janet @ the taste space

Indian Sprouted Mung Bean Stew with Greens

In Mains (Vegetarian), Soups on March 26, 2013 at 6:57 AM

Indian Sprouted Mung Bean Stew

There was a time when I would get curried out. Too much curry. I couldn’t keep up with Rob.

Now, curry has become a staple for both of us. Except I don’t think you can tell by what I share here. Be it resolved to share more of our Indian eats. They have converted me.

In my mind, there are authentic Indian foods and Indian-inspired foods or Indian-spiced foods. The latter referring to when you spice things up with curry powder. While I have thrown curry powder into Indian curries, bean and quinoa skillets, and couscous pilaf, I have also added it to tofu chowders, sweet potato hummus, balsamic roasted veggies, kabocha squash flatbread, curried-mustard dressing,  raw pineapple rice and more recently tofu scramble. The trick is not to make everything taste like “curry powder”, if you know what I mean. This can mean using different types of curry powder (picking one you like is most important; I am partial to Penzey’s sweet blend), adding other spices, using different vegetables or cooking methods to shake things up.

Indian Sprouted Mung Bean Stew

I was drawn to this Indian mung bean stew for its simplicity but I knew it would not be lackluster. Instead of the typical red lentil curries I adore, this is a brothy soup.

A flavourful broth is created from fennel, cumin and ginger. Indian cooking doesn’t always have to be thick curries. Carrots and collards add colour and mung beans make this filling. Lemon juice brightens it up. The curry powder is added as a finishing spice, at the end of cooking, for a different twist to the soup. Pick a curry powder you like because a little goes a long way to flavour the stew. Fennel and cumin will enhance the curry powder, too. As a note, I used sprouted mung beans because that is what I had on hand, but whole bung beans would be equally as good as would any other small bean, like adzuki, too. My only suggestion is to cut up your carrot smaller than I did, mimicking the size of the beans, for better mouth-feel.

Are you a curry powder fan or a curry fan? Or both? 🙂

Indian Sprouted Mung Bean Stew

This is my submission to Deb for this week’s Souper Sundays.

Indian Sprouted Mung Bean Stew with Greens
Adapted from The Ayurvedic Vegan Kitchen

1 cup dry mung beans (I used sprouted mung beans), rinsed
1.5 tsp coconut oil
1 tsp fennel seeds
1 tsp cumin seeds
1-2 tbsp minced ginger
2 green onions, chopped
1 large carrot, peeled and chopped small (I would chop them up more similar in size to the mung beans than I actually did)
4 cups water
salt, to taste
5-6 large collard leaves (or kale, or Swiss chard), thinly sliced and chopped into 1″ lengths (100g prepped)
2 tsp curry powder (I used Penzey’s sweet blend)
2 tbsp fresh lemon juice, or to taste (half a lemon)

1. In a medium saucepan over medium heat, melt coconut oil. Add the fennel, cumin and ginger and stir for 1 minute, until fragrant. Add green onions and carrots and sprinkle with salt. Cook for a further 5 minutes, until the carrots are slightly caramelized. Add the mung beans, water, and salt to taste. Cover, bring to a boil and simmer for 30 minutes, until the carrots and beans are cooked through.

2. Add in the collards and cover. Remove from heat and allow the greens to wilt slightly, around 3 minutes. Stir in the curry powder and lemon juice. Season to taste.

Serves 4.

  1. I’m completely addicted it Indian food. I love how different curries can be!

    It’s 37 degrees right now. I feel lile i live in Canada. There’s nothing that sounds better than stew.

  2. I could eat curry practically every day–that is, as long as it’s interspersed with quesadillas and burritos and enchiladas. 🙂 Normally we mix our own curry spices (mostly turmeric, coriander, garam masala, ginger, etc.) but I also have a big jar of a premade curry powder I like a lot. This soup sounds really interesting, especially with the fennel seeds–I would never think to add those to my curry mixes!

  3. I do find your curry recipes interesting, because while I’ve grown up eating frequent and varied curries from all different cuisines, but frequently Indian because we have strong Indian immigration in Australia, I can’t even remember a time when I’ve used “curry powder”. It’s always been about using a plethora of different spices in my world, but perhaps that’s also because my parents’ pantry was stocked with all the spices in the world. All of them. 😛

    Also, I guess standard curry powder does have a taste all of its own… I guess those weren’t the curries common in Australia, though!

  4. Curry is the best, but I can definitely get curried out sometimes. And I totally agree about the importance of a good curry powder if you’re not going to use a variety of curry spices – I’ve had bad blends before, and they are…sad. And the sprouted mung beans are cuuuuute! I want to sprout beans now!

  5. I’m not sure I could ever tire of curry. Ever. Though I know what you mean about things tasting like curry powder…I kind of hate that!

    This soup sounds so tasty and soul-warming.

  6. I have been curried out too – I got tired of both just using curry powder and of using the same old combo of turmeric cumin coriander. When I take the effort to make something different I love it and I think I have stayed away from the traditional flavours long enough to appreciate them when I use them now. I quite like using fennel so this stew sounds like the flavours might really interest me

  7. I don’t have curry that often but I do like the look of this soup!

  8. I love curry powder, curries and everything related to it! I like the simplicity of curry powder but the complexity that comes from blending spices together 🙂 And this looks beautiful in that it embodies both a simple blend but the satisfaction of blending it yourself!

  9. I am a fan of curry–in all of its forms. 😉 I like a variety from Indian to Japanese to Thai. This stew looks delicious–I love all of the different flavors in here and I am becoming increasing fond of fennel seeds lately. Thanks for sharing it with Souper Sunday.

  10. Thanks a bunch for this recipe! I made it tonight for a patio early spring dinner with my boyfriend. I added extra carrots, kale, onions, and quinoa. Delish! We will be eating it all week! Blessings to you and your future recipe creations!!

  11. Made this today with a sweet potato and kale. It’s really great. I love the idea of using sprouted beans. I think I may experiment with using sprouted beans in soups.

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.