janet @ the taste space

Almost Guiltless Chocolate Mint Ice Cream (Vegan)

In Desserts on May 18, 2013 at 7:44 AM

Almost Guiltless Chocolate Mint Ice Cream (Vegan)

Good things come to those who wait.

That ice cream craving? Well, Rob had pity on me and picked up a pint (2 actually) for us to share. After building it up in my head, it was a bit lackluster. Not that I am complaining. Vegan ice cream just isn’t Haagen Dazs. Which is probably a good thing.

It seems like everyone was bitten by the ice cream bug now that the sun is out. I am seeing recipes everywhere. However, without full-fat coconut milk and an ice cream machine, I thought I was out of luck. Until now. (I feel like I am Dr Greger from NutritionFacts.org, hehe)

This time, I wasn’t planning on making ice cream. I was making a version of my Almost Guiltless Chocolate Mousse Pie: an almost guiltless chocolate mint mousse, sans crust. Which I did, and it is very, very good. But then I put one tumbler in the freezer. Just in case.

I think our freezer has some funky freezing cycle thing because even the ice cream from the store was rock solid after a night in our house. It was torture trying to scoop it out.  Rob had the brilliant idea to let it thaw. I know, novel idea. But he suggested thawing it in the fridge. So, I came back in an hour and the ice cream was deliciously smooth and creamy.

Almost Guiltless Chocolate Mint Ice Cream (Vegan)

I decided to try that with my frozen mousse. It was a bona fide rock solid when I initially took it from the freezer. Then I popped it in the fridge. Waited 1-2 hours for it to thaw and then I scooped in.

Glorious! Creamy chocolate mint. Melting in your mouth. Oh yes. I just have to plan for my ice cream cravings.

Before you look at the recipe, I’ll have you know it was a pantry purge success. I know some people have had difficulties with the mousse setting with the original recipe but I have never had any problems. I have made it with soft, firm and extra-firm tofu (although always the silken aseptic tofu). I figured it was pretty flexible so I experimented.

No chocolate chips here, I finally used up my unsweetened chocolate. The 100% chocolate that Rob bought for chocolate fondu once upon a time… and let me tell you, it is very bitter. I also had some cacao butter which I supplemented with cocoa powder, which I figured was equivalent to chocolate. I ended up adding the sweetener to taste as I went along as well as the peppermint extract (Katie suggested 1/8 tsp, which barely registered on my tongue’s radar). This is minty but not that sweet. The cacao butter gave this a really nice mouth feel, both as a mousse and as an ice cream.

Thank goodness, I think my ice cream quest has been settled. At least for now. 🙂

What are you craving these days?

Almost Guiltless Chocolate Mint Ice Cream (Vegan)

This is my submission to this month’s We Should Cocoa for mint.

Almost Guiltless Chocolate Mint Mousse (or) Ice Cream
Adapted from Chocolate Covered Katie, my Almost Guiltless Chocolate Mousse Pie and Sexy Maca Chocolate

2 oz unsweetened chocolate, coarsely chopped (2 squares)
2 oz cacao butter, coarsely chopped (you could substitute unsweetened chocolate but taste for sweetness and add less cocoa powder) (~1/3 cup unmelted)
12.3 oz silken tofu (you want the aseptic kind like Mori-Nu; I used extra firm)
1/4 cup cocoa powder
1 tsp vanilla extract
2 tbsp nondairy milk (I used sweetened original almond milk)
1/8 tsp salt
1 tsp peppermint extract, or to taste
1/4 cup agave or other sweetener, to taste

1. In a double boiler, melt your chocolate and cacao butter on low heat on the stovetop (or in the microwave).

2. Meanwhile, place tofu in a food processor (I used my Vitamix this time) and blend until smooth. Add cocoa powder, vanilla, nondairy milk, salt, peppermint extract and blend until smooth. Add melted chocolate and blend until smooth. Taste, add agave and adjust to taste.

3. Pour into your ramekins or bowls.

4. For a mousse: Place in refrigerator until chilled, at least an hour. It will firm up. For an ice cream: freeze until frozen. Then allow to defrost until you can eat it (1-2 hours thawing in the fridge).

Serves 6.

  1. I love how protein-rich this ice cream is from the tofu! I’m going to have to keep it on hand for when that ice cream craving hits but I don’t feel like eating all my calories for the day with some haagen dazs. 🙂

  2. Creamy, smooth and low calorie…what’s not to love this sweet treat!

  3. This mousse sounds amazing, especially since the weather is getting warmer. And I think I am actually craving some of those tiny 1/4 pint jars! Glassware, not ice cream, is my real downfall. 🙂

  4. Oh-ho! I doubt I’ll ever buy an ice-cream maker (my mum’s anti-kitchen-appliance stance is too ingrained in me), so this is AWESOME.

  5. This looks like it has a wonderful consistency. I’m excited to try it!

  6. Mmmm . . . I love the addition of mint in there. Fantastic!

  7. This looks like the sort of ice cream I would LOVE. Basically, anything that is mousse-like or soft serve ice cream-like just calls to me. So, these are calling 🙂

  8. your jars are so cute!

  9. I can’t believe how smooth and creamy it looks. I’ve made tofu chocolate mousse cakes before, but never ice cream. This looks like such a treat!

  10. I was just recently looking at your chocolate tofu pie when I was trying to decide on a potluck recipe…I ended up making something totally different but I still want to try it sometime! I like the option of making it as a mousse without a crust, and the peppermint extract would be a nice refreshing touch!

    • Thanks! When you decide to make it, I don’t think you will be disappointed – with or without crust. It is more impressive with the crust, which is probably what I would do for guests, though. 🙂

  11. Sounds delish & thanks for the link love!

  12. Hehe he does say “until now” quite often doesn’t he?

    Yes ice cream recipes are EVERYWHERE aren’t they? Stop tempting me everyone!!

  13. This looks sooooooo good! Thank you so much for kicking off this month’s We Should Cocoa challenge, and with such a gorgeous and versatile dessert! And I love the (almost) guiltless part!

  14. That sounds so good on a warm day like today!

  15. This looks gorgeous! I used to make something similar – without the mint, obviously – for my little girl, with tofu, cocoa and frozen banana. It’s not exactly the same as proper ice cream, but it’s still pretty good!

  16. […] Katie, which brought to me my Almost Guiltless Chocolate Mousse Pie, which was then turned into a Chocolate Mint Ice Cream. I also recommend her Lemon Cheesecake Squares, Chocolate Peanut Butter Truffles, and Chocolate […]

  17. Gosh that looks so smooth and silky and it sounds delicious too. It’s always a bonus to eat something as good as this and then feel virtuous about it. Thanks for joining in with We Should Cocoa.

  18. […] A hit from last year, this chocolate mousse silk pie acquires its light silkiness from tofu. I promise you can’t taste it. This was so good, I also turned it into a chocolate mint no-churn ice cream. […]

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.