janet @ the taste space

Curried Chickpea Salad with Carrots and Currants (The Best Chickpea Salad Ever)

In Favourites, Mains (Vegetarian), Salads on May 11, 2013 at 6:48 AM

Curried Chickpea Salad with Currants and Carrots

Enough of the doom-and-gloom? Bring on more tasty salads!

It has been a while since I proclaimed to make the best salad ever. As I continue to make more and more salads, I have higher salad expectations.

My old favourites are still wonderful:

The Best Salad Ever (First Version): Turkish Bulgur, Pomegranate and Almond Salad

The New Best Salad Ever (dethroning the above): Roasted Garlic Tofu Salad with Cilantro Rice, Black Beans and a Mango Salsa

The Best Lentil Salad Ever: 11-Spice Lentil Salad with Capers and Currants

And now, I present to you: The Best Chickpea Salad Ever.

I eat chickpeas a lot, but I don’t usually eat them as the main salad component. I would have a hard time thinking of a good cold chickpea-based salad off the top of my head. I don’t like chickpeas with vinaigrettes, preferring them panroasted or smothered in thick sauces. However, as soon as we tasted this salad, both Rob and I were smitten.

This is a perfect chickpea salad, combining the tang I enjoy from vinaigrettes with a light creaminess from tahini along with a sweet spice from curry powder, contrasted with sweet currants and carrots. It is quite similar to my favourite lentil salad, except I am using a pre-made curry powder. Granted, the success of your salad will depend entirely on the curry powder you use. I am very partial to Penzey’s sweet blend which is fragrant and flavourful without being too spicy or earthy. It is highlighted perfectly with the touch of maple syrup.

I had this recipe bookmarked for the longest time and once I made it, I was sad I hadn’t made it earlier. Do not delay in trying it out. It will make a great potluck salad this summer.

What is your favourite salad?

Curried Chickpea Salad with Currants and Carrots

This is my submission to Deb for this week’s Souper Sundays, to this month’s Four Seasons Food Challenge, to this week’s Healthy Vegan Fridays, to this month’s My Legume Love Affair, to this month’s Bookmarked Recipes and to this month’s Eat Make Grow Blog Hop for picnic eats.

Gena’s Curried Chickpea Salad 
Adapted (minimally) from Choosing Raw

2 cups cooked chickpeas
2 large carrot, grated finely (use the smallest size on your grater)
1/3 cup dried currants

2 tbsp tahini
1 tbsp lemon juice
1 tbsp apple cider vinegar
2 tbsp water
1.5 tsp Bragg’s or soy sauce (I used Bragg’s)
2 tsp maple syrup
1 tsp curry powder (I used Penzey’s sweet blend)

1. In a small bowl, combine dressing ingredients: tahini, lemon juice, apple cider vinegar, water, Bragg’s/soy sauce, maple syrup and curry powder.

2. In a larger bowl, stir together chickpeas, carrots and currants. Toss with as much dressing as desired.

Serves 3-4.

  1. I must have missed this one over at Choosing Raw. Looks good to me though. I’m a little obsessed with fruit (dried or fresh) in salads, chickpeas are my favourite bean, and I add tahini to everything! I noticed I’ve made no.1 and no.3 of your best salads so I better get on with no.2 when I next get a good mango.
    I’d probably agree with you about not using chickpeas typically as a base for a salad, they usually get combined with a grain or roast veg of some sort. I love the orangette butternut chickpea tahini salad, the everyday chickpea-quinoa salad from Appetite for Reduction is good to I haven’t made that for ages though..oh and have you made angela’s roasted chickpea buddha bowl? Not really a salad http://ohsheglows.com/2013/03/05/roasted-buddha-bowl/
    .I like chickpeas with bold flavours like punchy fresh herbs, lemon, olives and capers. I’m getting carried away so I’ll leave you with a couple of the chickpea salad recipes on my to-make list:
    http://www.manifestvegan.com/2010/06/mint-apple-chickpea-salad/
    http://www.edibleperspective.com/home/2013/2/26/blood-orange-quinoa-kale-salad-amp-blood-orange-quinoa-parfa.html
    http://www.101cookbooks.com/archives/moroccan-carrot-and-chickpea-salad-recipe.html#comments

  2. YUM – this looks *so* good! I think this may be my new favourite salad! Currently it is a black bean, cucumber, tomato & avocado salad with lime/olive oil dressing. It’s super tasty, but I’m excited to try this.
    Looking forward to following your blog =)

  3. This looks soooo good Janet! I have some carrots in my crisper that are just asking to be put to use 😉

  4. The best chickpea salad ever is a big claim – but I can see that it might be justified! What a wonderful ingredient list. I think I’d love this 🙂

  5. I’m going to have to try this salad out around here as we both love chickpeas and I love tahini-based dressings (not sure the.boy even knows what tahini is lol…) 🙂

  6. I love to have a good chickpea salad on hand to pull out for lunches and snacks and this one looks perfect. I can’t wait to try it with my favorite curry blend. Thanks for sending it to Souper Sundays this week. 😉

  7. Alas, no. The dressing looks great, but icky desiccated-but-simultaneously-squelchy-ugh currants.

    More for you this way, though, right? 😉 And hey, at least I like chickpeas and tahini!

    • You are too funny. Do you prefer raisins? I like currants more than raisins since they are smaller (less squishy) and less of a raisin taste. Maybe dates would be better for you? 🙂

  8. I’ve made a similar salad with shredded carrots and raisins, but I hadn’t thought to add chickpeas – they would go perfectly with the curried tahini dressing while bulking up the meal at the same time. I love chickpea salads, so I’ll have to add this to the list, especially for potlucks!

    • Thanks Genevieve. My easiest way to make something a meal is by adding beans. Chickpeas for the win. Your version looks great too.. all the carrot ribbons. I like how it isn’t that tahini-heavy. 🙂

  9. Looks like a mighty fine salad to me. I love chick peas but can’t say I eat them much outside of hummus and stews, but I’m reckoning this recipe could be my turning point! Divine line of ingreds. Thanks so much for entering the Four Seasons Food challenge, would make the perfect picnic addition.

  10. I agree with everything Louisa just said above! Love the tahini in there – it’s so good used like that as a dressing. I’m bookmarking this one. Thanks!

  11. […] but I’ll say it again. Her recipes are simple, tasty and healthy. I highly recommend her Curried Chickpea Salad with Carrots, Mustard-Miso Dressing, Raw Zucchini Alfredo, Raw Carrot Cupcakes, and Greek Lemon and Quinoa […]

  12. […] should not come as a shock, since it is very similar to my beloved Curried Chickpea Salad with Carrots and Currants with a smattering from my Moroccan Carrot Salad. Next time, though, I think I will try the original […]

  13. […] 7. Curried Chickpea Salad with Carrots and Currants (The Best Chickpea Salad Ever) […]

  14. I just made this..and then.. I ate almost the entire bowl! It was soooo good!

  15. Thoughts on substituting dried cranberries for the currants?

  16. […]  I then drizzled my favourite curried maple tahini dressing, which I usually reserved for my chickpea and carrot salad with excellent results. I needed to double the dressing since this salad was so […]

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.