janet @ the taste space

Hempy Peach Salad with a Creamy Balsamic Hummus Dressing

In Appetizers, Favourites, Salads on August 9, 2013 at 6:34 AM

Peach and Hemp Salad with a Creamy Balsamic Hummus Dressing

Going to the country, gonna eat a lot of peaches… Millions of peaches, peaches for me. {sing along here}

I swear, I wasn’t planning to share so many salads.

But to combat salad ennuis, I kept mixing up new dressings. I didn’t think it would be so spectacular, but I loved it. And then snapped away some quickie photos for you to enjoy the sights of my salad, too.

Fresh, flavourful ingredients are important for a salad; but like pasta is to sauce, salad can be a vector for dressing.

A simple go-to dressing. With hummus on hand, this is so easy to put together. Hummus, balsamic and mustard. I always taste-test the dressing, but this one was hard to read. As I said, I didn’t really think I’d like it; it seemed too tart. Drizzled next to the sweet peaches, though, it all balanced out.

And to finish off my meal? Carrots with the hummus that didn’t make it into the dressing. 😉

Peach and Hemp Salad with a Creamy Balsamic Hummus Dressing

This is my submission to Deb for this week’s Souper Sundays and this month’s No Croutons Required for seasonal.

Peach and Hemp Salad with a Creamy Balsamic Hummus Dressing
Dressing adapted from Vegan American Princess

1 peach, chopped
1 tbsp hemp seeds
2 cups leafy greens

1.5 tbsp hummus (I used our favourite classic hummus)
1 tbsp balsamic vinegar
1/4 tsp Dijon mustard (or mustard of choice)

1. In a small bowl, mix together the hummus, balsamic vinegar and mustard.

2. On a plate, place the leafy greens. Top with the chopped peach and sprinkle with hemp seeds. Drizzle with dressing.

Serves 1.

  1. I make the dressing combo ALL the time! It’s my quickie for work. I also do it with apple cider vinegar. Adding cumin and herbs de provonce is good too.

    Love all these peaches. 🙂

  2. I love peaches in salads, and I’m so glad you liked the hummus dressing! It’s my all-time favorite!

  3. Hey, there’s nothing wrong with an all salad all the time diet! Especially considering Texas peaches. This sounds great!

  4. Balsamic-hummus dressing?! That’s one I’d never have thought to make. I imagine the hummus just lends a nice creaminess though. I made a salad with peach today too 🙂

  5. Wonderful salad idea!

  6. How have i never thought to use hummus as a dressing! Genius.

    I’m going to have to google that peach song…can’t believe I’ve never heard it.

  7. When your salads look like this, please keep sharing 🙂

  8. I for one have loved your salad craze this week! 😉 I love the idea of the creamy hummus dressing paired with the sweet peaches. Thanks for sharing it with me at Souper Sundays this week.

  9. […] hummus and uses lots of lemon juice instead of balsamic vinegar (which I used in my previous hummus dressing). I was almost worried it was too lemon-heavy but it was nicely balanced when added to the brown […]

  10. […] as-is, add to a salad or serve with banana soft-serve ice […]

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.