9. […] Smoothie Peachy Keen Vanilla Smoothie Chocolate Maca Raspberry Smoothie Cucumber-Beet-Ginger Juice Raw Chocolate Milkshake at My New Roots (very, very good!) Mojito Smoothie at My New Roots […]

  10. […] delight). But this time, I wanted to try cucumbers. They worked well in my Cucumber Beet Ginger juice, so I figured out if someone had done something […]

  11. […] brother likes to make fun of my standard breakfasts: oatmeal + protein powder + spice/fruit + flax/chia. Not the oatmeal, the protein powder […]

  12. […] Baked Apple Banana Oatmeal Baked Pumpkin Cranberry Oatmeal Breakfast Pudding Baked Blueberry Oatmeal Breakfast Pudding Apricot Oatmeal Breakfast Clafoutis Rhubarb Baked Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookie Baked Oatmeal […]

  13. […] #2 is my green goop and I have eating the same thing for the past year: cooked oatmeal, hemp protein powder with some […]

  14. […] was before I started adding protein powder to my oats. My current concoction is a murky green stew but I am not sure if that is any better than my previous (chocolate)Β brown variety with berries. I […]

  15. […] used to eat a grapefruit every.single.morning. Now, I can’t even remember the last time I ate a grapefruit. Perhaps in Houston. Suffice it […]

  16. […] inherited my grandmother’s old juicer and must admit that I have only made homemade juice a handful of times. These past few weeks the old juicerΒ was a real trooper. I also learned it was […]

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.